We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Costa Rica Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Costa Rica Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Costa Rica Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Had a private room and it was basic but clean and tidy. There are shared bathrooms which were also pretty clean and price is what you get really. Also have a restaurant and pool on site which is handy and an airport shuttle! Staff were friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridgetmcc
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hostel! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you had a great time in Costa Rica.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed March 19, 2015

My friends and I stayed here last week. The staff member who checked us in was extremely rude. When we asked for blankets and sheets (which our rooms did not have) he argued and implied that we were trying to sneak people into the hostel. When we asked to speak to a manager, he repeatedly lied about her whereabouts. Wi-fi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dny4444
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Everything you say is a lie! We checked you in and give you the small dorm you asked for, we gave you bed sheets, blankets, key and lock. Later that night you came asking for more bed sheets, when our receptionist went to your room you had more people sleeping in the same room. We received complains of the other...

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Pool area is very Nice but somebody tried to rob me through the window (room 9) and the staff responded by saying this happends all the time?!? I could change beds But i think they should deal with the issue. Booked another hostel coming back to san jose

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofie-breda
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback! That does not happen all the time. We are very sorry for the excuses the staff gave you! We will make sure this won´t happen again!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed March 15, 2015

For a few nights in San Jose, this is a fine, well located hostel. And cheap if you choose the cheap dorm rooms.However some of the staff are rude and very unhelpful. You work in a hostel, in a transport town. Be nicer and helpful. We are already stressed out enough, chances are we have ripped off in San Jose,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amyd5611
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for you comments, they help us grow. We apologize sincerely for the troubles this situation caused you. We will make things right with the staff and check what it´s causing the bad service. We always have great reviews about our staff so this really sets an alarm here. Thank you so much and we hope...

Reviewed March 7, 2015

This wasn't bad at all, except for the 6 am train. The place looks great with the hammocks. The rooms are OK. People are fun out there, it's liberty. The highest price we paid in costa rica.. This is a place to stay for one night or two maximum

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
CRBackpackers, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We are really glad you liked the hostel and we are always looking to improve! Places outside San José are cheaper than the city, keep that in mind. Best regards!

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Now this place is not a bad looking hostel the kitchen, swimming pool & common areas are quite nice. The problem with this hostel is that the train that is in town passes right past this hostel all hours of the day first train starts around 4:30am - 5:00am with the horns blaring and continues all day and into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for the feedback! We are glad to hear that you liked our areas! The train passes 5 times a day: 5:30 a.m. - 9 a.m. - 12 m.d. - 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. We are really sorry about the horn but that´s out of our control. Best regards,

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

The staff are friendly. Nice pool area and nice and affordable restaurant out back. Everything was clean in our room and restrooms but the place is worn out (lobby sofas have holes on the fabric etc small details). We had a private room, which in this hostel means a bunk bed. Showers were not the best but I guess that's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenniKHel
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the feedback! It´s really helpful for us! We have new sofas in the TV room and Internet area now. We also have private rooms with a double bed, you just have to check the difference when you are booking. There is the bunk bed or double option. Best regards, CRB Staff

San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Reviewed February 17, 2015

I'm an older traveler who takes private rooms and had a great stay across the way at their companion location, Costa Rica Guesthouse but they were booked on the night I needed to so I took a private basement room in the Backpackers lodging. The room was in a dark hallway with no natural light or ventilation but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank movingaround441
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking time to review the hostel. Yes, we are full of... backpackers! We love them! We know how noisy they can get sometimes, we are always checking that they don´t get loud so people can sleep. We are glad you liked the common areas and the staff, we are trying to give our best...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is ok. The outdoor area is nice, has a pool and bar. The dorm rooms are basic, bathrooms could do with an upgrade. The wifi cut out a lot when I was there. The hostel is right next to the train tracks so its very loud most of the time including when you are trying to sleep, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
Hartland, VT
Reviewed February 6, 2015

As promised the shuttle and driver were at the airport waiting for us even though our plane was 2 hours late. Check in was easy. Private room was basic with shared bathroom. No towels or soap so bring your own or pay for extra. Well-equipped kitchen, nice garden with small pool. Out of the center of town but close enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 104 in San Jose Metro
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#5 of 79 in San Jose
202 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 79 in San Jose
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $15 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Costa Rica Backpackers staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Costa Rica Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top level room 15”
 of 5 bubbles IgnorantBrent, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“Near the front of the hostel is the best”
 of 5 bubbles Kaxiooso, Jun 8, 2016 | Read review
“Trains pass near the rear of the hostel and it's maddening.”
  • The room wasn't musty, but the mosquitos did visit regularly.
 of 5 bubbles Fotodog, Mar 30, 2016 | Read review
“Keep away from the rooms in the back, they are just by the railroad and the train does whistle in the middle of the night!”
 of 5 bubbles 414valeriem, Feb 2, 2016 | Read review
“Dorm #4 is loud”
 of 5 bubbles A4557RWrachels, Jan 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question