We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

Pros- reasonable rates, comfortable accommodations, you can cook your own food in the shared kitchen, safe, friendly owners, quiet town, clean, has a Mormon church in the town as well as several beautiful Catholic Churches, and is very close to San Jose. Cons-you will see a few cockroaches if you stay in the single room w/ private bath. However, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Yes me and my girlfriend have been fooled by the low price. Don't be, sometimes it's better to pay a bit more . We booked their transportation thinking it would be a safer way to get there and a more direct opportunity. Our flight was delayed so I sent a mail to the hostel and he replied everything was alright.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrien C
costaricalovehostel, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review

1. We do not lie on price, we are the lowest rate in Costa Rica. 2 if you want to pay more to offend the staff and and no one say anything ... then you should pay a lot more for a hotel to give the reason for your offenses, not here! 3 we are not responsible for cancellations or... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

This was an awesome first place to stay or our first couple nights in Costa Rica. We're backpackers from Canada and we wanted to stay somewhere cheap and secure which was exactly what we got here. There's local supermarkets to buy food to make meals and such in the kitchen and there's a shower I recommend this for anyone who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Breanna K
Tunapuna, Trinidad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

It is not in San José, it is in Santo Domingo de Heredia, close but not the same city. Still, they offer good tours around the area and outside the area, and it is a good place to stay and rest before travelling to other areas of Costa Rica. It felt very safe.

Helpful?
Thank Caramela1983
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Manfred is awesome, be sure to take a tour with him! Everyone was nice, free coffee & pancakes, loved the upstairs terrace. Free wifi. Priced very economically. Overall well worth it. Kitchen needs attention.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BohemianJen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and did a trip the next day with Manfred which was very intimate , around the volcano and was half the price of the other excursions. For the sports enthusiasts there is a free sports centre around the corner. Very reasonable, lovely staff and exactly what I was looking for. I highly recommend a stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This hostel is not really in San Jose city centre but outside in a safe residential area. The area has everything you would need: supermarkets, restaurants, a park etc. The hoste itself is fine. We had a private room and the bed wasn't really a bed, more of a mattress on the floor. Breakfast is included and is very yummy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
Punta Islita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 via mobile

Nice hostel, the staff are great, super friendly and helpful :) But can someone PLEASE PLEASE clean the turtle's tank?! It's green and slimy and filthy, you can't even see through the water, it's cruel to keep an animal in that condition :(

Helpful?
Thank AngharadRhiannon
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This hostel is a house made up hostel, and some rooms used to be closets or terrace, so it depends if how lucky you when the onwer assign the room for you . I was upgrated to single room " to hide out my snor " and then rejected to stay at hostel after.

Helpful?
Thank jlplaza21
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

First off: I paid $6 (SIX DOLLARS) for a dorm bed at this strangely named hostel, which btw is not in San Jose but in Santo Domingo de Heredia, a 20-minute bus ride north of San Jose. And second, despite the funny name, it's just a name, and there is no more free love here than anywhere else in Costa... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl K
costaricalovehostel, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review

hello karl tahnks for the review... we had a nice time ;) remamber heredia is located 10 min nothwest from the hostel and we are located 10-15 min north from the central avenue ;) santo domngo no heredia ;) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 71 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 71 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aldea Hostel San Jose
Aldea Hostel San Jose
#6 of 71 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Urbano
Hostel Urbano
#2 of 71 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Van Gogh
Hostel Van Gogh
#7 of 71 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
costa rica love is the best option for backpackers in costa rica, cheap rates, clean rooms, breakfast ,coffe , tee, wi-fi connection free , big tv, terrace and special rates for tours.take your time and visit us...safe money, enjoy the safest area of costa rica, full of nature,rivers, the rain forest just 20min or tucan rescues sloths, coffe tous and many morewe have share dorms, privates rooms with share and privates bathroomsdicouver why people always come back 2,3,4 and many more times ;) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms

Address: Santo Domingo Polideportivo 150 Meters East, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $13 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Love Apartments & Rooms San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay