We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Matriki Beach Huts

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Matriki Beach Huts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matriki Beach Huts
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Matriki Beach Huts are right on the beach, with the best snorkelling on the island directly out front. Kettles, toasters, a portable stove top, BBQ and cooking utensils are provided so you can cook your own food or go to one of the restaurants Tracey and Trevor suggest - their recommendations were always spot on. We had a potluck dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lara22222
Trevor-Tracey, Owner at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review, it is always good to get some positive feedback. We always try to create a warm friendly vibe, and any tips etc we pass on are because we want people to experience the best the island has to offer. No matter who provides the service as long as it is good. It is great to... More 

Mahurangi West, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Immaculately clean and affordable beach huts on a gob-smackingly beautiful beach / tropical island. The beach huts have everything you need. Tracey & Trevor are such fun, down-to-earth hosts and really made our holiday. You simply wouldn't get this experience by staying in a self contained unit or resort. Embrace all their tips on what to do - we love... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. Thats the heading we like to see. one of our best holidays ever wow We love it when guests come with a sense of adventure, and you guys had an adventure every day you were here, in your case even before you left NZ lol. Your enthusiasm for everything was infectious. What a great way... More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Matriki is on the best beach with good snorkeling and swimming right out front and amazing sunsets. Matriki's beach is very well maintained and comfortable with picnic tables, lounge chairs and shade trees in the sand. The accommodations are clean, comfortable, unique and charming. We stayed in the upper and lower treehouse, we loved the decks and views and slept... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegosurffam
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Hi we like to respond to all reviews, and it is a great way to get feedback on the things we having been putting in place here at Matriki. Firstly I must say that all the hard work and effort is worthwhile when we get travelers like you. People who have travelled a lot, who want something out of the... More 

Manly, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This review is a mixture of a lot of big praise and a little bit of warning. First of all, Matriki is awesome. In my opinion, it's the most perfect location on the island with the nicest beach. The snorkeling just in front is great, with a healthy, living coral reef, and there are nearby options for great food (Puffy's... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Justin B
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. Most relaxed, beautiful, awesome place to stay on the island….. what a great heading. Five stars for Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness, Service. Well you can’t get any better can you. Trevor and Tracey make sure that everything is taken care of for a relaxed, unforgettable stay..... Well we certainly try to make... More 

Uetendorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

... honestly! If you'd rather spent your money for activities like snorkelling etc. than on accomodation, but you still want a decent resort, this is your catch: Immaculate clean and comfy beach huts with kitchen and private shower only 10 meters from the sea. The beach is the cleanest on the island, with a hammock, picknick tables, sunchairs and floaties... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jubi S
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thanks for the review, it is great when our work and effort to create this environment here at Matriki is met with such enthusiasm. We do seem to be attracting interesting travelers who want to experience a remote tropical paradise, with lots of ocean activity. Something that can't be had at other places. We encourage people to stay... More 

Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's the most beautiful place I've ever been to. The people are all very friendly on the island. Especially the hosts of Matriki Beach Huts are so friendly, funny and give you the best opportunities to discover the island and its surroundings. It was more than worth it going there...it was just a dream! don't think about it, do it!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Freeddie
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

We respond to all reviews as the Managers of Matriki. Thanks for your input and for staying with us here at Matriki on Aitutaki. Yes it is a wonderful place and full of friendly people, We delight in sharing with our guests the island and all its wonders, it can truly be a paradise and nearly every one that leaves... More 

Uetendorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Every single detail of this wonderful place is taken care of: The lovely huts are quite basic, but spotlessly clean, with a kitchenette and private open-air shower. Even cold drinking water awaits you (plus there's free filtered drinking water available any time). The soft sand of the beach - 10 meters from your hut! - is cleaned every morning. Snorkel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Schreeeeenz
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

We like to respond to all reviews as operators of Matriki Tracey and I would like to thank you for your feedback. You guys had such a great time here and we enjoyed having you stay, you were like our good luck charm. We had such fabulous weather and some of the best snorkeling days of the year due to... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We are a couple from Sweden/New Zealand living in London. Went to Aitutaki for Two weeks and stayed at the cosy Matriki beach Huts. Pick up service from the airport and was amazed by the views from the new beach hut we stayed in. Complete with its own shower with a view and kitchenette. Mathias offered a wide rage of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flomenator
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

We like to respond to all reviews as Operators of Matriki Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy you ventured to Aitutaki and experienced the magic of the place and the beauty of simple living at Matriki. We would also like to recommend the Marine Research Centre and encourage all our guests to visit and learn more... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived in Aitutaki somewhat knowing that we would find ourselves in paradise. Little that we knew Matriki Beach Huts and their hosts T&T (Tracey and Trevor) would contribute so much to that feeling. Among so many more accommodations to choose from, Matriki is truly the place to stay if you are an adventurous traveller. Nothing can... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggabi_b
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

We like to respond to all reviews as the new operators of Matriki. Thank you very much for your review, it is great to get feedback from guests. Tracey and I have put in a lot of work into the place and it is great that the guests really appreciate the time and energy we put into making everyone's holiday... More 

downtown Victoria, Vancouver Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Ever since I first saw a picture of a tropical island when I was just wee, have I wanted to go and see for myself. That chance now came up and what a lucky bugger I was to end up at Matriki. There is a magic around this place that imho originates only in part from the stunning vista of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank artesius
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

We like to respond to all reviews on Trip Advisor as we feel this is a good place for guests to provide feedback and let us know exactly how they feel about us as a holiday destination. It is good that we have a certain pattern emerging, lots of positive reviews, we seem to be attracting the right like minded... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

178 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (175)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $75 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay