We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Pioneer Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pioneer Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed October 22, 2016

This motel is in a quiet area away from major roads. Our room had been recently renovated and was quite clean. Stayed in room with microwave and fridge, near the office. The price was very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onecity62
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at the pioneer motel found it to be excellent very clean and the staff was very accommodating. The room rate was very reasonable in fact we couldn't catch our flight and had to go back for 2 more days and I was given an upgraded room for the same rate. If you are planning a trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is stressful enough not being able to catch your flight, I am glad we were able to accommodate you and I hope you enjoyed the extra few days here in the valley

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed September 18, 2016

This is my first Trip Advisor review after using it for years to find hotels. Trip Advisor helped me find this place so I owe it to The Pioneer Motel to tell everyone that this is the best motel I have stayed at in or around Anchorage by far. At half the price of what I pay in the city,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birding2BeatCancer
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Trip Advisor is a wonderful way to find accommodations and services in areas that you are not familiar with. Since taking over the motel in 2014, we have tried to make staying here the best of your Alaskan Adventure. Hope if you are ever back in the area you stay with us

Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

My husband was greeted by Buckets, the dog which immediately feels like home. The manager whom checked us in asked where we were coming from and where we were going, then drew us a map of a few atteactions on the way, which didnt disappoint. The rooms we slightly small but adequate. Im slighly immobilized due to foot surgery and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderbread
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I appreciate you taking the time to do this. Hope if you are ever in Palmer again you stay with us

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Great little motel! Beautiful views on the mountains. The rooms were clean and well decorated with little kitchenettes. They make sure you have everything you need and the young man who checked us in was super friendly. Definitely stay here!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it always makes a momma proud to hear that her son is doing a wonderful job. Hope you stay with us again if you are ever in Palmer

Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 4, 2016

The outside of this motel is deceiving at first glance. It looks like a basic old motel with a dirt parking lot. However the insides are completely remodeled and are very clean and updated. The room we had was large with 2 queen beds, a kitchenette with a dining table and a modern bathroom. The owners were very nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are currently getting bids to do our parking lot. I am so excited> I think this will make the outside look so much better

Bend
Reviewed August 31, 2016

So we are tired,wanted a place. We are 50 miles from anchorage .we stopped at a visitor center and we told her about our horrible experience the nite before...she directed us to here. First look we thought oh no.....but we went in,I asked to see the room.......poses toy surprised. New beds,covers and pillows like in a higher priced place, bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret B
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am very proud of the "insides" of my motel and this year we did a "quick" paint job until we can get the metal and siding done. Right now, we are concentrating on the insides of the motel and cabins. This year, (winter) we will be re-doing the bathtubs in the rooms. I recommend...

Reviewed August 30, 2016

The fully refurbished cabin was clean and comfortable, everything in excellent order, introduced with pride and enthusiasm by Valorie. The old Pioneer had a bad reputation, but the upgrades and service make it now the best motel in Palmer. Don't miss the Vagabond Blues coffee shop down the street, or the books shop or quilt shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. I am so happy you were pleased with the cabin. I am very proud of how they turned out and I think that nice we finish the outside the whole "vibe" of the motel will change. We are working on this as I write this and hope to have it complete if Mother...

Sun City West, SAZ
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Forget the outside--it's the inside that counts. Wonderful beds and linens are what count for a good night's sleep and they are right here. Lots of amenities, including condiments for cooking and cookies on you bed in the evening! They have every kind of cooking utensil available on request. The manager, Van, reports they are having the bathrooms remodeled this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. The past 2 years we have all worked really hard to re-establish The Pioneer Motel as a place to stay when you are visiting or passing thru the Mat-Su Valley. My staff and I work very hard to make sure everything is perfect as we want your time with us to be memorable...

Annapolis, il
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We made our reservations 6 months in advance because we needed a reasonable rate for a two week stay. This is an older motel that has been completely remodeled. I was very pleasantly surprised. The manager, was helpful, even loaning her cell phone to us as our phones didn't work in Ak. There weren't phones in the rooms, which wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ava L
Val_James_mgr, Manager at Pioneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you here. Thanks for mentioning the TRAC phone, many people dont realize their cell phones might not work up here in Alaska. (ATT usually does) and this is an "extra" cost they might not have figured into their budget. Hope to see you again!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
8.2 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
5.2 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eagle Hotel
Eagle Hotel
#8 of 12 in Palmer
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#5 of 12 in Palmer
5 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pioneer Motel has made some drastic changes in the past few months. There is a new manager who is committed to making sure your stay here with us is perfect. A new Housekeeping staff whose goal is to provide you with a clean and comfortable room. Our remodeled rooms are wonderful. They have been redone from top to bottom. Each room has brand new carpet, hard wood floors in the kitchenette area and by the front door. The beds have all been replaced with a top quality mattress and bed spring. We also now offer "Kitchen Packs" that come with dishes and utensils, plus we have a wide variety of small appliances for your use while you stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel

Address: 124 W Arctic Ave, Palmer, AK 99645-6252
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Price Range: $87 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pioneer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pioneer Motel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pioneer Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms face a gravel parking lot, and are at ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles onecity62, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“See the room first. We had a queen”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretB719, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“newly refurbushed cabins are quiet and private”
 of 5 bubbles davidcS1203KX, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“All are facing the same direction, are smoke and pet free.”
 of 5 bubbles 513patriciar, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“All of them.”
 of 5 bubbles 56Betty56, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay