We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection

127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$208
$159
View Deal
Travelocity$159
Orbitz.com$159
Trip.com$160
Priceline$159
Expedia.com$159
Cancelon$208
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (235)
Dining (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in downtown Juneau, the historic Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection was built in 1939 and stands out among all hotels in Alaska’s state capital. Just steps from Juneau’s waterfront, cruise ship docks, boutique shopping, the State Capitol building and government offices, the Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection offers premier accommodations for the business or leisure traveler.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
583Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 127
  • 175
  • 165
  • 76
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I am always happy to stay here. The beds are upgraded, top floor Channel side rooms have the best views. Right in the heart of downtown. Many things to explore nearby. Good parking provided by hotel. Bar within.
Read more
Response from Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review, we appreciate it!
Read more
The Baranof Hotel is indisputably in a great location in downtown Juneau and has a responsive, attentive staff. That’s the good news. Here’s the bad news......it is sorely in need of a refresh overhaul. The rooms, the bathrooms, and the lobby area are all serviceable......but that’s it. And the “fitness room” is perfunctory at best(with some equipment which was out of use). Old, dated, tired......those are the words that come to mind to describe the hotel. The hotel has a great deal of potential but to realize it the owners need to invest to bring it up to today’s standards.
Read more
Response from Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the time you took to review our hotel. We have updates scheduled this fall, an older hotel such as ours always has something on the horizon after the busy season wraps up.
Read more
We stayed one night at the Baranof Downtown as part of our cruise package. It’s hard for older hotels to compete with updated places that are easier to clean and generally bright and shiny but this place is trying hard to do just that. The location is perfect if you don’t have wheels and want to see the sights. My husband and I were able to walk around Juneau, see the Capital, the waterfront and take in a meal all within a short walk from the hotel. We didn’t have a parking problem because we didn’t have a car...nice. Our room was “upgraded” when we arrived so we had one with a sitting room, bedroom, dining area and full kitchen. The room was on the front of the building and I expected noise from the street but by the time we went to bed, the street was quiet and sleeping wasn’t a problem. The suite needed some instructions about using the tv’s. There were two TV’s and I couldn’t get either one of them to work! I’m sure they did work but I just wasn’t pressing the proper combination of buttons on the two remotes. That’s okay, there probably wasn’t anything I wanted to watch anyway. We had books. We had a nice king sized bed but it kind of sagged toward the middle. I didn’t have any problems with the cleanliness. The baggage was picked up in the morning for transport to our ship, we ate breakfast in the little coffee shop attached to the hotel and we went off happy campers. We could have eaten at the hotel but we didn’t want that big a breakfast and we thought it was a little pricy.
Read more
Response from Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a detailed review, it is so valuable to shopper! We appreciate your business!
Read more
The hotel claims to have free parking, but all of the spots in the small lot are taken by vans and tour bus cars. No street parking overnight. Drove around and around, up and down crazy winding one way streets. Parked in a lot close by, but all cars have to be moved by 8 AM. Not what I want to do on my vacation! Rooms are super old and outdated. Tiny rooms with no amenities. Walls are paper thin, you can hear everything! And No AC…even though it’s Alaska, it’s about 80 degrees right now. FYI rooms look about 20 years older than they do in the photos. Beware! Would not stay here again. Do not recommend.
Read more
Response from Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond, we do have a free parking lot, but as we are centrally located downtown, parking is first come first serve. Additionally, our economy rooms can be small and we price them accordingly, and hot weather up to this year has been very unusual and is a hot topic nationwide. Best wishes on your future travels.
Read more
Great hotel with a beautiful 2 bedroom unit. However, we did have issues with the cleaning service. Even though you would put the card on the bed for a sheet change, the bed was sometimes made without the sheet change. The bathroom became a hit or miss. The in-room coffee machine had an old coffee pod left in it from the previous guests. We stayed at the hotel for a week and they missed a cleaning entirely one day. Otherwise, the location was perfect, and considering the other hotels in Juneau, the Baranof is a great find. The elevator music is awful, but did make us laugh everytime we entered. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. A thumbs up to Brandon Woody and Lee Wilson for great customer service!
Read more
Response from Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review and the time you took to recognize hard working staff! I apologies for the shortfalls you encountered and will be following up with housekeeping staff to make sure all rooms are inspected thoroughly.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westmark baranof juneau, westmark baranof hotel juneau
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaJuneau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing