We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Haines was a stop on my 2016 Motorcycle Tour. I spent the day in Skagway and then took the ferry to Haines. Albert met me when I pulled up at his place and helped me with my bags. We had a great conversation as he showed me around the place which is fantastically decorated and extremely clean. Breakfast was fantastic,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanSailor1
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2016

We enjoyed our two stay at the Summer Inn bed and breakfast. The owner Albert is very friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel at home. He makes a wonderful breakfast and had some great suggestions of sights to see and activities in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Sally D
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2016

After a beautiful ride down the Alaska highway in April it was nice to find the Summer Inn. I thought I warned the host that I was coming, but alas, internet speeds in the interior are slow and unreliable. Arriving at the door of the Summer Inn I took my kind host Albert by surprise. He graciously let me into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Betsey B
Outaouais, Québec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2016

We stayed at the Summer Hill for one night in July 2015. The B&B is very well located in the heart of Haines, within a walking distance of all the attractions. Everything was very clean and our host, Albert, was friendly, funny, informative and made the most delicious breakfast! He even went out of his way to find us in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chimon
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are clean and tidy. Bathroom is separate and shared by other guests. Pleasant atmosphere, private rooms and the most wonderful breakfast and service by Albert. I've stayed twice in the last year and both times I've enjoyed my stay!

Helpful?
Thank Karina R
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2016

My husband and I had booked a trip in advance and found the owner, Albert, to be very helpful. We were served breakfast each of the two mornings we were there. The place was clean and comfortable. Albert is a sociable man with a lot of knowledge. He definitely made my husband I feel welcome. Would definitely book with Albert... More 

Helpful?
Thank beccazbabe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

We arrive to the b&b an hour Ago it has The vacancy sign de Ask for a room very rude he asked how many people, two how many nights we said just one so he answered NO ROOMS why? they do not want to work for only one night or he did not like us... I do not recommend a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Markosat A
Albert S, Owner at Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Gentlemen, Please forgive me if you felt unwelcomed. At the Summer Inn I take great pride providing a friendly, warm, comfortable atmosphere while serving a wonderful breakfast in the morning. On the evening that you had knocked on the door looking for accommodations I was in the midst of packing for travel due to a family emergency & was to... More 

Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2015

What a great place to stay, cozy and clean, Albert was a hoot...made me laugh...such a character with a bundle of knowledge,, Cooked an awesome breakfast of a different kind...kept us going until well after lunch. Would recommend going to visit Albert when in Haines... Thank you again :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa Q
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at The Summer Inn b&b in Haines for 3 nights. During my stay, Albert was an excellent host. The room was very comfortable and he has a very warm welcoming home. Thank you Albert for showing me around... Teaching me a little about American culture (and how to pronounce places properly!) and preparing me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2015

Albert, our host, gave us a pleasurable stay at The Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast. Not only did he serve us a delightful breakfast, he also shared information regarding local sites, activities, restaurants and other topics of interest. Our rooms were quaint, comfortable and more spacious than I was expecting. Albert, with his friendly gracious manner, took excellent care of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristie P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haines hotels
0.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming historic house with views of Lynn Canal and within walking distance to Haines’ sites. Built by Tim Vogel, member of Skagway's notorious Soapy Smith gang. Start your day with a full homemade breakfast, spend your evening with a good book, and end your day soaking in Tim Vogel’s 1912 bathtub. We invite you to be our guests at The Summer Inn, big enough for privacy - small enough for conversation. Open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 117 Second Avenue, Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Summer Inn Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“You may have a choice between a room with a queen size bed and a room with two twin beds.”
 of 5 bubbles 165kristiep, Aug 11, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are in the back. No views.”
 of 5 bubbles Leila747, Jul 27, 2015 | Read review
“First floor room are at the back of house and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ontheroadagain223, Sep 10, 2014 | Read review
“when i got there i was the only one so this wasn't a problem.. talk to Albert and he can help you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles bobg187, Jul 5, 2013 | Read review
“We had a room on the main floor. I know there were rooms upstairs but didn't see them.”
 of 5 bubbles horses3440, Jul 2, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question