We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The place is pretty affordable for Juneau...thus it is very pricey for what you get! Room was tiny and smelly. Shared bathrooms were not super clean. The hotel itself was noisy at night, we could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms The kitchenette in the room was not equipped at all and did not work well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a good idea to ask housekeeping for any item for the kitchen that you need as they have extras. By smelly do you mean cigaretted smoke? We do our best to monitor that. I wish that I knew what you mean by "not work very well" and what room number. Thank you again,... More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
338 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only went to the bar. 5 stars for maintaining the old saloon feel. 3 stars for service and selection 2 stars for whatever "band" was playing while we were there (Irish honky-tonk?) It is worth going in, enjoying a pint. Then move along ...

Helpful?
Thank 150hotelnightsayear
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your positive review. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Do not stay here. People are nice, but there is a bathroom down the hall, no TV and the room leans. Antique furniture in room. No fan. Place should be condemned. I would leave but I'm too tired spend a few dollars and stay somewhere else.Band playing downstairs will keep me up all night Although they're not bad.

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we were not quite what you had in mind. I will work on making it clearer on teh web page exactly what we have and what we do not have. Half of our rooms have private baths, kitchenettes and Tvs , while the other half have shared baths whic are down the hall. Most... More 

Travelers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a reservation that I had to cancel but I misinterpreted the cancellation policy so I ended up cancelling too late to get a refund. I explained my situation to the hotel staff and they generously granted me a refund anyway. Since I didn't end up staying at the hotel I can't comment on the rooms, etc., but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJ_Travels_37
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. Bettye Adams More 

Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice, rustic hotel with a bar underneath. Old rustic charm give this hotel a great feel and the bar had live bluegrass/blues/country music every day. If you want peace and quiet, then this is not the place for you. The doors and walls are thin and you can hear the music from the bar. So your best bet is to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc B
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad tht you enjoyed your stay. I would like to know what room that you were in so I could close the hole and stop the mouse. I you have time send me a note through my web page. Thank you again, Bettye Adams More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by for dinner after a long drive and wasn't driving anywhere after, ordered the long island iced tea. I was not disappointed, from my experience it was one of the better long islands I've had. The western burger that I ordered was also very well made. This will be on my list of stops every time I come through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Alaskan is an interesting bit of history that you might want to experience but it (as another review said) isn't for everyone. The general state of repair and cleanliness is less than you would find in almost any other hotel available to tourists in the US. In my room the chair leg was broken, the wood work was grimy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank DBH20
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have looked for a room with a broken chair and have not been able to find it. It does sound like you did not get one of the better rooms. I am happy that you found the staff helpful. It is challenging to keep the oldest hotel in Alaska running at all let alone... More 

Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On the night of 14-JULY-2016 my rucksack was taken from room 221 while I was asleep. (POLICE REPORT 2016-029300). I lost my passport, pilot's license, car keys, Swiss army knife, suntan creme, empty bottle of OFF, affinity cards, PARKS CANADA pass, US parks pass, rain coat, clippers, gloves, & other personal items, These were probably of little value to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rwhite1066
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

As I comunicated to you on the phone I am so sorry for your misfortunate experience. I called the police and tracked down the officer in charge ( it had dropped through the cracks) and had her come over and view the tape and do a more thorough report. We did search everywhere even the trash. The cleaning crew comes... More 

Cape Coral Fl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Although I don't believe the Alaskan is for everybody, it certainly is an experience on its own. Staying here is like stepping back to the beginning of the 20th century. The hotel is furnished just as I imagine it was in that period of time. Velvet wallpaper, antique furniture and radiator heat. Not all rooms have private baths ( shared... More 

Helpful?
Thank pennyless2013
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4 stars and our positive review. We have owned the hotel for 40 years and have been restoring ever since. It is on the National Reguster and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. Thank you aain, Bettye Adams More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

I was attracted by the chalkboard advertising a bluegrass band later that afternoon & went back to see them. The bar had great atmosphere & the staff were pleasant. I really enjoyed the music & would recommend this place as worth checking out.

Helpful?
Thank cwalker71
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positie review and 4 stars. We havebeen voted by the locals as the best music bar in Juneau. Thank you again, Bettye Adams More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
201 (20)
Viewed
207 (22)
Viewed
212 (28)
Viewed
322 (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
7.3 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Alaskan Bar
The Alaskan Bar
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Price Range: $88 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar Juneau, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay