We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Traveler (166)
Dining (54)
Room & Suite (42)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. Among our services, our clients' can enjoy of free transportation from the airport to the hotel under request and reservation and free breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Casino and Gambling
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
508Reviews
259Photos
29Q+A
43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 190
  • 166
  • 97
  • 29
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Never again am I booking this hotel. Arrived late and tired after a long trip to be lied to! They told me they made reservations at another hotel because a pipe broke. YEAHHH RIGHT! A friend of mine with 15 yrs exp. in the hotel industry has told me they make up these pipe
Read more
Response from Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Andi We are sorry there was some misinformation with your reservation at our front desk we are truly sorry this happened. The satisfaction of all our clients is very important to us and we were remodeling the day you were checking in, therefore we had several rooms blocked and unusable, is the main reason we decided to book in another hotel, always thinking on your satisfaction. Our staff probably could not explain in detail what happened but please know we take very seriously the service we give our guests and will always do our best to not have their stays affected. Best regards
Read more
I would recommend a stay at Palma Real for anyone visiting San Jose. We found it suitable for couples or familia with bambinos. Makes a great homebase for visiting the country in general as it is convenient to the airport with multiple options for transport available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Phillip Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, we are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay and that we fulfilled your expectations. Best regards
Read more
The hotel in general is good: food, location, service. But the room walls probably are made from paper. We came here just for a night and we Couldn’t sleep all night, because We could hear every single word of our neighbors and they wasn’t even shouting or something. Looked like
Read more
Response from Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Responded Dec 28, 2018
Dear guest We are sorry there were problems with the room assigned. We have forwarded your comments to our operations department who will check based on your report and work to correct this inmediately. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again and correct whatever was wrong during the previews visit. Best regards
Read more
This property is a bit dated. It is relatively clean but the bathrooms are old and hallway carpeting needs changing. The rooms have laminate flooring and the beds are comfortable. You can hear guests through the walls and if you are on the 2nd floor, make sure there isn’t an
Read more
Response from Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Responded Dec 12, 2018
Dear Liza Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your visit to San Jose. We are glad you had a good stay but a little sorry there were some issues while staying with us. We have taken note of all your observations and will be taking immediate actions to correct this for future clients' Thank you for your honest review and we would love to serve you again and correct whatever was wrong during your previews visit.
Read more
+7
I had read some of the negative reviews and decided to go anyway. Upon arriving we were early for the check in time, the staff allowed us to check in early and informed us of all the amenities. We had done our research about the market located in the central part of town which
Read more
Response from Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Responded Oct 31, 2018
Dear guest Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you while visiting Costa Rica. We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our staff was key to making this happen. At our hotel we focus on making the stays of our guests something special, we pay attention to detail and do our best to offer the best service and quality. Reading reviews like this one is very comforting, tells us we are doing something right and that it is reflected in our clients. Thank you for taking the time and sharing details of your stay. Best regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerDining Room & SuiteBusiness Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementPalma Real Hotel & Casino
Habitación Superior
PreviousNext
1234569
Go ahead and call the hotel, or email. They will make the arrangements for you
1 vote
I am not sure for all guest in my party were checked in ahead of time and paid for, but you can always do a request at time of booking as well as call front desk whom are more than happy to answer any of your questions.
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes you can walk to the local stores and restaurants :D
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"Don’t overlook the main street"
"no matter what side you're on it's always quiet all day except during breakfast"
"To avoid noise, do no pick a joint room."
"I was on the upper floor, very quiet and darkening drapes, wood floor and very comfortable bed."
"choose wing at right side of the hotel"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo palma real hotel san josebarcelo san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing