We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1000 Arlberg Road, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$569
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/14/22
Booking.com
$569
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/14/22
Trip.com
$450
View deal
Hotels.com$569
Travelocity$569
Destinia.com$703
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1792)
Room & Suite (383)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Girdwood
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Alyeska Resort is Alaska’s premier year-round destination featuring the 300-room Hotel Alyeska. Located just 40 miles from Anchorage and Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, Alyeska Resort is your base camp for an endless number of summer and winter adventures. We first opened our doors to guests in 1994. Today, our chateau-style hotel makes the perfect base camp for your Alaskan vacation. Alyeska Resort is truly a playground for all levels of skiers and riders. Offering 1,610 skiable acres, 76 named trails and over 669″ of snow annually, Alyeska lives up to its reputation of ‘steep and deep’. Whether you are just starting out in the sport or looking to challenge yourself, you can find it here. In the summer, Alyeska Resort is your gateway to the Chugach Mountains, offering a peek into the vastness and wild nature of this breathtaking mountain range. Home to numerous wildlife and flora species, Alyeska seamlessly entwines luxury accommodations with convenient access to nature. Experience luxury accommodations with modern touches and rich Native heritage surrounded by unspoiled Alaskan wilderness. Our world-class amenities include seven restaurants, a saltwater pool and hot tub, fitness center, spa, shops, scenic aerial tram, and concierge service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Ski rentals
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Ski school
Skiing
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
2911Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,881
  • 652
  • 203
  • 105
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
lexmiller wrote a review Yesterday
Burlington, Massachusetts1021 contributions742 helpful votes
We stayed here one night as part of our one week Alaskan land tour with Celebrity Cruises. The property is beautiful, inside and out. Gorgeous landscaping, and the interior is classic - beautiful hardwoods, welcoming, expansive, yet warm and cozy lobby filled with things like a ceiling projected aurora borealis, large authentic totems and an Alaskan wildlife scene. The hotel is nestled in the midst of mountains so all of the rooms have lovely views to one degree or another. It is a ski lodge in the winter but in the summer, the hiking trails are many and extensive. Seven Glaciers Restaurant at the top of the mountain is a must - be sure to make your reservation well in advance. We ate breakfast in the coffee shop near the tramway office - very good! What we saw as a missed opportunity for the resort, is a lack of a cocktail lounge with a view. We were there on a Tuesday night, so maybe if there is an outdoor patio bar, it was closed? In the summer, there really should be an outdoor patio bar, a place to sit and take in the incredible views, revel in the warm Alaskan summer. We had an incredible dinner experience at Seven Glaciers, then thought we’d head back down to the resort and have a nightcap at one of the lounges and take in the views (but we were shocked to realize that no such place exists - alcohol is one of the top money makers for anyplace, so this we see as a missed opportunity). We found only 1 bar open and it was part of a casual restaurant in a very dark interior super-uninteresting spot - with only one window, which was very small - no Alaskan flavor, no taking advantage of this priceless Alaskan location. So we thought, well, ok, let’s get a cocktail/glass of wine here at this no-atmophere bar and take it back to our room to enjoy the view from our own room. But, we were told that if we ordered an adult beverage that we couldn’t take our drink out of the bar, we would have to drink it there - we couldn’t take it back to our room?! We couldn’t even take it into the sitting area by the (unlit) fireplace which was a charming space, couldn’t even take it there! We had stayed in other hotels on our land tour and knew this was not an Alaskan law, so we were like, what? So we went to the liquor store gift shop to see if maybe we would buy a bottle of wine and take it back to our room, but after looking there we thought no, all we want is a glass, we don’t want a whole bottle. This was getting ridiculous at this point - so we went back to the bar, and the employee said that ok, here’s the deal - we could each order a drink but he would then have to escort us to the elevator and hand us our drinks once we got into the elevator. Absurd! But, ok, we complied! Anywho, there is clearly a missed opportunity here - this property is GORGEOUS. An outside cocktail bar to take advantage of the property is definitely needed. Could be covid employment issues - not enough employees to staff various venues, etc, as that is a known problem pretty much everywhere. Our room was beautiful, gorgeous bathroom tile in the shower, had a definite Alaskan flavor. Comfortable bed, updated, excellent television.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Bslovetravel wrote a review Jun 2022
Salt Lake City, Utah109 contributions73 helpful votes
Beautiful location—wake up to towering mountains on every side. Great hiking possibilities and a good location close to Anchorage and Whittier. Pros: classic style, gorgeous hardwood trim everywhere. Even the elevator is hardwood. Nice exterior—-lovely pond, flowers, walking paths, and hiking. A cool lobby with a painted panoramic 3D of an Alaskan skyline, complete with projected aurora borealis, above lobby. Nearby Pizza shop (Coast), a bakery, and a pharmacy just off the Highway—a couple miles away. For $50 you can take the tram to the top of the mountain and enjoy great views plus lunch in Bore Tide deli. (Soup, bison chili, fish and chips, hot and cold sandwiches) Pool, hot tub, and sauna are nice. You still have to make pool reservations so it isn’t crowded. Things to know: Some areas of the resort, including some exercise equipment and the lovely leather chairs scattered throughout, are showing signs of wear. Our room for example—lovely and tasteful with the odd exception of the orange and green the-70s-called-and-said-they-don’t-want-it-back). The fitness center: nice but well heated by the pool next door. It must feel great when it’s cold. In June, though, it was unpleasant even with the fans. There’s one side room with less-popular weights. I wished some of the cardio equipment could have been in there instead. Dining: everything tends to close down on Monday and Tuesday. We had a hard time finding food Tuesday night and ended up with room service. If you like your fish thoroughly cooked, you’ll need to tell them in advance. Aurora café was good but 1/3 of my salmon was too undercooked for my taste. The room service halibut was even less cooked. It isn’t a flaw—I’m sure that’s just the trendy way to cook it—but it ruined both meals for me. We considered doing the spa hydrotherapy in the Nordic spa, but only phase one is open now. For $79 a person I really wanted to see if it looked worthwhile. They don’t allow tours and wouldn’t let us look, so we skipped it. As mentioned, the pool, jacuzzi, and sauna were plenty for us. Overall a nice stay. The prices may seem high, but compared to staying in downtown Anchorage, we’re glad we stayed here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms have great views both directions. Ask for a high floor for view and also because the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 4 days ago
We appreciate your great review and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. At Alyeska we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly service. We appreciate your detailed review. The tram and the views are great - with hiking/biking possibilities as an alternative to the tram. The complimentary pool is nice, for those who do not wish to experience the laid back, kid and cell free Nordic Spa! We are doing upgrades and changes will come to most of the resort, and we look forward to hearing your next review, once you revisit. Due to privacy of the guests, we do not offer Nordic Spa tours, unfortunately at this time. The Monday/Tuesdays typically are more of a challenge, and beileve it or not, our Resort and Town have expanded hours, which has made more restaurants open during these days. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Nachum P wrote a review Jun 2022
Israel48 contributions51 helpful votes
We arrived to this hotel expecting a special stay in a most beautiful location. The disappointment started with a different room than ordered and the service that did not exist. The peak was the dinner we have ordered to our room. It started with the soup that should have been, Salmon Chowder turned to be a Goulash soup and finally we got a Potatoes soup, made from a bag. Then for the main dish an Italian style sandwich with 3 meat/sausage and cheese. It was a real insult, mainly to the Italian kitchen. The cost of the "meal" was another issue. Finally. The location is unique, the hotel has a great potential the result is disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We apologize that your dining experience was not a highlight of your trip. It seems we missed the mark and I am unsure if you contact management during your stay to get this resolved. Feedback is gift that allows us to improve the guest experience and your comments have been heard. We are doing renovations and lots of changes are coming. We strive for total guest satisfaction and can assure you we will continue to further improve the guest experience based on your feedback. Please feel free to contact me at the Resort, to further discuss your stay. Please follow us on social media and perhaps we will see you again in the future. Guarantee you will see changes and improvements.
Read more
William H wrote a review Jun 2022
St. Augustine, Florida59 contributions19 helpful votes
We were on a Denali Tour from our cruise ship. Beautiful furnishings. Friendly staff at all areas within the resort. The tram to the top of the mountain was located at this facility as well. Don't be surprised that there is no A/C if the temperatures are higher than normal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your great review and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. At Alyeska we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly service. Glad that our staff didn't disappoint. The tram is very good for the views, and food is great up there too! We are working on getting the hotel rooms cooler, as well. We hope to see you at the resort in the future.
Read more
Jim B wrote a review Jun 2022
Port Clinton, Ohio44 contributions35 helpful votes
We arrived at 9 PM, left at 7 AM, so staying at a 5 Star resort was a poor decision on my part. The hotel was upscale, but has some rinky-dink A/C system for the rooms which many people complained about. Rooms were stuffy. Restaurant was very good for the light dinner we had. Community shuttle system is so-so. For $400/night would expect to hotel is have it's own shuttle system and good a/c. The staff was accommodating- when we couldn't get our room to cool, they allowed me to pick from 4 different rooms that I checked. We moved and it was OK. Clearly the staff knows the drill. We slept well in the end.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Very expensive, especially for a quick overnight stay.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. We are monitoring the heating/coolant system and understand this is a frustration. Certain measures have been taken, and more is to come. We apologize for this inconvenience. We apprecaite the kind words and are glad we got you into a room that helped your nights sleep! We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future!
Read more
mikemar2@me.com wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom33 contributions9 helpful votes
We can only believe complacency has set in and unless this resort improves quickly it will disappear! From the moment we arrived, staff were unhelpful, badly trained and rude. Arriving after a long journey at 3 30pm, we were “greeted” at the front desk with a raised hand….as if she was stopping traffic….”we have a systems failure and you need to come back at 4pm”! Not….”welcome, however we have a problem, let us get you a coffee and sorry we can’t check you in immediately “. It never improved, We were not allowed to leave the breakfast room without paying for breakfast. We had dinner in the super Seven Glaciers Restaurant, could not put it on to our Hotel room account. Our laundry was not deliver back to our room, until we paid for it at reception! Unbelievably bad management, with staff constantly shrugging shoulders and confirming how bad it was. The rooms were dated, the main Hotel lobby and breakfast room was dark, unwelcome and the whole property is desperately in need of investment and a complete change of management. Easily the worst Hotel I have experienced and we travel the world.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. I am sorry we missed the mark upon your first impression. With the phone numbers we had on file, for arriving guests, we did give warning, that room charges were not going to be possible during our reservation system upgrade. We apologize for this inconvenience, that seems to have followed you through the resort. We do have a lot of new leadership, making positive changes and would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future! I would be happy to discuss your challenges at the resort, during your stay. Feel free to contact me directly and I look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
amylee2008 wrote a review Jun 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin72 contributions49 helpful votes
This feels like a resort without major competition in its market. It's a fine building with nice views and a nice team, but it's really expensive for how tired things feel. Scuffed and torn wallpaper throughout the hallways, sub-par mattresses with terrible pillows, and dated bathroom fixtures. I dislike resort fees period (just put it in the room price!) but this was one especially galling in that I couldn't tell you what you get for it in this case. You have to book time in their saltwater pool (if this is a Covid precaution, it's the only one I saw), you have to pay ($38!) to take the tram up the mountain, you have to pay to rent bikes, etc. Lola was really helpful at the front desk and there was a very friendly/helpful gentlemen who was supervising some housekeeping staff who was very nice as well. Room service twice forget items we ordered but were prompt and friendly in fixing their errors. They have clearly put a lot of money into the spa, but even their prices are out of line with what they are offering. Sound travels pretty badly, so the "tranquil" waiting room had music from the contractors bleeding in and conversations from the locker rooms. They could use a few more amenities in the area you get ready in post-shower and when we were there massages were the only spa service (the pools/hot tubs were closed for landscaping). No facials, scrubs or other services. I couldn't find the receptionist when I was leaving but another staff member jumped in so I could offer a tip for the good massage I got from from Andie who was willing to mask up when I asked.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. We appreciate your kind words, regarding Lola and probably Mark! It is nice to hear and Lola is a brand new addition. We would like to make things right and win back your loyalty! It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. While the renovations, didn't help your stay, we do hope that would will return to see the new improvements! With regard to the pool, since Covid has become part of our culture, people believe this is a Covid measure. It is actually to make sure each guest has the opportunity to use the pool, while not exceeding fire code capacities. We understand your frustrations, regarding the added amenities, at a cost. We have many hotel and non-hotel guests that come enjoy various aspects of the resort, which makes different pay structures. The Nordic Spa is still opening in Phases and we are sorry you were disappointed with your experience. Please bear in mind we are only in Phase I right now. We do hope that you will be back to see the changes. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future!
Read more
dgpseattle wrote a review Jun 2022
Glendale, Colorado9 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely resort getaway close to Anchorage. Beautiful setting, only OK restaurant, tram was fun, parking not free. Friendly staff. Stay here, eat elsewhere. Value is OK, a bit spendy. Pool & hot tub a nice plus, but difficult to get to. 2nd floor guest rooms felt like an afterthought. No ice nearby etc, but cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Skip breakfast buffet!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate your review and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. The views are great and the tram is a fun way to experience the beauty here. We are sorry we missed the mark with your dining experiences, however you are correct, there are other local restaurants available. Valet is now offered at a fee, however there is free parking in front of the Resort, and additional parking nearby. We are doing renovations, so next visit you will see changes (including our new Forte restaruant) to the hotel. We continue to strive for excellence, so this involves listening to the feedback and adjusting to it! We hope to see you at the resort in the future. Please follow us on social media and perhaps we will see you again for a day at the Nordic Spa.
Read more
Amy wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have never written a negative review, but the hotel never responded to my email complaint, so here goes! 1. Our rooms were not ready at check in time. We waited several hours. When we finally got into rooms, we were told that the resort fee would be waived because of the inconvenience. Upon check out, they attempted to charge me the resort fee. I explained the situation, and they agreed. I later look on my final bill and they still charged the resort fee! 2. We also had a terrible experience at the mountaintop restaurant, where we were stranded for hours because they shut down the gondola due to high winds. Of course, weather is out of their control. But they handled the situation terribly. There was no urgency to get the diners off the mountain. I’m not exaggerating when I say people were stranded up there for hours! When we finally got down, there was no apology, and we still had to pay full cost for our dinner. I brought these concerns by email to the hotel and got no response.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, from a stay awhile back, which we take seriously. We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. I am personally sorry that you did not receive a response, I can assure you that leadership reads all feedback and that I respond to all emails and correspondence. I am unsure how you were missed, however you can reach me by calling the resort and I will be happy to look into your stay. We would like to make things right and win back your loyalty! It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. My apologizes for the communication and response to your Seven Glacier's experience. Yes, you are correct, weather is out of our control, however it seems we missed the mark on adequate action taken in handling your concerns. Your ideas have been heard. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future!
Read more
mtaylor593 wrote a review Jun 2022
Sarasota, Florida56 contributions11 helpful votes
Not what I expected from a four star resort!! The hotel felt old and in need of an update. I reserved a deluxe king room and expected a room similar to the picture on the website, with two nice comfortable chairs in front of a beautiful picture window. What we got was a small dingy room with a 3’ x 6’ window, one uncomfortable lounge chair and desk chair. The dresser drawer was missing a knob, the TV was missing a remote and we only had two paper cups to use for both coffee and in the bathroom. The majority of the resort restaurants were currently not open, including Seven Glaciers. We splurged on this hotel expecting high attention to detail, sorry Aleska you did not meet my expectations!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Keep you expectations low, and you might enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. We would like to make things right and win back your loyalty! It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. Unfortunately, it seems you were here in between seasons, which does affect our hours of operations. We do into schedule maintenance and staffing changes during these times. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. We are sorry we missed the mark on some items in your room, and please always, contact leadership, while here, so we can address your concerns at that time. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$344 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alyeska hotel girdwood, alyeska resort girdwood, alyeska prince hotel, hotel alyeska, girdwood alyeska prince hotel resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aleyska Prince Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaAnchorageGirdwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
304
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alyeska Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Alyeska Resort?
Nearby attractions include Winner Creek Trail Hand Tram (1.6 miles), Alyeska Ski Area (0.01 miles), and Crow Creek Mine (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alyeska Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Alyeska Resort?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Alyeska Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alyeska Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alyeska Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jack Sprat, Seven Glaciers, and Double Musky Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alyeska Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Alyeska Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Alyeska Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alyeska Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Alyeska Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Alyeska Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Potter Section House (3.5 miles).