We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jl. Subak Sari no. 100XX Discovery Villas, Canggu 80361 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$145
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (190)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (20)

About

#13 of 415 Specialty lodging in Canggu
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Wave House Surf Camp has an incredible vibe and cozy atmosphere. A good place to meet new friends and have a thrilling surf experience. We provide surf lessons and surf guiding all around Bali island. Our staff would gladly give you helpful tips and advice, and organize numerous fun activities. So don't hold back! Pay us a visit and get enchanted. Surf's up!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Indonesian
275Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 254
  • 11
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Melody F wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York2 contributions4 helpful votes
TLDR; This place is a foreign-owned factory/mega-corp tailored to first-time surfers - you feel like cattle going through. Do not recommend if you are looking for a real surf camp experience or if you are actually trying to learn and improve your skills. I've stayed at dozens of camps and this was, by far, the worst. Stay at another spot that is actually locally owned. Notable quote when we asked to speak with a manager: "I'm just a junior associate sales manager, I don't want to deal with this either" - Sasha Alexander. Wouldn't connect us with anyone else above her. They prioritize a by-the-book process and their terrible app over valuing customer experience and service/quality. The local Balinese are wonderful, but they are made powerless to help when issues arose. I
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Michelle Yam, Thank you for the candid review of your recent stay at Wave House. Your feedback is valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We do apologize that your experience fell short of expectation. When the camp is fully booked, we offer the guest to stay in KOA. It is informed the situation and condition and the services included in advanced. The reservation is made when the guest agrees with the terms and condition. Moreover, your comments have been discussed at length to avoid this situation in the future. Our director reached you directly to solve this issue and the refund payment. We are genuinely sorry for this situation. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back! With much appreciation, Wave House
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jocelyn B wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would imagine this camp would be great if you were a solo Russian traveller, looking to make some friends. As it turns out, I speak no Russian whatsoever, tried pretty hard! (For two weeks) to break some ice but considering 80-90 percent of the camp were pretty happy playing charades and not really making an effort, staying became quite difficult. I ended my stay half way along as I just wasnt feeling it and I wouldn't go back. The surf instruction is great, really detailed and constructive, the food and rooms are good but it doesnt make up for the sheer lack of atmosphere. I've spoken to other people since who have found this a problem and jumped ship. So my advice would be stay clear, unless the above sounds appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Dear Jos, We are sorry your experience did not match your expectation. We can not control the guests who book with us. Mostly they book in advanced as it is high season in December. So they are willing to book even 6 months ahead. We have guests from other countries as well. Even Some periods we have international travelers only. Apart from the sheer lack of atmosphere, we are glad you enjoy our services; good food, clean rooms and great surf lesson. Hopefully you have improved your skill! Thank you for sharing your feedback! Cheer, Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katja R wrote a review Nov 2019
Zagorje ob Savi, Slovenia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, Just got home, visiting Wave House for the second time this year. Altought I had some doubts (based on my first review), my second visit was superb- I got what I came for- surf with great coaches (professional, but also nice, friendly & great to be around), constructive criticism with suggestions on how to improve (and what to do at home prior next surftrip) and with occassional cheer up when surfing does not go to plan 😂 Thank u also for amazing food, surroundings and other amazing staff! Friendly, positive, helpful. If u visit Bali to start or improve ur surfing, this is the place to go :) Best, Katja
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Nov 9, 2019
Hi Katja, Happy to see you again and of course we still remember you! :) Your positive comments are really appreciated! We work hard to offer great surf lessons, rooms, food, atmosphere and other services, so we are happy to see that reflected on your last visit. Thank you for the love and hope to see you again soon! Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marijavai wrote a review Oct 2019
Vilnius, Lithuania2 contributions1 helpful vote
It was my first time with very low expectations to learn surfing, but at this camp I did it! All instructors were amazing and help out a lot. Everyday, from the very beginning of the lesson their were explaining what is our goal for each lesson. After that we were always having debriefing, which was very helpful for reviews all mistakes. Camp itself like a small closed heaven for people who would like to relax, enjoy pool, good atmosphere, food and hangout with new people. For those who are planning the trip solo and learn surfing is the beat place to go. Highly recommended!!! :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Oct 27, 2019
Hi Marija, Wave House team is thrilled to hear nice feedback and proud to be one of the coziest camp :) Do you know that some of our activities; Surf Fitness Training and Yoga could help to improve your skill? Exactly! You can also bring some friends next time to experience this a small closed heaven camp. The more the merrier! :)) Thank you and hope to see you next time! Cheers, Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Руслан Л wrote a review Sep 2019
Vatican City, Italy1 contribution
It was my first time in surf camp and first time for surfing. Wave house is a good camp: instructors were friendly, lessons were consistent and comprehensible, rooms were clean and cozy — all the things were according to our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Sep 29, 2019
Hello, Happy to know that our services meet your expectations! Would be great if you mentioned your name actually so this text will be more personal. However, Thank you for the thoughts and hope to see you next time :) Cheers, Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AgnesR12345 wrote a review Sep 2019
Krakow, Poland10 contributions14 helpful votes
The camp site has more of a luxurious villa feeling- the lush garden, pools, rooms. Great food. Surfing happens mostly in Kuta so be prepared for everyday drive, but that’s the price to pay if you want to stay in a quiet location. Very helpful and friendly staff. The only downside was our trip to Nusa Penida that was very chaotic but the trips are organised by a third party, so not really the camps fault. I will be coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Sep 16, 2019
Hi Agnes, Thank you for sharing your thoughts! For beginner level surfing spot is always in Kuta as its safe; sand bottom. For intermediate level it can vary; Kuta or surf spot in Canggu and others which depends on the tide and swell. Basically we choose the best spot base on the guests surf skill :) We highly appreciate your comments and we already sorted the situation out with the Nusa Penida trip in order to give the best Bali Trip experiences for our guests. We would be happy to see you again next time! Thank you Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marjakos wrote a review Aug 2019
Tallinn, Estonia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Pros: studio-room is great for a couple, spacious and clean, great outdoor shower. Amazing food at the cafe, no need to go anywhere to eat. The staff is very friendly and helpful, everybody speaks perfect English. Camp has a full schedule to offer: yoga, surf training, surf lessons with experienced instructors, all included into price. The crowd is international, so you can meet a lot of different people there. Organization of lessons and your day is perfect, you don’t need to worry about anything, as it is planned for you. Just make sure to copy all pictures After every lesson otherwise it gets overwhelming if you do it on the last day. We definitely recommend this camp if you want to learn how to surf and experience camp atmosphere!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trek14983968990, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Sep 4, 2019
Hi Marja and Viktoria, Hows the weather back home? Hope you already make a plan to come back and surf with us! ;) You smiled and had positive energy during your stay here, so you definitely enjoyed your experience here. We are so happy that we give sweet moments on your holiday! Thank you for the warm feedback. We are glad to have you here. Next time visit you will surf big waves! Cheers,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RamiSadek wrote a review Aug 2019
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates8 contributions15 helpful votes
Way exceeded our expectations with great staff, clean property and a very friendly professional attitude. Further, surfing was a great experience with the Wave House's instructors as they really are great and stand by you and always welcome any question in addition that they are always available to assist. Also, great food. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trek14983968990, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Sep 4, 2019
Hi Rami, Thank you for such a great review! It made our day! We are thrilled you and Mahmoud enjoyed the experience. By the way, hows the new board? Next visit you are gonna rip up the waves! See you next time!! Cheers,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yin wei wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
Been stay there for 7days and definately a awesome experience. Nice and helpful instructor from the camp and school (Jonathan, Tama, Scott and etc) pay so much effort to help totally beginner like us to improve so much and we definately appreciate it. And the shared room is clean and tidy and it is more like a hotel rather than a camp. Very good breakfast and the staff is cheerful, very helpful and always willing to go for extra miles just for their guest. Thanks to their special arrangement ,we able to catch the last wave before our flight in the evening. Will definately come again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Jul 8, 2019
Dear Yin, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with Wave House Team. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience. We will be happy to see you again next time! Regards, Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shane M wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Way more than we expected from a surf camp. Excellent hotel staff and great surf instruction from Scotty, Tamar and Luki. There was loads of day trips to do but the surf was so good we didn’t get round to doing any. Food was awesome too. We like to try new places but can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wavehouse_Bali, Front Office Manager at Wave House - Surf Camp
Responded Jul 1, 2019
Hi Mattey, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with Wave House team. So much appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any more questions, comments, or concerns. Warm Smile, Wave House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliNorth KutaCanggu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAVE HOUSE - SURF CAMP - Prices & Cottage Reviews (Bali/Canggu)