We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cocoon Hotel

Hotels.com$41*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cocoon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2016

The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was ok: you can choose if you prefer cereal and fruit or the typical breakfast "gallo pinto". The staff was friendly and helpful. Perfect location, near the center and Alfaro bus station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zelen79
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks so much for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at Cocoon and found it to be conveniently located. We hope to see you again! Warmly, The Team at Cocoon

Riverside, California
Reviewed May 5, 2016

We stayed at Cocoon our first night in Costa Rica and then again for 2 nights on our way out of the country. The price was right, the rooms were comfortable and the hotel was located right in the center of everything so we were able to do some souvenir shopping and see a lot of San Jose before we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank derkdiggler1985
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thanks so much for taking a moment to leave us a great review. We remember you guys and very much enjoyed having you with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Costa Rica as much as you did your time in San Jose. Looking forward to seeing you again one day- Warmly, The Team...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed May 4, 2016

We live in Costa Rica and sometimes go into San Jose to do some shopping and see friends. We always stay at Cocoon. The people are great there, the rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable, the food is good in the restaurant and most of all, its affordable and centrally located. I'd recommend it every time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trina A
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We always enjoy having you and your family and look forward to seeing you guys next time! Warmly, The Team at Shana

New Minas, Canada
Reviewed April 29, 2016

This hotel is newly renovated and is centrally located in the city of San Jose. The breakfast is included in the pricing and was very good - traditional Costa Rica food. The staff were very helpful with questions that were asked and assisted us as best they could. A short walk will take you to the heart of the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda G
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and pleased that you noticed the renovations and efforts we've made just recently to make Cocoon better and better. We hope to see you again soon! Warmly, The Team at Cocoon.

Reviewed April 25, 2016

We stayed at Cocoon Hotel for one night - and that was clearly enough. The entrance was really nice and very clean. The staff was very friendly.The breakfast we had the next morning was good. Then we entered our room. This was quite shocking. The bed sheets were dirty. Moreover there was mold everywhere and we really did not want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karsten S
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave a review. We are so sorry that you had a less than stellar experience with your room and will address the situation with housekeeping immediately. Unfortunately, given the tropical climate of Costa Rica, mold is a constant battle. Still, it is one that should be kept at bay and it...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Nice hotel at a very reasonable price (season 55, non 20 and that too AC) in the heart of the city. The hotel is very safe and clean etc. No crazy stuff happening here. I see lots of french, german and other nationalities staying here. Clean Rooms, wifi works except for the 2nd floor one. They really need to fix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niren N
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate the constructive feedback and will make every effort to address any concerns at hand. Wishing you safe and memorable travels during your time in Costa Rica. Warmly, The Team at Cocoon

Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

We have been many Times in Cocon, this time we are more happy and surprised from the changes made with the bar restaurant and the rooms. Everything looks great and for what we payed, we are really greatful. If you need a not expensive hotel with correct service and a good breakfast included in the Center of San Jose, do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaJH
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us! We were happy to see you back again and pleased to know that you noticed and appreciated the improvements we have been working hard to make these last several months. We look forward to seeing you guys again soon! Warmly, The Team at Cocoon

Ventimiglia, Italian Riviera
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Considering the price , if your priority is the nearness to the bus terminal , this is the ideal place to stay. Reasonably comfortable, average signal wifi , acceptably good breakfast, rather good service and staff. Certainly don't expect this stay to be a landmark in your life souvenirs..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pier G
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay and hope to see you again one day. Warmly, The Team at Cocoon

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed April 20, 2016

I stayed at this hotel for four days in February, my husband came earlier and stayed eight. The room we got must have been the worst in the hotel. The view from the window was of some kind of chute with a lid on top, so almost no light and no air came in. The room had inadequate lighting, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pipsano
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review on Tripadvisor. We always welcome the chance to improve. As you pointed out, you could have asked us to change your room and we would have been more than happy to do it; we never like to see a guest leave unhappy. I'll pass along your comments to housekeeping and we'll strive...

Kempten, Germany
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

I was october last year in Cocoon, and this time i adviced my friends from Panama who are travelling with me to Costa Rica to book Cocoon as i was very satisfied. The welcome was perfect, the manager was waiting for us and he gave us nice rooms. We could have a meeting room where we could do our work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanzbeer
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We were pleased to see you again and look forward to seeing you next time... We appreciate the recommendation and hope the rest of your travels were as enjoyable as your time in San Jose. Warmly, The Team at Cocoon

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

259 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
Superior (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 84 in San Jose
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#41 of 84 in San Jose
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#33 of 84 in San Jose
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
3.6 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 84 in San Jose
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of San Jose, Cocoon Hotel comprises a unique experience of relaxation and comfort in a pleasant atmosphere. Our guests enjoy a combination of exceptional service, good price and quality facilities. It is a great place for business trips, or a quick stay to see everything the city has to offer before exploring the country. Cocoon Hotel is located walking distance from the most important sites in San Jose, such as The National Museum (6 min.), The National Theater (3 min.) And The Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (4 min.); Also very close to the major bus stations of San Jose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cocoon Hotel

Address: Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $49 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cocoon Hotel staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Cocoon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“second and third floors”
ric0b, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“If money is not an issue, try to get private bathrooms.”
Dori_Yn, Mar 12, 2017 | Read review
“Choose one with AC, Most of the room just have a Fan.”
633fernandog, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“No particular room to suggest ”
Mdegerman, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Close to the Caribbeano Bus station, if your going in that direction.”
239vincents, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$41* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$67
Priceline$44
Booking.com$44
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates