We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

167 S. Franklin, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Cape Coral Fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Although I don't believe the Alaskan is for everybody, it certainly is an experience on its own. Staying here is like stepping back to the beginning of the 20th century. The hotel is furnished just as I imagine it was in that period of time. Velvet wallpaper, antique furniture and radiator heat. Not all rooms have private baths ( shared... More 

Helpful?
Thank pennyless2013
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4 stars and our positive review. We have owned the hotel for 40 years and have been restoring ever since. It is on the National Reguster and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. Thank you aain, Bettye Adams More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I was attracted by the chalkboard advertising a bluegrass band later that afternoon & went back to see them. The bar had great atmosphere & the staff were pleasant. I really enjoyed the music & would recommend this place as worth checking out.

Helpful?
Thank cwalker71
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positie review and 4 stars. We havebeen voted by the locals as the best music bar in Juneau. Thank you again, Bettye Adams More 

Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Everyone goes to the Red Dog Saloon but on the advice of a local we visited the Alaskan Hotel and Bar for a drink. The place is over 100 years old and it has all the character of a turn of the century watering hole. It's a neat place to visit and certainly not a tourist trap. They have live... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevenLee13
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Bettye Adams More 

NewHampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not the hotel if you are looking for modern sleek corporate type of lodging, but if you are into history, funky places and want to live in the history of Alaska, this is the place to stay. Yes, there is no elevator and some of the rooms have to use the hallway bathrooms, but it has a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank highspirits3
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. You really seem to get the hotel. thank you again Bettye Adams More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was awfull ! Inside room without proper window (window was almost against a dark wall in some sort of big chimney. So no lookout or fresh air. It was very hot and stinky. They gave me an enormous noisy and dirty fan for "fresh air"... Nothing worked properly, or was broken or dirty (mousedroppings in cupboard in bathroom !)... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingann2016
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your respnse. I have been looking into the situation you are referring to. We are searching for the room that you were in. Meanwhjils wwe are inspecting all of our kitchenettes to see if they need defrosting. I am sure that it was a stain not mold as the fridges are cleaned with bleach all the time.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Juneau hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A total scam. Two employees on the phone told us what we cannot get after we checked in. Go somewhere else - not in this town. Hotels are booked. Their excuse, both employees don't know what they are talking about! We were told we could have a kithennett but we would got here it was not available!

Helpful?
Thank John S
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have individualy wrapped plastice glasses. There is internet, but you need the password for it. We have been struggling with overbooking and were working hard to get everyone into the hotel. We are on the National Register of Historic Places and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. I just bought some fans for the... More 

Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

PROS-located in downtown Juneau, historic hotel 1913s; close to small shops, plenty of places to eat, Mexican, American, coffee shops. Room was clean, comfortable bed, shower clean, CONS-Hotel smell moldy, dusty, has not been renovated. No elevator so if you are comfortable with going up and down 40-50+ stairs then you are good. Carpet in room looks like it hasn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was not as good as you hoped. We are on the National Register of Historic Sites and as such do not have an elevator. I am glad that the desk clerk was polite and friendly. There is non smoking in all the rooms plus the bar. We do shampoo... More 

Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Alaska Hotel three nights. I know it is easy to judge an old building as being dirty, but this place was filthy. If I walked on the carpeted floor in our room, my socks turned black, the shower felt grungy and the bathroom floor was almost always wet. I asked for assistance with a plumbing problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank 132sheryl
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will look at all the carpets and see which ones need shampooing. I certainly hope that you got a discount on your room. If not please get in touch through our web site and I will see that that is done. Thanks you again Bettye Adams More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
618 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a lot of walking around Juneau, this was a good stop for a cold beer and to take in the sights of this historic hotel. Very interesting bar area, old stairs and friendly staff. Seemed to have a musty smell so not sure that we'd like to stay overnight.

Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld2014
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are the oldest operating hotel in the state of Alaska and on the National Register of Historice Places More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Pros: centrally located. If you're a single traveller on a budget, this is a good price for the location and includes an active bar. In my backpacking days, this might have been a consideration. It's basically a ramshackle hostel that has a historic designation. Just about everything else was a con: the room was musty; the towels smelled awful; the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will do an fresh inventory of the cooking items in the rooms with kitchenettes and purchase mnore where needed. I will check the mattresses to see which one sinks in the middle and fix the bed frame. No we have never had screnns on our windows and this summer is the first time guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Juneau Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Alaskan Bar
The Alaskan Bar
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S. Franklin, Juneau, AK 99801
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Price Range: $88 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar Juneau, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay