We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Rd, Sunrise Beach Cook Islands
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (171)
Room & Suite (70)
Pool & Beach (28)

About

#40 of 100 Specialty lodging in Rarotonga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Absolute oceanfront ocean and garden bungalows and 2 bedroom family house.9m from Muri Lagoon fully self catering bring yourselves and your bagsset in 4800 square metres of sand and garden privateswimming pool gas bbeque tour desk complimentary snokelling equipmentideal for groups families and couples
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bicycles available
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
DVD / CD player
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
248Reviews5Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 118
  • 63
  • 21
  • 20
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Phil Deb Morris wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Had an awesome time at the Sunrise Beach Bungalows-the rooms are huge-the view is to die for and it's all about getting away from everything and finding yourselves. The rooms were very clean-and everything that you need if you want to cook for yourself and sit on the balcony and purely enjoy. Very good value. Much better than you'd expect at budget rates for sure..Thank you Carin-we will be back to stay at your lovely place again that's 100%. Phil & Deb Morris
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Glenn G wrote a review Oct 2019
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand92 contributions41 helpful votes
Don't even bother with this property. Booked 5 months in advance and got confirmation. The owner has then sent us an email(5 months on) stating the room is already booked. Said they got no email from booking site and the site was not working, yet later on said they had found the email in the system. Their own site and other booking sites still have the room as available. Sorry I didn't check into the reviews further as I would have gone straight to somebody else. Now I will book with a reputable resort. Should have known better. This is my 9th time in Raro but have never had such bad service!!!! Date we traveled is wrong as can't select ahead.Lucky we found out now.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Caryn C, Manager at Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Responded Oct 27, 2019
Wrong. The property does not have overbookings as the Sunrise engages a channel manager which automatically blocks out room nights at the time of booking. The channel manager has been used at the property for 5 years. The property ie the reservations clerk did not cancel the booking the booker is blaming the property itsefl when in fact it was the private site which generates automated replies. It is not possible for this site to be linked to the channel manager. No deposit or credit card details are able to be accessed by the property from the site either. Notification by the reservations clerk was emailed to the guest 5 weeks prior to their arrival as the generated booking was found in the 'junk mail.' Other rooms were offered to the guest at the property for their two night stay They declined the offer and were told at the time that no deposit payment had been taken. The service offered by the Sunrise is very very good. Due to the dateline issue 10-12 separate bookings per month book their room and forget about the dateline. To arrive in the wee hours who do not book the nignt prior. This error is picked up by the reservations clerk who notifies the guest and books the night at the property for that night or else on the rare occasion offers to place the guest somewhere else for the one early night if the property is full. The prpperty prints off all electronic bookings and weekly checks those against the calender provided by the channel manager. This is done as the island has only one IT provider Bluesky which are times suffers from entire island outages which affects all broadband wifi and ATM uses. All of the above was explainned to the guest when the property contacted the booker as a courtesy to outline the situation. The review made by the booker are not the facts of the situation at al As the channel manager which is paid by the property blocks out all room nights when guests book via an OTA eg Expedia Wotif Agoda etc etc which is used globally by other properties around the world without any glitches. Requests over the years have been made to the private site to link up to the channel manager which is not possible as they are channel managers and will not incorporate in their service The reservations clerk has to manually block out the room nights and request for deposit details This booking was found in the junk mail when rescrolling back 10 months so was not picked up at the time. With contact made to the guest immediately when this was found.
Read more
Rae wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
What an experience! Firstly was charged airport transfer fee when it was suppose to be free if you arrived before 12 at night & stayed 3 or more nights, which I did.Arrived not long after 11. Caryn was there on arrival & was shown to bungalow. Some other guests mentioned the transfer fee & Caryns reply was she was certain the flight would get in later than it did. No mention of refund. Week moving along..room seemed nice until closer inspection of ants crawling around on floor, dishes were stained & cockroaches in bathroom, along with hair in basin & on floor. Sheets were stained & tv didn’t work. There was dirt under lounge chairs & under bed. Yes I’ll always check these areas to see how well a room has been cleaned. The bed was quite old (had stains & ripped fabric on the base) but comfy. Breakfast had been supplied - spaghetti, 2 eggs & 4 slices of white bread. Think I feed bread to hens & left spaghetti alone. Oh & a bottle of janola was sitting beside the stove top. Not exactly sure why? Maybe it was there for me to use. Beautiful sunrise, & loved being so close to the beach hearing the waves pounding. Nice & quiet. Lived the hens the roosters & the dogs. I really don’t know why people moan about roosters? So what I’m about to say next really ticked the box for me NOT staying here again. Checkout 10am. I was enjoying my first coconut & had poured some into a glass. I decide to go see Caryn & ask if my payments all done. Even though I was still there, she said she would strip the bed. So she came in & proceeded to fluff around in the kitchen. I noticed she had tipped my coconut water out into the sink. Wtf! Then I retrieved my glass & poured another coconut water. I looked in the glass to find a dirty cigarette butt floating in my drink. She had put her cigarette butt in my coconut that I was still drinking.That was the last straw! NO I do NOT recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Caryn C, Manager at Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Thankyou for your subjective comments which are wrong. As typical this review was posted AFTER the guest vacated the property. The host lives on site and has been managing the property for 18 years. At no time did the Nz guest visit the host during the stay and mention any perceived issues. The guest was picked up by the tour operators which was pre arranged and taken to her room on arriva. The TV and light is always on with the continental breakfast in the fridge. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned the day of arrival. With fresh laundered sheets towels and sundries provided. Check out time is 10am which is standard global departure time The property is located right on the Pacific Ocean down a driveway off the main road. The island has an abundance of animal life which include hens roosters and dogs. Living with a tropical island with high humidity and daily temperatures it is important that food stuffs are kept in the fridge at all times. Bins are provided for food scraps and recyclables. The property is not to be blamed for ants . As part of the three monthly maintenance the property is regularly sprayed. Fly spray is available on request from the host who lives in the office/accomodatrion and is readily asked if required. Staff arrive every day so had their been an issue with the bedding or cleaninless of the room the room would have been recleaned. The bedding is not stainned nor sheeting torn as the linen and rooms are checked thoroughly well prior to arrival. None of the issues were discussed with the host at the time with instead the guest posting a review affter their stay. Likewise the transfer cost of $15.00 which again was not dsicussed with the onsite manager at the time. The Sunrise is a well maintained property it is affordable very clean affordable and offers excellent value for money. The comments made by the guest are the view of that guest only and do not reflect on the facilities offered and are very indirectly slanderous and malicious comments The Sunrise is a self catering property not a resort. The property enjoys a high rate of occupancy with the host on many occasions offering free early checkins and checkouts where possible. Which was not possible in this case as new guests were arriving into that same room three hours later. which entailed the same room being thoroughly cleaned for the next arrival All furniture and beds are removed and pulled out from the walls with only the best cleaning fluids used to ensure cleaninless in a tropical climate All the guest had to do was to visit the onsite host who lives on the property but instead posted comments after the stay
Read more
CautiousKiwis wrote a review Sep 2019
Auckland60 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed in the 2 bedroom house which was very large and spacious and had everything we needed with young kids. This is not a resort it’s more of a home stay Living in with Locals type of place. Beach is Not a swimming Beach but a coral reef. Great base unharrased by too many tourists Swimming Pool 1.8 m deep There No activities or equipment so bring your own fun a great base with fully self contained 2 bedroom house. Shop at end of road and about 2 mins drive or 15 mins walk to Muri Wifi is available via Bluesky hot spot $25 for 1.5gb 14 days Lots of hermit crabs at night Lots of low coconuts to harvest and get coconut water young green ones are the Caryn the host very nice. we had a great time there
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Caryn C, Manager at Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Thankyou for your comments. The property is not a resort it is a self catering property The property offers complimentary snorkelling equipment has a gas bbque and a swimming pool. It is right on the Pacific Ocean down a long driveway offering privacy and quiet The property is great value for money is self catering with full on cooking facilties flat screen tvs is well maintained with the host living on the premises 24/7
Read more
Dino wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
The bungalow with the pool view is under the house which means it is quite noisy. If I had known this I wouldn’t have booked it. There are about five roosters on the property that will let you know when it’s 3:30am and 6am. It would be worth getting the beach front bungalow or going somewhere else. We also asked about the free three day car hire because we stayed seven nights. The host said that this was a deal that was on a while ago even though it was still on their website. She also asked who we booked through because if it was through trivago the deal did not apply. Non of this is mentioned on the website. We did get the free three day car hire but I felt like she was trying to get out of it. Trying to make contact with the accommodation was tiring and I ended up making contact with Expedia to make contact on my behalf. I wouldn’t stay here again even though it was cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Caryn C, Manager at Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Thenkyou for your comments that they are not correct.. The guests booked and paid for the room they booked which is the cheapest room at the Sunrise. The island has cats dogs roosters and hens which is part of the island experience. the property is not to be blamed for roosters. The property occasionally offers special addons.. Which only applies to certain sites. When the host checked the booking the three day car hire was included at that time w hich was honoured as in the past previous guests have requested a car hire which is not part of their package. The property is not to be blamed for pre contact on their arrival as Expedia offer a message service which is checked daily by the host. The guests were meet by the host on arrival shown their room with the light and TV on with the continental breakfast in their firdge on arrival. There never an issue with guest arrivals as contact is made well prior by the ota msg centre or other email due to the incoming flights which arrive all hours day and night to the island. so that the room is ready for the guest on arrival. The host is available 24/7 to assist with any queries car/bik e hire activities transffers nothing is a problem the guest booked on a price point. Everything was included in their package including the three day car hire which was efficiently booked by the host which was not a problem The property here offers excellent value for money has full on cooking facilities flat screen tvs hair dryers dvd players coffee plungers all items that resorts and much higher priced properties offer in their accommodation is a one km walk to Muri with a bus stop on the main road up the driveway the rooms are very clean are regularly serviced it was the guests decision to book the Sunrise everything was provided as offered on the booking with no comments made to the host during their stay until they vacated the property and returned to their home country
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunrise beach bungalows hotel rarotonga
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotonga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Titikaveka Beach (3.0 miles), Te Rua Manga (The Needle) (4.0 miles), and Te Vara Nui Village (1.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mooring, Vili's Burger Joint, and The Waffle Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sunrise Beach Bungalows have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sunrise Beach Bungalows offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunrise Beach Bungalows?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (3.8 miles).