We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Gilmore Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gilmore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked their staff, very friendly and tried to be helpful. It was definitely the best price in town due to it's age and small rooms and lack of amenities like elevators etc. I think the owners have done the best they can with this old building and since we didn't plan on spending much time in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott L
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Gilmore is a classic old hotel in the heart of Ketchikan. It's been nicely kept and restored with free wi-fi for guests, and the attached restaurant, Annebelle's. Located right in the heart of the city, it's within walking distance to the ship cocks and most downtown attraccctions and shopping. The hotel offers view rooms over Front Street, but on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CaptJason
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very cute older hotel, clean, great staff, right on bay (get a room facing the bay) and convenient to walking everywhere. They provided a parking pass and cabs to ferry dock, and held our luggage before check in and after check out. We were very comfortable- small room, but expected in these older hotels. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 618annam2016
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

We appreciated the pick up and drop off service to and from the ferry and the central location. Beyond this, we felt it was lacking. The room was dreary, with paint peeling from the pipes on the wall, and very noisy at night from conversations in the next room. A free breakfast was advertised online and in the room's description... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
362 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

The Gilmore Hotel's location is the biggest asset. It's right in the center of town. It's an older historical hotel with a lot of charm and obvious a lot of renovation is in the process. However, the hotel is not handicap accessible and I don't remember seeing where that was mentioned on the website. Without an elevator, all that's left... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Willy W

Travelers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

I am not even sure where to start...the room with no natural light, the bathroom with a toilet that for some reason is angled up, the rusted out sink and huge mattress that sat outside of my room for the entire time I was there, the conversation I could hear in entirety in the room next door even though they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bmknutson
Doug A, Owner at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry about your stay with us at the Gilmore. Our standard sized rooms are our least expensive rooms and are on the side of the building. Next time you come to Ketchikan please call the Gilmore directly and we will make sure you are upgraded to our newly remodeled front rooms at no additional charge. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on my way to Hyder, AK. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My room overlooked Front Street and I enjoyed people watching (raining) in the comforts of my room. Annabelle's restaurant is connected downstairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
Masset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Hotel staff have to rate their own hotel because if it's left to the customer it would not get a good rating. Junior staff lied to me the customer told me they would cancel a double booking that was on Hotels.com and didn't - told me after 4 hours passed and it was too late for a refund that -... More 

Helpful?
Thank CreaganFhitich
Doug A, Owner at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review

This guest reserved two rooms through a third party booking website. She then wanted one of them cancelled upon arrival. She wanted her money back for the second room. We told her she had to call the third party website and have them refund her the money because they had collected it. She demanded we give her the money back.... More 

Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

I visited this place late september last year.There are no elevators and no help to carry luggage upstairs to the rooms, luckily i only spent one day there, the room was average, if it wasn t a business trip i would never choose this place

Helpful?
1 Thank rokajoska
Doug A, Owner at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review

In late January we renovated the property. We put in new carpet, paint and bedding. Because it is a historical hotel there is no elevator but we are always more than happy to help anyone with their luggage. Next time your in Ketchikan try us again. We think you will really enjoy our updated hotel. Thank you Doug Andrew Owner More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

The first room they put us in wasn't vacuumed and there was a shelf falling off the wall and pee and hair on the toilet. They switched us to another room. This room smelled musty and moldy. I realize this is an historic hotel. I moved the mattress to get to a plug in and there was black mold all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LACIE L
Doug A, Owner at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry for your poor stay with us. In late January we renovated the hotel, new carpets, paint and bedding. I would encourage you to try us again. I think you will like the improvements we have made. Thank you Doug Andrew Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 9 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 9 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#7 of 9 in Ketchikan
3.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 9 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Address: 326 Front Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Price Range: $109 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay