Joe Jo's By The Reef
Traveler (212)
View from the room
Room & Suite (37)
Joe Jo's By The Reef
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Tobacco Caye
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Joe Jo's consists of 6 cabins of which 5 are on the Seafront on the edge of the great Barrier Reef or with great Sea/Ocean View,and 1Honeymoon Cabin over the water.Each cabin has a private verandah with a hammock, and with exception of the Honeymoon Cabin,the maximum accommodation per cabin is 3 persons. There are 3 Rooms on the first floor of the main building,also with maximum accommodation of 3 persons per room . On the second floor there are 2 Suites /Family Room with large living space and facilities for a wet bar with 2 coolers.Spacious Verandah for relaxing in a hammock or lounging, overlooking the Cabins and Ocean.All accommodation includes private bathrooms with hot and cold shower. Joe Jo's is not a Bed and Breakfast but is a Hotel/Resort and we seek that it be placed in its rightful category and be ranked accordingly.Kindly reclassify and advise accordingly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Beach
Canoeing
Diving
Raquetball
Breakfast available
Snorkeling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Room features
Dining area
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Tobacco Caye 00000 Belize
Getting there
Philip S.W. Goldson Intl Airport
47.1 mi
See all flights
Dangriga Airport
12.6 mi
See all flights
142Reviews16Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 112
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tony H wrote a review Jul 2023
Delta, Canada38 contributions
+1
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location and food were very good. Felt like summer camp on the reef really loved spending time with Dave and his family. Such a great host. The snorkelling is quite cool with several really unique species available to view.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Jul 10, 2023
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your expressions.Please come see us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HelloWorld wrote a review Dec 2021
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Joe Jo's was the best stay on the tiny island of Tobacco Caye. We had an ocean view cabana with en suite bathroom and fantastic porch with a view. Snorkeling gear, paddle boards and kayaks are included and you can go Snorkeling right off the island. Carmen and family cook the excellent and plentiful meals for you each day (which is included), so you can relax some more in the hammock or on the porch, or go Snorkeling some more, or paddle. The island is so tiny that everyone knows everyone and you can ask around for guided tours if that's your thing or hang out at one of the two bars, but stay at Joe Jo's for the best food/accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Apr 24, 2022
Thanks for your excellent review.We are so happy that you are satisfied with your choice of stay,Please travel safely and come again.Please feel free to keep in touch.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mala wrote a review Jan 2024
Baltimore, Maryland4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
my partner and i stayed at joe jo's for two nights while traveling around Belize. It was our first visit to Belize in general and we were not disappointed. Tabacco Caye was just what we needed!! an affordable, cozy and convenient place to rest our head before the days begin. With so much to offer, Joe Jo's is a STEAL compared to the other resorts on the island. You won't get a menu but what you get is warm, heart felt cooked meals that are included with your stay, 3 times a day!!! AND if you want more you have options from the other resorts as they have a limited menu and bar (however, not included with your stay).
If adventure and a comfortable place to rest your head is what you are looking for, at a fantastic price.. look no further. Grab what you need from the stores in Dangriga before you head to the island and you will be so glad you chose Joe Jo's By the Reef!! We had a private cabin right on the water. We enjoyed the snorkeling and kayaks provided for use at NO extra charge. Walks in the evening enjoying the night sky!! The owners are VERY kind and will help answer any questions you may run into.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you confirm how you will be getting onto the island when you book your stay for easier...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Mar 9, 2024
We know that you had to make a choice to come this far and we are thankful.You let us feel rewarded and energized to work even harder.We hope to see you again and please let family and friends know that Joe Jo's is that place they are looking for.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
646jes wrote a review Dec 2023
Brooklyn, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most outstanding thing, out of a long list of outstanding things about Joe Jo’s is the family atmosphere that is felt in little and big ways. We stayed at the over-the-water cabana for 10 days in December. At first we thought it may have been a little too long for such a small island, but it wasn’t. It was long enough to begin to observe the patterns of nature…the pelicans, stingrays, eagle rays, and the abundant bird life. Snorkeling at the reef was amazing, and the fishing was a true Belizean experience. Carmen’s kitchen consistently produced tasty meals with incredible variety. Dave was always available to answer questions. Mariella’s hospitality was real and her thoughtfulness was so appreciated. (She is an amazing volleyball player too) Darren was always looking for ways to make our stay even better with fresh coconut deliveries and even running into town to pick up our grocery requests. Cynthia’s warm and kind personality was just lovely. It was a family and they wanted us to feel part of their family during our stay. And we did.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Mar 9, 2024
Thanks Bryce,according to our staff it was long enough to feel like family,but short to say Good bye.So they are looking out to see you guys again.You all were great guests.Please tell family and friends that its easy to become part of the Joe Jo's Family.Thanks for choosing Joe Jo's
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeannette C wrote a review Mar 2024
Calgary10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a terrific 1 1/2 weeks at Jojo's for rest, relaxation, and snorkeling!
Carmen's kitchen (special thanks to you) provides 3 delicious meals a day with David, Mariela, Cynthia, Sean, and Darren all contributing at the property. A heartfelt thank you for the flexibility with dietary requirements! It was so appreciated. We certainly felt pampered and taken care of. Kudos to a hard working family and team!!
The grounds were beautifully kept and welcoming. The cabins are very clean with both hot and cold water. ..a luxury on the caye!! Our deck was an inviting place to relax, enjoy sunrises, marvel at the reef and be entertained by the ongoings on the dock! (2 groups of fisherman in our case during our stay.. thanks!!
Lol) The kayaks and sups were part of our daily routine for birding and paddling along the reef as far as we felt.
Thank you Louis of Jojo's for once again making the reservation process easy as always including boat transportation to Tobacco Caye from Dangriga.
We had a fabulous time and we shall return perhaps with others in tow. We look forward to once again being part of Jojo's family!
Missing the fry bread and fresh fish!!!
And Mariela's smoothies💝
Your friends
Jeannette and Bernard Chung
Calgary Alberta Canada
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Mar 12, 2024
Thank you guys for enjoying Joe Jo's once again.Got to be here next time round.(:The Team send their Best Wishes and its obvious you are special.(: Will be looking out to have the extended family and Friends next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt L wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Joe Jos is a very unique and amazing property and we enjoyed our stay!
It is on Tobacco Caye, which is very small, but has everything you need!
Our Caban was very cute and clean. The hammock and chairs on the porch were the perfect place to hang out after snorkelling or kayaking. While there is a bar (or 2) on the island, we brought a few drinks for the porch.
The meals were incredible, delicious food ready when the bell rings. One of the best things about the meals is that you eat with the other guests, so you end up having some great conversations and making some new friends. The portions were perfect for me, my husband (a big guy) found them a little light (but still good!). I’d suggest bringing some snacks for between meals if you are a voracious eater. They will cook your catch if you ask!
The snorkelling from shore was amazing, as was the kayaking. I’d also suggest a snorkelling tour, the staff can set you up.
Staff were friendly and attentive at all times. When meeting the shuttle to the island just remember it’s Belizean time, go slow and relax :)
In the future I would like to see the island invest in some environmental practices that ensure its long term sustainability (or educate travellers if they do already have some in place).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Jan 31, 2024
Thanks Matt we will strive to straighten the kinks here and there :)Thanks for understanding the Belizean time, especially where its a sacrifice not to leave anyone behind., while coordinating guest arrivals at varying time. Take your positive note on environmental sustainability comment.The Belize Tourist Board standards are high in this regard and our collaborative effort is indeed key for the long term. Thanks for finding Joe Jos unique and amazing with friendly and attentive staff.Looking to have you , ,family and friends back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey P wrote a review Jun 2021
36 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son(12) and I had an amazing stay for a few nights at Joe Jo’s on Tobacco Caye. I highly recommend it. Dave and Carmen, the managers, make you feel right at home and Louis from the mainland is very responsive as well. Go here! Be prepared to relax and unwind. There is SCUBA, snorkeling, paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, and friendly people. You can do a night dive with the marine biologist on TC as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Be prepared to go slow and unwind! The beach front cabanas are in a good spot.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Jun 20, 2021
Thanks Tracey we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, especially that we are just reopening after a long pause due to the Corona Virus.Dave and Carmen enjoyed your company as well.We continue to do all we can to ensure a healthy environment for our guests.We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia H wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be warned- this hotel did not honor our reservations and booked over us a few days before our arrival in high season. We struggled to find another accommodation and there were none in this location. Extremely unprofessional by anyone’s standards. This was after 3-4 day response times online and no answers on either their US or Belize phone numbers,
I am a seasoned traveller in remote places and this poor show of responsibility really took the cake.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Mar 9, 2024
Please see the below response to an earlier email from Patricia which gives details of what transpired: Hi Pat, kindly review the email threads in which you agreed that it was ok 'if we did not save you space' since you were not able to reply.We nevertheless did offer alternative dates and extended the courtesy of a few days for you to confirm, and while there were other requests in line awaiting confirmations these eventually resulted in non availability. It is untrue to say "you have to find a place to sleep those nights AGAIN." Unfortunately you did not reach the final stage of Confirming your booking with us. You were well aware of the limited accommodations on the island, including our complement of only 6 cabins, which were well sought after. We really regret your sentiments, and extend our warmest welcome to book anytime in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MR0263 wrote a review May 2023
Madison, Wisconsin51 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful place to stay and experience all the wonderful activities and people of Tobacco Caye. Everyone, and everything, at Joe Jo’s was delightful. Our planning to get to the Caye was a breeze working with Luis. The boat ride is fun and upon arrival we found our cabins to be clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff was fantastic! Carmen and Mariella were warm and inviting and their food was great. David was a fine captain and Darin was a charming host/man-about-island. We were honored to be there when Luis’s family was visiting for Easter and they invited us to the Easter service overlooking the sea, hosted by families who grew up on the Caye. What a beautiful place and beautiful people.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded May 4, 2023
Thanks Marla,Michelle and Julie.So happy to deliver on Stephanie's recommendation on two occasions.She was a wonderful guest and she ,as well, has delivered by sending her friends our way.We enjoyed your jovial spirits and it was indeed a pleasure to give you our best. Our wish is to have you and other members of your families visit in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darryll W wrote a review Feb 2023
Edmonton, Canada6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Joe Jo’s by the Reef was a very pleasant surprise. We booked on short notice and the owner Luis got us in. Mind you he didn’t tell his staff but all was good when we got there. The staff upgraded us to our own cabana and it was very nice indeed. However, one mattress felt like there was a hidden skeleton inside due to the bumps and dips. We would highly recommend this location and these facilities. Food was supplied. It was simple but good. Kayaks, paddle boards, snorkeling excursions and equipment were all included. Major bonus. Thanks to all the staff for making our 4 days a truly wonderful and relaxing experience, especially David and his daughter.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louis Swasey, Other at Joe Jo's By The Reef
Responded Jul 10, 2023
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful and relaxing experience.Thanks for recommending Joe Jo's to those looking for a relaxing getaway.Sorry for just acknowledging your review,but you are certainly not forgotten.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Darryll W
Edmonton, Canada6 contributions
We stayed at Pals on the Beach overnight before taking the boat to Caye Tobacco. They have a parking lot. If you stay there you can likely leave your car there, if not, then maybe ask if you can leave it there for a fee
Answer from jilljb18
Etna, California2 contributions
I was there in November 2017. I would guess that they are definitely still open. I didn’t book my stay in advance, I got in contact with them from Hopkins via a shuttle boat captain who had their direct number. Though that was before the start of the busy season. Best of luck!
A-R asked a question Mar 2017
Lubbock, Texas87 contributions
What is the best way to get from Belize City airport to Dangriga?
Answer from LouisSwasey
Tobacco Caye, Belize10 contributions
Thanks Amy Rose,I answered your email on this question,however I am certain other potential Guests can also benefit from the answer: When booking on line look for a flight with an early arrival time(before or early afternoon) at the Philip Goldson International Airport in Belize and allow an hour to clear Customs and Immigration, then book the earliest 20 minute Domestic Flight by Tropic Air or Maya Island Air to Dangriga.When you let us know your arrival time in Dangriga we will coordinate your pick up and early transfer to the Island.
Halobabe99 asked a question Oct 2016
Richmond, Kentucky36 contributions36 helpful votes
Has anyone been there in February? How was the weather and water temperature?
Answer from LouisSwasey
Tobacco Caye, Belize10 contributions
Usually cool weather with mild cold fronts(from the north) from time to time.This results in cooler water temperatures.Generally fair weather.
Halobabe99 asked a question Oct 2016
Richmond, Kentucky36 contributions36 helpful votes
Is there air conditioning in the cabins?
Answer from LouisSwasey
Tobacco Caye, Belize10 contributions
There is no aircondition.Units are near or over the water and there is a fan in each room for the still nights when the prevaling easterlies are not rushing in.
Nicole V wrote a tip Mar 2024
Toronto, Canada20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring sunscreen"
Read full review
mala wrote a tip Jan 2024
Baltimore, Maryland4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you confirm how you will be getting onto the island when you book your stay for easier commuting. "
Read full review
Judi G wrote a tip May 2022
Berkeley, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try for a cabin."
Read full review
Tracey P wrote a tip Jun 2021
36 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared to go slow and unwind! The beach front cabanas are in a good spot."
Read full review
LLTravels wrote a tip Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia72 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommend reserving a cabin over one of the rooms in the main house."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tobacco Caye area.
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesTobacco Caye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JOE JO'S BY THE REEF - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Joe Jo's By The Reef
What are some of the property amenities at Joe Jo's By The Reef?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Joe Jo's By The Reef?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Joe Jo's By The Reef?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Joe Jo's By The Reef have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.