We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1000 Arlberg Road, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$629
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Booking.com
$629
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Trip.com
$541
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Travelocity$629
Hotels.com$629
ZenHotels.com$1,047
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1790)
Room & Suite (383)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 2 in Girdwood
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Alyeska Resort is Alaska’s premier year-round destination featuring the 300-room Hotel Alyeska. Located just 40 miles from Anchorage and Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, Alyeska Resort is your base camp for an endless number of summer and winter adventures. We first opened our doors to guests in 1994. Today, our chateau-style hotel makes the perfect base camp for your Alaskan vacation. Alyeska Resort is truly a playground for all levels of skiers and riders. Offering 1,610 skiable acres, 76 named trails and over 669″ of snow annually, Alyeska lives up to its reputation of ‘steep and deep’. Whether you are just starting out in the sport or looking to challenge yourself, you can find it here. In the summer, Alyeska Resort is your gateway to the Chugach Mountains, offering a peek into the vastness and wild nature of this breathtaking mountain range. Home to numerous wildlife and flora species, Alyeska seamlessly entwines luxury accommodations with convenient access to nature. Experience luxury accommodations with modern touches and rich Native heritage surrounded by unspoiled Alaskan wilderness. Our world-class amenities include seven restaurants, a saltwater pool and hot tub, fitness center, spa, shops, scenic aerial tram, and concierge service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Ski rentals
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Ski school
Skiing
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
2902Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,880
  • 649
  • 201
  • 103
  • 69
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
A Wild Toga wrote a review May 21
1 contribution
Just like so many other Alaskans, the Alyeska hotel is where I’ve made a million memories since 1994. I’ve attended countless weddings there, have stayed & skied thousands of times, dined at every restaurant in town, attended incredible concerts at the Sitzmark (Bob Wier from the Grateful Dead!!!) and have experienced the Nordic Spa. I have spent enough time and money there to call it a second home at this point. This is where people from Southcentral Alaska go to celebrate and to experience a bit of luxury in a state where luxury is pretty much nonexistent and yet we all crave to experience. We stayed for a night (but paid for two because we checked out early due to family issues and too loud to sleep) in April for the first time since the pandemic started. We noticed most of all the lack of available places to eat (either long wait times or closed altogether which isn’t necessarily Alyeska’s issue) and ordered room service and was not pleased with the food. We were given a deluxe room which was clean and had a nice view of the tram on the 7th floor. Pros: -The new multi-million dollar Nordic Spa is currently the most modern in the state ($75 for one entry even if paying to stay at the hotel) -The location is beautiful (think sea to ski) -Ski valet is handy -The ambiance of the hotel is similar to a 5 star -The staff are friendly and provide a clean environment -Both Alaskans and tourists enjoy this property -Alaskans want this property to thrive because we don’t have many options -Pomeroy Lodging (Canadian company) purchased the resort in 2018 and pledged to evolve the resort according to the needs of the community Cons: -Very few, if any updates to the hotel rooms have been made since 1994 -Bring earplugs to block out noise from the hallway and random metal fans grating all night -They keep the rooms rather hot in the spring summer and there is no way to lower room temp (thermostat turned all the way down) -Common for bathtub/shower to not drain well if you are on a lower floor -Not enough dining options if the hotel is busy -Room service was not that good - the $20 pasta is not recommended -The local Alaskan $ rate is still extremely high even though we help support the business year round. - New owners got rid of the $99 hotel stay and Sitzmark concert special deal - $99 + all day adult ski lift ticket is pricy for the lack of accommodations while skiing (food, toilets)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your very detailed and informative review and kind words! I will try and address many of your concerns, points, and ideas. First, we would like everyone to know that we are currently renovating The Pond Restaurant, which we be The Forte, now. Other renovations and upgrades are also in the works, so as time progresses you will visably see the changes, including public areas and rooms. With regards to the Sitzmark and local rates - we do try and give up to 30% discounts, most of the year and the Sitzmark's live music is now at no cover charge. We also offer soak and stay, ski and stay and dine and unwind packages, and others, that can accommodate other guests, not only locals. Always, check the time of year that you are coming, as in between seasons and even local restaurants do normally have 2 days/week that they are not open, therefore dining options due change throughout the year and seasons. I will say restaurants are now varing their days closed, which allows more options on the Monday's and Tuesdays, where in the past almost all local restaurants were closed. The thermostat is also something that leadership closely monitors, and perhaps will be addressed with the upcoming remodels. Again, we sincerely appreicate the review, as feedback is a gift that allows us to improve our services! We hope to see you back in the near future and can't wait to hear what you think of the improvements.
Read more
Kim E wrote a review May 10
Winter Park, Colorado12 contributions3 helpful votes
This is the third time we stayed here and have never been disappointed. Great staff, wonderful rooms, tremendous views. Very worth the price, which is not really much more than other places with a lot less ambiance. And it smells really good!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking lot is sort of weird, but that is the only thing I didn’t like about the place.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate the feedback! Views keep getting better in the summer, so come back and enjoy the views, outside at the Nordic Spa, soon.
Read more
gjseitz wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights after four nights in Fairbanks. The computer server was down when we arrived but the staff worked tirelessly and dealt with a lot of paper without complaint or exasperation. We got a room with the requirements we asked for and liked our room. We had dinner the first night at Seven Glaciers. Well worth it but make reservations in advance. We went skiing the first day. The skiing is challenging compared to other resorts we have been to but if you are an intermediate to advanced skier you will be fine. There are only a few beginner runs. The ski patrol is very available should you find yourself stuck. We did the Nordic Spa the second day which we enjoyed as well. The food options were excellent and the waitstaff very attentive. We received recommendations for restaurants in town but many don’t take reservations & we found there were plenty of options in the resort. The hotel is beautiful with a giant fireplace and big windows looking out at the mountains & lifts. It is a true ski-in ski- out and there is an employee who will keep your poles and skis in a locker just outside the lift area. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Alyeska Resort!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Apr 15, 2022
WOW! Thank you for such a fantastic review. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of the Resort and had a wonderful time. We appreciate the feedback and leadership and the staff are aware of your appreciation. We do hope you will come back and enjoy the Nordic Spa when we open Phase II, and come during the summer to see the different seasons. We hope to see you soon!
Read more
carl wright wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
In celebration of my birthday, my wife and I reserved the 7th floor to have a view. The upper floor was $100.00 more than the lower 6 floors. Our room was large, and had 5 large windows facing the parking lot area, but a view of an adjacent snow covered mountain. However the bed was advertised as pillow top, and might have been 10 years ago. There was no comfort in the hard surface of the mattress. The first night was almost impossible to get in a prolonged position that was comfortable for continued rest. Tossing and turning the whole night. By morning I contacted the Hotel to request another room. They gave me a room on the same floor of was very small, one little window with absolutely no view. The mattress was the twin of the one in our present room. There were no other rooms on the 7th floor available, so I told them I will take a room on a lower floor and forfiet my extra 100.00. They gave me a room on the 6th floor, smaller room and a view of the tree tops and a parking lot. The mattress was identical of the other two rocks they call beds. I had them leave me in the room and provide me with 4 additional pillows for my wife to sleep on. After a second call after two hours, and another hour wait the pillows arrived. VERY POOR ATTITUDE OF THE DESK MANAGER and it was evident they were not in any hurry to accommodate me in room change or pillow request. In my quest for a room with a possible newer mattress, I inquired of one of the employees working on the 7th floor, and that person said that only knew of one room that had a newer mattress, and that room was being occupied. The overall impression of the resort was very disappointing. Poor MAINTENANCE of cleaning and shampoo of carpets. Furniture with scratches and gouges, wallpaper peeling off the walls, soiled fabric and rooms with no control of heat except to open a window. Aesthetically the hotel does not care for the impression their guest take away from their stay other than LIKE IT OR LUMP IT! I choose to LUMP IT. I will never set foot in this 2 rating resort again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: request room with new mattress or you will be highly disappointed.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Apr 16, 2022
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. We would like to make things right and win back your loyalty! It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. It seems most of your issues were with the room size and the mattress, if I am understanding correctly. We have changed out the majority of our king bed mattresses and, as stated, are doing many more improvements that will address other areas of your concerns. I do apologize for the lack of empathy from our staff and the delay in resolving your issues. Heating/cooling systems are also constantly being monitored. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future! If you would like to speak regarding these issues further I would be happy to assist. Contact the hotel and ask for Kerry, I would be more than happy to listen and help resolve.
Read more
danason wrote a review Apr 2022
Anchorage, Alaska60 contributions25 helpful votes
Alyeska Resort is a spectacular property, one of the finest resorts anywhere in the world. We have stayed here many times and have always appreciated the fabulous staff, the spa, the proximity to the mountain for the skiers, and the luxurious rooms and amenities, such as indoor saltwater pool and hot tub. And the new Nordic Spa is incredible. But today when we checked in, we had a customer service experience that was truly outstanding. I have lived in Alaska for 46 years and I have always felt this hotel was a gem of Alaska. But now, I know it is the crown jewel, given that we were treated like royalty by both Bessie Castellon and Ann Craven the front desk staff and manager who assisted us in checking into the hotel. I booked last June for a special occasion: my daughter and her husband and our two grandchildren coming to Alaska to visit us for the first time since Covid. I booked a junior suite and adjoining deluxe double room so that we could have the children sleeping in one room while the adults caught up together in the junior suite. I called the previous week to make sure that the specific adjoining rooms that had been confirmed would be available and was assured they would be Upon arriving at the hotel, I learned that the hotel computers had been down for a few days and unfortunately the specific adjoining rooms selected would no longer be available because without a computer to recognize the confirmed adjoining room block, our reserved rooms had gone to other guests. When I explained the situation and why I needed adjoining rooms for the toddlers — and that I had made the reservations nine months ago, both Bessie, the front desk staff person, and Ann, a manager, jumped into action. They upgraded us into a glorious large suite and adjoining rooms, and made sure that we could be connected to our young grandchildren. They were both so amazing and supportive.I will not forget the kindness shown to me by both Bessie and Ann. And their can-do attitude is reflected by everyone at the resort: in the spa, the restaurants, and the ski school. Thank you for having such a fabulous staff here at the Alyeska Resort hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Apr 16, 2022
We appreciate your great review and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. At Alyeska we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly service. What a wonderful story and we so appreciate your kind words. Bessi is thrilled with this review and leadership is also very aware. Bessi is new to the team, so we are thrilled to have her. Sounds like we will see you at the resort in the future. Please follow us on social media and perhaps we will see you again for the Grand Opening of our fully functioning, all phase, Nordic Spa.
Read more
J W wrote a review Mar 2022
Soldotna, United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
Old, outdated, poorly managed and in need of a good deep clean. Had to register for our one hour a day of pool time but couldn’t find any info about it on their website which has more error pages than current or accurate info. I don’t know how this place is considered 4 stars. Last time we stay here, ever.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Apr 16, 2022
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. We would like to make things right and win back your loyalty! It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. Unfortunately, our pool does/did require reservations for pool fire code capacity and to give all gets the opportunity, to use it. That being said our new Nordic Spa is already a success and taking some of the pressure off of the resort pool. We also are currently and and continually doing renovations and upgrades. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future!
Read more
Kore L wrote a review Mar 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii30 contributions76 helpful votes
My wife and me currently spending 5 nights to celebrate our 25th anniversary and it is a TOTAL disappointment and we hope the review can be helpful to others! Unless you plan extensive use the convenient of the location to only ski - it is NOT worth the price and here’s why? Service- expect no service or help -No valet -No available parking - Waited 45 min everyday to find a parking space as lot occupied by non hotel guests who use day ski- -hotel guests are not a priory to management as feedback received no response or corrective actions Room- low value For the price, room is small and old, limited USB ports Even if skying, Better off staying in Anchorage and drive 45 min to resort to ski as advised by hotel own employee! Food Spend over $300 having dinner at seven Glaciers on Friday 3/11/22 and waited over 3.5 hours for food!! Understaffed and overpriced Better off dining at nearby restaurants in Girkwood Any pluses? Appreciate the FEW employees like Angela of housekeeping and Daniel of Concierge for their personal attention. Unfortunately even with these pluses, the price paid does not justify the overall values and we cannot recommend unless you are only there to ski! Even then, expect low values and poor service. Better off staying in Anchorage and drive to Girkwood!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Stay in Anchorage 45 min away and drive to ski here Dine at restaurants outside of hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Mar 19, 2022
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. Thank you for acknowledging Daniel and Angela! They are a great part of our team! We would like to make things right and win back your loyalty! It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. Also valet will eventually becoming an option. Regarding the staffing, there is a shortage of staff in all of Alaska, and we apologize your experiences were not better. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future! Please feel to free to reach out to me personally at the hotel's main number, if you would like to discuss further. Kerry
Read more
One Advised Traveller wrote a review Feb 2022
Grytviken199 contributions140 helpful votes
We went there early January. We got a nice room on an upper floor and… that’s it. Most restaurants in the hotel were closed or being renovated, as was the cable car. There was just a unappealing bar and a not more appealing so-called "Japanese restaurant". So, if you were there to have a dinner from above, forget it, and its ever more frustrating when the sky is just blue. On the Covid side, you’ll receive some directives before checking in and that’s all. Nobody cares, there is a reservation to use the swimming pool area, and nobody checks it when you goes in, so that was quite messy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Mar 19, 2022
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations, as you know The Pond restaurant being one of them. With regards to the pool reservation system - this is for fire code reasons and we believe when the Nordic Spa opens the demand for the Resort Pool will go down. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future! Please feel to free to reach out to me personally at kerryo@alyeskaresort.com or 907.754.2114, if you need anything.
Read more
seekingwarmerclimes wrote a review Feb 2022
Anchorage, Alaska65 contributions47 helpful votes
They have no COVID “protocols”, that is a lie. Many workers do not wear a mask, period, even during the meteoric rise of omicron. They do not require masks of guests and essentially no one wears them. Going to this place, you’d think there never was a pandemic. I’m exhausted from COVID too but pretending it doesn’t exist isn’t the answer. Yes, I got COVID on my trip. Was it the resort or the completely packed airplane? Who knows. Otherwise, the setting is lovely and the food is surprisingly good. The place is a little odd, it’s like a Japanese take on a futuristic hotel but from the early 90s. So it is dated, for sure, and they surprisingly haven’t done some basic things to keep it up. Broken lamp shades and we found a bed bug in one room (yes, really). Service is also suspect, many employees were really great but several were downright rude—and not for any good reason. We did have a good time, and if they had even taken a modicum of precautions on COVID all else probably would have been forgiven.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Early and mid week are best to avoid the rush
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Mar 19, 2022
We strive for, and pride ourselves on delivering customer service excellence and we apologize we did not reach this expectation in regards to your stay. Happy to hear that you had a good time and had encounters with some good people. We apologize for our Covid policies, however throughout it's existence we follow all state and city Mandates. It is our understanding that you had some disappointing situations while you were staying with us. We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Feedback is a gift and allows us to make changes to improve the guest experience. Our goal is to welcome you back to Alyeska Resort in the future! Please feel to free to reach out to me personally at the Hotel number, if you would like to discuss further.
Read more
Lisa I wrote a review Jan 2022
Juneau, Alaska7 contributions
We had a great stay at Alyeska! The rooms may have been dated like previous reviews say, but had some really nice extras like the towel warmer in the bathroom and plenty of room for extra gear storage. What made the stay special was the service. Everyone was so nice, helpful and friendly! The real standout was Angela up in housekeeping who was so helpful, upbeat and friendly that we had a smile on our faces every time we walked to and from our room!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry O'Brien, Owner at Alyeska Resort
Responded Feb 5, 2022
We appreciate your great review and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. At Alyeska we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly service. Angela is fantastic, thank you for mentioning her! We would like to let you know, we are currently and continually doing upgrades and renovations and would like to welcome you back to enjoy our new additions. Your ideas have been heard and we take your experiences seriously. Thank you for your time.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$278 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alyeska hotel girdwood, alyeska resort girdwood, alyeska prince hotel, hotel alyeska, girdwood alyeska prince hotel resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aleyska Prince Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaAnchorageGirdwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
304
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alyeska Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Alyeska Resort?
Nearby attractions include Winner Creek Trail Hand Tram (1.6 miles), Alyeska Ski Area (0.01 miles), and Crow Creek Mine (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alyeska Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Alyeska Resort?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Alyeska Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alyeska Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alyeska Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jack Sprat, Seven Glaciers, and Double Musky Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alyeska Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Alyeska Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Alyeska Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alyeska Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Alyeska Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Alyeska Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Potter Section House (3.5 miles).