We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baranof Downtown

Traveler (75)
Room & Suite (235)
Dining (7)

About

#9 of 17 hotels in Juneau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in downtown Juneau, the historic Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection was built in 1939 and stands out among all hotels in Alaska’s state capital. Just steps from Juneau’s waterfront, cruise ship docks, boutique shopping, the State Capitol building and government offices, the Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection offers premier accommodations for the business or leisure traveler.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
50Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
40Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
556Reviews
317Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 121
  • 166
  • 159
  • 72
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here nearly a week. Worst week of sleep in my life. Walls may actually be made of tissue paper, neighbors were all clearly audible through the walls at normal speaking volumes. Wallpaper was ripped, peeling, and dirty. Carpet as thin as the walls, drawers in furniture
Read more
Response from Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown
Responded Nov 6, 2018
Hi Kate, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at the Baranof Hotel. I know post-trip there is very little we can do, but I want to let you know that we are sincerely sorry for all the issues that you experienced while you were here. We have been in the midst of a very large project to improve the hotel in all areas. We have been updating and remodeling our lobby, and rooms and I'm sorry that you were staying in one of the rooms that hasn't been updated yet. We have transitioned away from the Holland America line and we are looking forward to offering a excellent hotel experience in Downtown Juneau. I hope you consider giving us another chance if your travels bring you back to Juneau.
Read more
She is a little tired and run down, but there is money being spent here which will make a difference. The room was large and comfortable with one of the best beds I have slept in. There is heating but no A/C so it might get warm in the summer. Very fast WiFi and it is free.
Read more
Response from Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown
Responded Nov 6, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at the Baranof Hotel. You are correct, the Hotel has become a little tired, but we are waking her up. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you come check out all our improvements on your next stay in Juneau.
Read more
Keli's Concierge & Tours located in the Baranof and Four Points by Sheraton in Juneau provided us top notch service. Both Keli and Kris are very knowledgeable about the area and were able to provide tips for other Alaska destinations as well. It is obvious the tour operators in
Read more
Response from Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown
Responded Nov 6, 2018
It sounds like you had an amazing trip to Juneau thanks to Keli's Concierge and the Baranof Hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we hope you choose the Baranof Hotel on your next trip to Juneau!
Read more
The service in the in-house restaurant is the worst I have ever had. Only two waitresses, no order to who gets served, people came in way after us and were served 20 minutes before us. One girl walks around and only fills water and coffee and takes no orders, A guy (who is the
Read more
Response from Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown
Responded Nov 6, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us at the Baranof Hotel. I know that we can't go back and fix the situation that happened, but I want to let you know that we are sincerely sorry for the negative experience you had in our restaurant, and we are taking steps to improve. We don't want any of our guests to feel neglected or frustrated by our customer service and we hope that you give us another chance if you make it back up to Juneau.
Read more
There was construction in the lobby, which we could hear three floors up, and we awoke at 6:30 a.m. to the sound of jackhammers tearing up the sidewalk and street outside of our room. We wouldn't have stayed here if we had known!
Read more
Response from Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown
Responded Nov 6, 2018
Dear Jeff, I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at the Baranof Hotel. As a fellow traveler I know that a night away in a hotel can be a very peaceful retreat, and I want you to know that we analogize for being unable to provide that for you. It was a unusual summer with road construction all around the hotel and with the lobby remodel. Current update, the road and lobby are finished, and we have our peaceful environment back. We hope you'll give us the chance to take care of you on your next stay in Juneau.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westmark baranof juneauwestmark baranof hotel juneau
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaJuneau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing