We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
 Click to rate
San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was literally 5 coconut trees to the lagoon; a true island get away. Room was clean, owner very helpful; I loved the airport pick up and drop off. Idyllic and relaxing place, the snorkeling was superb, way better than the Bahamas. Again, the Cook Islanders were wonderful people. Don't miss the Tamanu Island night and the marine preserve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Meitaki Gemma for your review. Also thanks for the chicken meal - it was delicious. I know that you enjoyed yourself plus you relaxed as well which is great and that's what it's all about. You indicated that you may return with the family. I have a lot of guests who take advantage that we only have two units and...

Reviewed March 5, 2017

Excellent location, helpful and friendly owner, all the amenities you need. Beautiful views any time of day but sunsets spectacular. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return. Roosters crowing is the call of the Islands and to be expected. Amuri Sands neighbouring properties have roosters, maybe take ear plugs if you think it may bother you or embrace an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie E
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kellie and Steve Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the not to distant future. The weather continues to be very warm but we are now having some cooling breezes. One of the big features of staying at Amuri Sands...

Ashcroft, Canada
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Just spent three weeks at Amuri Sands, this is our second time there and it is a special paradise. Beautiful view, sandy beach and snorkelling right from the beach. Mark, the owner is very thoughtful and considerate making sure we had everything we needed. The units have everything we needed to self cater and managed to make some excellent meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lseaman2017
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Louise and Mac Always such a pleasure to have you stay. Unfortunately with only two units we couldn't put all the family up but it seems everyone used Amuri Sands as the base which was great. I have no doubt you will have adjusted to those "cool" days in Canada by now - such an extreme to our...

Bell Canyon, California
Reviewed December 2, 2016

The comfort and privacy of Amuri Sands was just what I needed. Best view with palm trees, oceanfront and sunsets. Mark was very helpful with scooter arrangements and island tips. I went solo but this a perfect spot for couples too. Stayed a full week with snorkel trips every other day. Several wonderful food choices within walking distance or get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Janet Thank you for posting this review. It is always nice to hear from guest's. You certainly seemed to become more relaxed the longer you stayed - which is great and wonderful to see. Thank you very much for the chocolates from California - they we delicious and Carolyn and I loved them. Also your ribbons spelling out...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

Amuri Sands is situated on the ocean front with a view of coconut palms, a frangapani tree and a breath taking, picture postcard, stunning view of crystal clear water from the veranda. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and user friendly. Mark is a helpful, non-intrusive host who supplied us with rain water and fresh bananas and pawpaws. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1tiger2
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kate So glad you enjoyed your stay at Amuri Sands and Aitutaki. You managed to ride the scooter again after a long spell and you seemed to enjoy the experience. The bananas grown in Aitutaki are the best I have had anywhere. Unfortunately I don't have them all the time - the same as the paw paw. But...

Monterey, California
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Needing some serious down time from work, we stayed at Amuri Sands for 1 week in early October. Mark, the low key, funny and considerate owner, met us as the airport and explained all the nuances to us. He comes to the property twice a day to clean the coconuts and other fallen items from the pristine property. He was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Alison and Gerry What a pleasure to have you stay with us all the way from Monterey. The ten days seemed to wiz by and I know you will be back for a longer period next time. Yes it is easy to relax and read and do nothing. I seem to recollect that you came with out any...

Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Aitutaki was the last step of our 2 years' journey. Hence Amuri Sands was perfect to calm down after travelling a lot and to enjoy the island life. The owner Marc is taking great care about everything. You have a wonderful view from your balcony. Just be aware of falling coconuts if you wanna go down to the beach 😉...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Adrian and Jenny You certainly managed to open the coconuts with ease - well done. Paw paws are in abundant supply at the moment as the current guests can testify to, along with freshly picked bananas from the property. Not to many paw paws when you were here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and relaxed, especially...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We stayed at Amuri Sands for 8 nights on the recommendation of our friends whom also stayed here recently. The booking process was smooth as the owner (Mark) responds to emails promptly. He was kind enough to arrange a scooter which was ready for us to use upon arrival! You do need some form of transport on Aitutaki as most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davin8
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Davin and Moi Thank you for that interesting review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and the time just flashed by. Yes you are correct, a scooter is a good idea even though the island is only 7 x 2.5km it can seem quite large, especially when it is warm. Also, ear plugs...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We spent 5 nights at Amuri Sands and loved it all. There is a lovely garden to walk through to get to the accommodation which is right on the beach with fabulous views all day and stunning sunsets. It is excellent value for money, private & quiet, yet close to places to eat etc. Mark (the owner) ensures the place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janey57NZ
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Hi Jane and Steve, Thank you for your compliments regarding Amuri Sands, the gardens and the accommodation here in general. We love our beach and gardens here, and it's always nice when guests appreciate and enjoy the surroundings. Yes, it is unfortunate that occasionally we get seaweed washing up on the beach from the lagoon. This usually follows a period...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasant 7-night stay at Amuri Sands from 10 August. The weather was a constant 27 degrees and the accommodation perfect for us. We found it clean, tidy and very well maintained. Mark is a great host and the garden and surroundings a credit to all his hard work. Nothing is too much trouble to Mark from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raroregulars
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Hi Jill and Ian, It was great having you here at Amuri Sands. Thank you so much for your kind comments, and I am very pleased you were able to appreciate the lovely aspect of the gardens and our private beach here. And, yes, the walks around the island are quite beautiful, and do provide an ideal opportunity to see...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (52)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,097 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $71 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amuri Sands, Aitutaki staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Amuri Sands, Aitutaki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The units were 5 coconut trees to the lagoon.”
583gemmap, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Two units available and both are great.”
261janetv, Dec 2, 2016 | Read review
“can't go wrong as both are the same.”
alisonk461, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms have the same outlook etc, nothing to choose between them.”
janey57NZ, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“Both bungalows are private and have great sea views”
115keitht, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question