We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Gwin\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

We have been driving passed Gwin's for sometime, wanting to stop in and today we decided that this was our destination! We were greeted with a bubbly waitress and sat by a window. Promptly brought water and our drinks. She took our order and continued serving others there. She was very personable with everyone. Our food came and was more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

A log house with log tables and chairs. And truly great smoked salmon chowder. Hot tea on a chilly fall day. No wonder this place is famous. Lots of reports from fishermen that this was their place to eat on their fishing trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
Moraga, United States
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We had a late breakfast on our drive from Anchorage to Kenai. There aren't many places to stop alongs Hwy 9 and 1 and Gwin's was the first one we passed that looked like a good one. It did not disappoint. The food was good and arrived hot. We both had Omelets. I had the one with reindeer sausage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Gwin's smoked seafood chowder is the best on Kenai. If you are driving between Anchorage and Homer, it is worth planning your trip to have lunch here. Cozy atmosphere, pleasant service and reasonable prices. Note that menu prices are cash prices; there is a small up-charge for using a credit card.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RDM_999
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Please run!!! My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Fir Log Cabin while exploring Cooper Landing and Seward. The log cabin we stayed in was very small. It was poorly cleaned. We found cob webs hanging from the walls as well and a coffee pot is provided without any cups. The bathroom has a window right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScoutGirl_93
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

This is our least expensive cabin with a bath at $140/nt. & $98 in the off season. This unit is a real original hand peeled log cabin vs a motel. It has a 10 gallon water heater. The others besides willow has on-demand instant or boiler hot water. The other cabins are $200-$225/night which is typical. Linen black out curtains...

Madrid
Reviewed August 27, 2016

We stayed in Willow Log Cabin and I must said this cabin was the worst place of our holidays in Alaska. Cabin was very old and very basic. I think cabin needs a full refurbish. Around this cabin there are other cabin types and they look much nicer. I could try them, but they are much more expensive. Overall our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JavierMadrid
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

Please try a Spruce Chalet next time ($225) as it has a kitchen and sitting area. The Willow room is one of our least expensive cabins with a bathroom; $150 peak season, $105 before June 10 and after August 20. The most expensive cabin we have is $275 double occupancy. I stayed a good way outside of Denali in a...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed August 26, 2016

I stop there quite a bit during fishing season. It has been there since the 50's and have new owners in the last few years. I love that the floor is uneven. Has the old time charm. Staff is great! We got there around 11:15 and they let us order breakfast. All the staff had smiles on their faces. Love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
Toronto
Reviewed August 22, 2016

We stayed 1 night here and found the cabin we were in to be clean and that's what counts. The washroom was a little small but I try not to spend too much time in there anyway lol. The place is located close to a nice hiking trail in the park and the staff were very friendly and asked how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HungryTarHeel
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We stayed at the Russian River campgrounds just a block or so farther down Sterling Highway. This store was very convenient for us. We went there for ice but we ended up with much more! First of all, we started in the liquor store part. They had a surprisingly variety of beers and liquors. We specifically wanted a beer from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynclarke
Saxton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We stayed around 11 days because we came to Coopers Landing to fish. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. A peaceful and beautiful setting. Everything we needed was right there. The accommodations were perfect. Can't wait to come back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saytedon
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
18.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
83 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 13 in Cooper Landing
260 reviews
18.1 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
81 reviews
19.5 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
28 reviews
21.2 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gwin's Lodge is the closest restaurant and lodging to the confluence of the Kenai and Russian Rivers, the world's best salmon fishery. We are nestled at the base of the majestic Kenai Mountains in the Chugach National Forest, and across from the turquoise waters of the Kenai River. Our central location (about 100 miles from Anchorage, 50 miles from Seward, and 50 miles from Kenai) makes all indoor and outdoor recreational activities throughout the Kenai Peninsula easily accessible to our guests. Whether it's fishing, viewing wildlife, sightseeing, rafting, kayaking, horseback riding, hiking, or panning for gold, make Gwin's Lodge your recreational headquarters! Our full-service restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner and features delicious homecooking including the renowned smoked salmon chowder, halibut sandwich, hamburgers, nachos, quesadillas, and desserts. Our tackle store is stocked with fishing tackle and equipment, convenience items, and Alaska souvenirs. We can book your guides and excursions free of cost. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 14865 Sterling Hwy, Milepost 52 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-9767
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Price Range: $90 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwins Hotel Cooper Landing
Gwin's Lodge And Restaurant Cooper Landing, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only ate here, did not stay in the Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles johntL2851VL, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“Watch out for bears. Common in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles 172jeanneh, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Try the restaurant!”
 of 5 bubbles HungryTarHeel, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles saytedon, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be as far away from the music venue as possible”
 of 5 bubbles smcharles2016, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay