We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort

Save
Share
Motu Akitua Cook Islands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$435
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1250)
Room & Suite (285)
Pool & Beach (242)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 10 hotels in Aitutaki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Free airport transportation
Paid wifi
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
999Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 444
  • 263
  • 132
  • 86
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jen-sven wrote a review Jun 2020
Macedon, Australia52 contributions14 helpful votes
We booked an amazing trip to the beautiful Cook Islands back in December last year for June of this year. Unfortunately with COVID-19 we are unable to go. This resort are the only company refusing to give us a refund. They will only give us credit. They say it was a non refundable rate so refuse to refund. We can rebook if they have availability for when we can return. They do not appreciate that no-one could have foreseen this pandemic. Their responses to our emails have been very impersonal. We will be going back to the Cook Islands and we will be spending a lot of money, but unfortunately not with this company. Pacific Resort Hotels will however be getting all ours and anyone else we knows business. They were more than happy to give a full refund. Shame on you Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island resort. Guess that’s one way to make money but not get return customers
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Napa, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your reservation is booked on non-refundable rates, we hope you can take up our special offer to postpone your stay to new travel dates. Please be aware that bookings made on non-refundable rates are non-refundable. No refund is available; however, we are pleased to allow you to re-book your stay for a later date or to transfer your holiday to family or friends. With that in mind, we invite you to take this opportunity to defer your travel plans as well as enjoy these complimentary added value bonuses we would like to offer you: FREE Upgrade to the next room type (subject to availability) FREE $50 Resort Credit per room per day (can be utilised in any of our Resort restaurants & bars, spa, gift shop and tours) FREE 450MB Wi-Fi per room, per day for multiple devices FREE option to Transfer your reservation to a friend or family member FREE “Island Girl” Tropical Cocktail for Two at sunset 10% Discounts on all restaurant, bar, spa and gift shop purchases at the Resort You can change your accommodation dates for travel any time up to 31 March 2022 with no penalty or change fees, when advised to us no later than 30 June 2020, by which time we expect that the Cook Islands will be moving towards re-opening our borders. As this is a fluid situation, we are happy to review matters again with you as circumstances change. Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
texbohnsack wrote a review May 2020
Woodbridge, Virginia19 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had an amazing experience there and highly recommend it! It was a once in a lifetime type of experience we hope to repeat! We stayed in a regular bungalow. The decor was great, especially the outdoor shower. The staff were very nice and accomodating in every way! We got engaged while we were there. We briefly mentioned it to the staff and they surprised us with a bottle of wine in our room. We are hoping to come back for our honeymoon! We were there in December and it was just so unique to see the holiday decorations, Pacific island style! The blackened prawns at the tiki bar were great! The breakfast buffet was good too. Honeymoon, here we come when we can travel again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Napa, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our amazing Private Island location, fantastic food and friendly & helpful staff. You would be pleased to know our staff take a lot of pride in looking after all our guests ensuring they receive the best possible service throughout their stay with us and I’m sure to pass on your compliments to the team. Thank you again for visiting our “Island Paradise” and we look forward to welcoming you back to our private island resort. Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
Pieter S wrote a review Mar 2020
Nelson, New Zealand1,699 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
We were picked up by the airport we were given a coconut drink and wreath of flowers. The lady who picked us up she was lovely gave give us a ride to the Water each took the ferry to the island. At the reception we were given an introduction and we were shown to our room it was beautiful very big size. We specially like the outdoor shower. Bikes were included and snorkelling gear. We had dinner at the Bounty restaurant I couldn’t fault it was delicious. Thank you for giving us such a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason N, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You would be pleased to know our staff take a lot of pride in looking after all our guests ensuring they receive the best possible service throughout their stay with us and I’m sure to pass on your compliments to the team. Thank you again for visiting our “Island Paradise” and we look forward to welcoming you back to our private island resort Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
Sonya M wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We are still currently here on our honeymoon in an overwater bungalow and this place is incredible. Staff are amazing, the view incredible and the food is delicious. It was my husband's (first time I have written that) birthday today and they went out of there way to help me surprise him with a dinner on our balcony over looking the sunset. Magical. We will be coming back and recommending it to all our friends. So relaxing and everything we could of dreamed for a honeymoon plus more. Also still have another night of this bliss.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason N, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Kia Orana Sonya & Hayden, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing beautiful Aitutaki as your honeymoon and holiday getaway. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are delighted to hear that you are both enjoying your stay with us, including our amazing Private Island location and views of Aitutaki Lagoon from your Overwater Bungalow. You would be pleased to know our staff take a lot of pride in looking after all our guests ensuring they receive the best possible service throughout their stay with us and I’m sure to pass on your compliments to the team. Thank you again for visiting our “Island Paradise”, please enjoy your last night with and we look forward to welcoming you back to our private island resort. Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
AusBeerBaron wrote a review Mar 2020
Bairnsdale, Australia54 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed in an over water bungalow and the views were simply stunning. The room was also well set out and even had an outdoor shower. Not a lot to do on the island but very relaxing and having bikes out the front of every villa made commuting around the island very easy. The pool is a bit dated but still OK, the restaurant have a different menu every night with not a lot of choices but the staff were exceptionally obliging and helpful when requesting something different, especially Naomi who couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Overall an enjoyable relaxing stay. Don't get to excited about Aitutaki itself though, only 3 shops and very small but worth a look, especially at the coral lagoon surrounding it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason N, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our amazing Private Island location and views of Aitutaki Lagoon from your Overwater Bungalow. You would be pleased to know our staff take a lot of pride in looking after all our guests ensuring they receive the best possible service throughout their stay with us and I’m sure to pass on your compliments to the team – a special mention to Nanise. We recently completed a full changeover to all brand-new bikes for the resort and we have allocated all rooms their own Bicycles for guests to utilise throughout their stay, happy to hear you enjoyed the use of your complimentary bicycle. There is minimal work being done during this period however we are looking to get most of this work done during the upcoming lo-season periods. This includes resort-wide refurbishment program including all guest rooms, public areas, equipment and amenities. Thank you again for visiting our “Island Paradise” and we look forward to welcoming you back to our private island resort Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$280 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aitutaki lagoon hotel aitutaki, aitutaki lagoon resort and spa, aitutaki lagoon resort spa, lagoon resort aitutaki
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsAitutaki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Aitutaki Lagoon (1.0 miles), O'otu Beach (0.2 miles), and Mount Maungapu (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koru Cafe, Rapae Bay, and Tamanu Beach Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.