We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Shirleys Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Shirleys Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed four nights here. The rooms are basic but clean. Located in an quiet street ( execpt the temple). Shirley and her son are very friendly and helpfull. It's only a 5 min walk to the beach. If your are looking for a budget stay in Kovalam then try Shirley's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 131Robert
Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

Arrived for check in at 12 noon as advised was greeted by a young man in dirty clothing, a reception area smelling disgusting and strewn with rubbish. Waited ONE HOUR in the noon day heat spoke to someone on the phone who told us we were being moved to another hotel we requested to see our booked room at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this review

Dear Bryan, We appreciate your effort to review us but we feel that your review is biased and not justified.We feel that we have to write our side as well. Since manager was on his way to the hotel We informed you through phone that the room is not vacant till one oclock since the guest staying requested a 30...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 26, 2016

At very short notice we booked six nights here not quite knowing what to expect. We were very happy with the accommodation, location, cleanliness and staff. It was excellent value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenR1850
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2016

We spent 4 nights here and for the most part we have had a comfortable stay. The people at reception were very nice and very helpful. Our room was large and lovely and clean, the beds as in a lot of India were rather hard, we found the bedding a bit lacking--- a bit heavier cover would have been perfect,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadia089
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this review

Dear Nadia, Warm Greetings from Shirleys! We appreciate your reviews and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.We have taken note of the suggestions and assure you that in your next visit most of these facilities will be there. We are forced to keep old fashioned TV sets because LED and LCD tv do not have long life in...

Kovalam, India
Reviewed February 8, 2016

The owners came to get us at the airport,no problem for that, but they took us in a building that wasn't there hotel, the rooms were dirty, with no AC and no wifi, and i booked for those services. So after aguing they took us to another place (still not there hotel) but at least it was clean. We left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pia C
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pia, Warm greetings from Shirleys! We appreciate your effort to review us.We find it surprising that when you made the booking through phone we informed you that we are sold out and we do not have any rooms at our property and you told us that you were OK with another building but upon arrival your father disliked the...

Reviewed February 20, 2015

I made a booking at Shirley’s through Agoda and pre-paid for the room. The place was impossible to find - the “hotel” is not at the location shown on Tripadvisor, Google Maps, or the hotel's own website. When I did find the location, the manager told me that they would put me in a room “on the beach” several minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank MG14052
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed February 14, 2015

I spent a week at Shirleys Beach in January 2015. My room was spacious and well presented. There was also a balcony which was a nice place to sit and use the free wifi, particularly in the cool of the evening. The room was also very clean and there was the option to have the cleaner come in and tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank michaelseymour2014
Reviewed December 11, 2014

Friendly managers and staff. One minute walk to the beach. Nice and very clean room(comfortable beds), bathroom(with hot water) and balcony(with fan). Large fridge, very small TV but with large choice of channels. They will provide good breakfast by your choice, english, american...I like Kerala style, so i got every morning a different and excellent one. Also a perfect WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MICHEL G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Myself and my daughter had a wonderful stay at Shirley's in November of 2013. The breakfast was perfectly fine with eggs and fresh juice and was served by Mohammed who could not do enough for us. The room was large and spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and we had a large balcony with a table and chairs which we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nancemena
dorset
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We did not actually stay at Shirley's but one of the other apartments they access (Green Villas). The first night was poor as although the room was large it was not very clean and the beds were terrible. However complaining gave us an upstairs room which was great with a fridge and large cleanroom and balcony. Beds had foam mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernicedorset
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Kovalam
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ganesh House Homestay
Ganesh House Homestay
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#40 of 52 in Kovalam
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#29 of 52 in Kovalam
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Shirleys Beach

Address: Light House Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Price Range: $25 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Shirleys Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirleys Beach Kovalam, Kerala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shirleys Beach staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shirleys Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Les chambres sont loué dans d'autre bâtiments. Y at-il vraiment un hotel ?”
 of 5 bubbles 221piac, Feb 8, 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept the ground floor room on the right at Green villas or at least check its clean.”
 of 5 bubbles bernicedorset, Feb 10, 2014 | Read review
“Never choose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Nabendu, Jan 3, 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the so-called, Deluxe AC. Not even close to be a simple, standard room.”
 of 5 bubbles simardeeps, Dec 2, 2013 | Read review
“Don't know.”
 of 5 bubbles Kokomo_13, Jun 14, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay