We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Girasol

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Casa Girasol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Pierre and Georgina are great people and very knowledgeable about both the tourist sites and Costa Rica as a whole. Georgina is fantastic and Pierre is good as well, as long as things are going well. Unfortunately our stay didn't go well and so we discovered a side to Pierre that I feel compelled to share. I had a friend... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason A
v b, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review

Jason we don't understand your problem, we just tried to help your boyfriend to get his luggage back from the airline, which under normal circumstances is a matter of hours. Your boyfriend went into an inexplicable panic after I proposed you denounce the airline for loss of luggage after more than 24 hours for both your security as Costa Rica... More 

Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I planed to stay here for a week but I ran away after one night , there wasn't hot water, the owner treated the guests arbitrarily and he was most of the time drunk and impatient!. The installation is neglected and very poor. The location is reasonable but there are 3-4 other hostels in the area (Sabana, Paseo Colon) and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Antoni A
tripcostarica, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review

We checked our records about this supposedly would be guest and no one under the name of Antoni A. stayed during the time mentioned, we suspect as per the format of this review that probably competition posted this one, just disregard. More 

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Arcata, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you love the strong smell of Bleach and Pall Malls, then this may be the place for you. I stayed for 2 hours and had to leave, the bathroom, the smallest i've ever seen, and quite moldy, despite the reeking smell of bleach everywhere, no cross ventilation in the room except to have the door open which wafted the... More 

Helpful?
Thank carebouttruth
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We were slightly apprehensive arriving in San Jose and we could not arrange an airport transfer through the guest house. We decided to book a transfer through a desk inside the airport and although the driver did not know where Casa Girasol was, the directions given to us when we booked we excellent and we had no trouble finding the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank gemmasnook
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

The host wrote his own description on the website that we used, and it gives bad directions. It states to turn left at the Italian Restaurant, but it's a Mexican Restaurant. We drove around for more than an hour looking for the hostel by the Italian restaurant. None of the Taxi Drivers knew where it was, and we went to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenator
tripcostarica, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review

Guests came in from the beach seemed to have consumed alcohol, checked in and said they would go for some drinks returned at 2 in the morning, we were extremely worried because they said they would check out at 4 am to go to the airport and return their rented car. Must have been bad interpretation, we do not scorn... More 

zone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

This place is a wonderful little diamond in San Jose. It is a home away from home. I have stayed there several times and prefer it to some of the finer hotels in San Jose. By way of comparison, it is easier to locate, and certainly more comfortable. and it is cleaner than the Hotel Cristina that I had stayed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hesnot4me
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

This is a wonderfull place, my daughter and I stayed there. This was our first trip to Costa Rica. Pierre, who owns the place is a great host. we arranged with him to be picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel, which was nice ($12) and worth it, arriving late. We were walcomed with wine and a... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank arty2history
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

The place is small, only 4 rooms. It is the atmosphere that makes it wonderfull the owner that makes it great. He is a fount of information and will help you in anyway he can. It is like staying with a frind rather than staying at a hotel.

Helpful?
6 Thank arty2history
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel
Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel
#57 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect home base for backpackers, independent travelers and small groups, unique in its style in San Jose. A place where you can relax, plan your excursions, talk to experienced backpackers and globe-trotters. We speak French, English, Spanish and others languages. For your comfort we have 5 spacious rooms, some with double and some with single beds. They are clean, each with a bathroom with real hot water showers. Double rooms Private en suite (private bathroom). Single rooms Private en suite (private bathroom). We are situated less than 5 minutes from bus terminals serving Costa Rica and Central America, we will be happy to assist you with schedules and directions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Girasol

Address: Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Casa Girasol Costa Rica/San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing