We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (19)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)

About

#3 of 113 Specialty lodging in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Las Cumbres Inn offers the perfect way to enjoy Costa Rica for business or pleasure. Located just 15 minutes from beautiful San Jose, Costa Rica, Las Cumbres Inn is an outstanding 14 room inn designed especially for your enjoyment and relaxation. With a breathtaking view, beautiful pool and colorful gardens, Las Cumbres Inn is modern and spacious, yet just the right size to provide the personal care, attention and comfort you need. In addition to our staff having years of experience in hospitality, we offer strategically designed accommodations including Deluxe, Studio Deluxe, Mini-suite and Deluxe Suite rooms featuring beautiful views
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free parking
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
61Reviews
1Q+A
22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Selina and all the crew at Las Cumbres were wonderful. They took special care of my allergies and made sure I made it to all of my appointments. Very caring and wonderful. The room 11 was fantastic. Met people from many countries they had both male and female surgery
Read more
I would like to thank Xinia and her excellent staff for providing me during my very first visit to Costa Rica with a warm, safe and nurturing environment for my recent medical stay. I planned my inaugural trip to San Jose area several months in advance.while researching Dentists
Read more
Having visited Las Cumbres about 6 years and being treated very well in a comfortable "homey" atmosphere, with home cooked meals, albeit local recipes ,most of which were unfamiliar to me, they were tasty and generous. This visit,from August 22nd to September 1st,blew me away.
Read more
I would not recommend Las Cumbres Inn for many reasons. The photos they have posted online are outdated. I had three surgeries done while in San Jose and I did not receive the care I was promised at Las Cumbres. The nurse is only on staff a few hours a day. The meals are very
Read more
Response from Las C, General Manager at Las Cumbres Inn
Responded Aug 2, 2018
…I would not recommend Las Cumbres Inn for many reasons… Thank you for the comments, we appreciate everybody´s input while staying with us during their recovery. Please allow me to respond to some of the issues you mentioned: …The photos they have posted online are outdated… Those pictures were taken in September 2017 …I had three surgeries done while in San Jose and I did not receive the care I was promised at Las Cumbres… You were promised a property with beautiful views, a hospital bed, a nurse, meals, in quiet surroundings with people that care for you--- And Indeed you needed and received special care and attention from our staff …The nurse is only on staff a few hours a day… The special request for a 24-hour companion is different from a nurse care, our nurses dedicated many hours to your special care and requests, their assistance as nurses was checking on you every two hours, stayed with you all night the day you came out of the surgery, included but not limited to… visiting your room often to empty your drains, which are ¨NURSES DUTIES¨ but also, THEY dedicated time to your personal care helping to dress you, insisted that you get out of the room and walk for your own wellbeing, combing your hair and put your shoes on, plus many more requests you had... It was also explained that if you wanted a 24 hour companion, that is totally different than a nurse, it had an additional charge because the nurse stayed with you many hours keeping you company but primarly her duties were for medical reasons, every hour that you need medications the nurse or a staff member was there to assist you with all your needs. …The meals are very bland… Unfortunately, we are here to take care of each individual´s wellbeing after a surgery, the meals are specially design for each person depending on the doctor´s protocol and also with specific attention to their requests (likes and dislikes). All your constant requests for fried items (chicken, potatoes, etc), were given to you as per your requests, even-thought is not recommended for post-surgery patients, which you also rejected then many times... You also insisted in having bacon… which is... -high in saturated fat and cholesterol, -50% monounsaturated and a large part of those is oleic acid -Fried bacon may be high in nitrosamines, which are carcinogenic -40% is saturated fat, accompanied by a decent amount of cholesterol. Please keep in mind, that unfortunately as a reaction to your prescriptions and as post-surgery side effects, you vomited every step of the way to recovery, the nurses and the staff insisted in numerous occasions that you need to eat foods that will help you with those conditions and to recover faster, which you emphatically rejected. Simple samples like water and teas… -boldo tea: biliary digestic tonic, value for problems of hepatic origin, colitis, colic, stones, liver and face spots. -digestivan tea, indicated in cases of indigestion flatulence, colic, inflammatory states of gastrointestinal tracts. And many more options given to you …and my husband and myself had to tell them daily that I needed meals high in protein as doctor´s orders… We specialized in providing healthy food for our guests, but each individual can decide what to eat even-though might not be healthy on their present conditions, like the multiple occasions you rejected the healthy meals and ask for fatty and fried foods. As a matter of fact, your doctor recommended fiber which it was imperative that you mixed that protein with foods that will assist you ¨¨in controling your intestinal functions¨¨. Do not forget that after a surgery (during the recovery time in general), those intestinal functions loose dynamics & you have to keep in mind, that a regular person (no surgeries) takes approximately 5 to 6 days to process meat and foods with excessive amount of proteins, added to the fact that your rejected all other sources of good fiber and carbohydrates that will not help you on your recovery... …They charged us for everything from Sprite to Ensure… We supply drinks that are healthy (usually made with fresh ingredients like fruits), that will help you on a faster recovery after a surgery. Most nutritionists will agree that sodas are not part of it, and definitely the carbonated drinks are even prohibited for healthy people in normal conditions because of their highly sugar content. We don´t provide those items, so we do have to charge for them, since they are personally requested by the guests. The Ensure was bought specially for you, as a prescription by the doctor, we do not pay for prescriptions either. We made several trips to the store for your special requests, like sprite, but you only got charged for the cost of the items. As a matter of fact, all the hotels around the world that have a minibar inside the room, and you consume any of those items, you will have to pay for those too. …although they advertise special diets will be accommodated with no extra charge… Our website does specify that special diets will be accommodated- AT NO EXTRA CHARGE ¨¨ but also it mentioned to **PLEASE ASK¨¨, for example,,, gluten free diets required an additional $50+ daily, because here in Costa Rica those items are lot more expensive than in the USA. Actually, we have had those guests that required those diets and they have to pay $12 a loaf of bread here. …They also use Uber to transport guests back and forth from appointments which could be a liability… The Uber drivers have also additional insurance for your safety, in the USA, Europe, China and all over the world. …They also ask for all money up front and will not refund if you leave early… In your case, this does not apply, you only paid the week stay, even though you reserved for 2 weeks, you left a week before without an additional amount collected from you. Please remember that this hotel is a surgery retreat which implies long stays for our guests, if you check similar properties they do not refund a single penny, our policy is the refund of 50% of the unused nights …Overall my experience was not a positive one there… We apologize we didn´t meet your standards but we are here to assist you on a speedy recovery, and we went over board to please you on your requests. …The TV only has 3 English channels and all together I found it very depressing… The tv´s have different programming (SAP) that can help you convert languages on the different countries and our staff did it for you many times. …There were probably 20 rooms open and the owner never offered to put us in a larger room because the room we had was very small and barley had walking around room… In fact and in the numerous emails with you, you wanted a bigger room, we were honest enough to explained that as a requirement for the type of procedure you were having (like different positions post-surgery), you did not need to pay an additional $36 per night plus taxes for a bigger room, because you needed a standard with a hospital bed. So, we did not charge you for a bigger room… Instead, we offered a bigger room after you were feeling better, but you did not accept it, because you did not wanted to pay the difference . Actually you respond ¨we are fine¨ …Think twice before booking… Definitely, we are the best option for somebody that needs a recovery hotel with people that care for you and will go the extra mile to make sure you a well taking care of... And forget to mention... ¨¨with delicious and healthy meals, natural surroundings, on the dead-end street, close to most Clinics and Hospitals¨¨ What can I say… We are the THE CITY HOTEL BUT AWAY FROM IT ALL
Read more
I stayed here once in January and again in May while getting dental work done. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the meals are delicious. Excellent place to recover after any kind of procedure, dental or surgical.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$41 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing