We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Rica Backpackers

376 reviews
Save
Traveler (106)
Pool & Beach (44)
Dining (28)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good37%
  • Average25%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“costa rica”(32 reviews)
“swimming pool”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (376)Write a Review
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
49
85
70
28
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
49
85
70
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaswimming poolwell equipped kitchenplace to staygreat poolrestaurant barla fortunapura vidalate at nightdowntown areahammocksplugsnightlifeoasistourssj
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Well managed and offers a lot. Private room was nice and new looking. Food was very good. Pool area was very pretty at night. There were other comments about it not being clean. Maybe in high season there are...More

Thank daleashton83
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review, indeed, owners have worked very hard to create this awesome place. We are more than happy to know about your good experience here!

Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

The staff was quite unfriendly apart from one woman. The bathrooms were quite dirty and old. The whole atmosphere was not very welcoming and a bit dirty. The breakfast was not very good either and the lady who handed out the breakfast was very rude...More

Thank J V
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded November 11, 2017

Our priority is the cleanliness in our hostel, we try to keep everything clean, specially de bathrooms. The breakfast is a royalty for all of our clients, but we sell more options. We provide free earplugs for reduce the noise.

Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Regardless of a laidback and friendly atmosphere amongst backpackers at this hostel, the hostel refuse to comply with the contract with bookingsites. I had a confirmed booking, but came to the reception to find out the agreed price wouldnt last. Contacted the bookingsite, but they...More

Thank Amanda O
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded November 8, 2017

Our price is the same in all the companies, there was a mistake on Expedia about the prices, but they solved it. Sorry for the inconveniences, it was not our fault.

Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The place was pretty cool and the other guests were friendly. We asked the restaurant staff if they could alter their menu slightly to suit some of our party's dietary requirements to which we were told 'no'. We came back...More

Thank James M
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded November 7, 2017

On this day, the two girls were drunk, they were bothering the cook and demanding a cheaper price on food. The manager kindly attended them and gave them some suggestions of where to go to eat according to what they were requesting, but they kept...More

Reviewed October 17, 2017

We woke up at 2am to bed bugs in our private room so we went to tell reception, who acted like we were being brats and asked what we wanted them to do about it. So I said a new room would be a start...More

Thank Lisa A
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded November 7, 2017

We fumigate our establishment every two months, it is probable that during your stay, some days before, it has been fumigated and for this it has been some dead insects.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345652
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$16 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$16 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (106)
Pool & Beach (44)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (28)
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Family and Play Areas (12)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hollie K
March 7, 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Costa Rica B | Property representative |
Hi! We have airport shuttle from the airport for $24, the cheapest in town! There is also a public bus you can take right on the sidewalk (outside the airport) The bus has this sign: T.U.A.S.A / Alajuela - San José. They... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid at all costs"
Read review
"Try to get one that is not in the basement."
Read review
"better wifi near reception"
Read review
"Top level room 15"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite