We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Kaps Place

Traveler (74)
Dining (79)
Room & Suite (42)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. We also offer: Free Special Breakfast Buffet Free maps and tourist information Free fresh linens Free luggage storage Free Wifi internet and PC's with internet unlimited Free Parking Free table games (pool , pingpong & fussball) Kitchen facilities Free DVD movies/hometheater Book Exchange Hot showers Reception 24/7 And more…. In addition (optional & for extra fee) Laundry Service Airport Shuttle – Private service 24/7 Free International & local phone calls Tours Booking Car rental Bottled water, juice, beer and sodas for sale Discounted tours Spanish, dance, yoga & cooking lessons Massage &beauty in-house service Medical & post surgery recovery assistance Extra info Just 12 minutes walking distance from San Jose downtown Supermarkets, bars, restaurants, hospital, clinics, around the hotel Breakfast & taxes are included in the rate Front desk 24/7 Check in: 2:00 PM (if the room you booked is clean and available when you get here, you can check in) Check-Out: 12:00 MD (you can leave your bags in our luggage Room and pick it up later on) We offer anything you need during your stay. Kaps Place is Your home away from home "Su Casa en San Jose" PURA VIDA!!!
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
326Reviews
393Photos
9Q+A
35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 188
  • 91
  • 22
  • 14
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I am part of a mission team that spends a few nights here every Jan before we go tho the mountains, and the hosts at Kaps Place are always gracious and kind! The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed! We will be back!
Read more
Response from Karolinabv, General Manager at Hotel Kaps Place
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest: Thank you for sharing with us and TripAdvisor users your lodging experience at Kaps Place Hotel. We are always aware of providing a warmth and efficient service. We’ll continue improving our service and trying always to please all our guests. From all of us thank you very much. We look forward to having you as our guest in the very near future. Thank you very much for your Mission, we love you all. Muchas gracias! Pura Vida!!!
Read more
I stayed at Kaps Place for a month in August-September, 2018. The contract I signed specifically stated: "We require a security deposit of US $200 in cash to cover lost or damaged items." Even though there were no "lost or damaged items" involved and no "disrespect of
Read more
Response from Karolinabv, Owner at Hotel Kaps Place
Responded Nov 23, 2018
Dear Guest, I hope you are doing well. I can’t put your name and what you really deserved because Trip Advisor support team don’t allow me... I will explain with details to all our customers this situation: - You was our customer since last year. - You spent 1 month last year, the monthly rate package is $600, but you said you will come for 2 or more months so I gave you an special rate for $500 per month, at the end of the month you told us you need to flight back US because you had a personal issue, I said ok and we return the deposit. - This year, you came one month from April 27th to May 27th, and you made the same strategy, you said at the check in you will be more than 3 months to have the special monthly rate for $500 and at the end of the month you said same thing you have to go back because you have a doctor appointment and we also gave you the deposit back. - Then, you sent an email on July, saying us that you coming back on August 07th, to stay with us almost a year, so, we replied to you that: According to our policies we can’t give you a special monthly rate of $500 for just one month, the rate is $600, you said this time is true you suppose coming to staying long term with us, so we told you that in case that you stay just one month we will take $100 from your deposit (all this was by email before you arrived). - At your check in, the receptionist José Luis, also explained you and made sure you understand and respect our rate. You was agree. - On September 5th, you said same thing that you have a doctor appointment and you have to go back to US, so we told you Mr. Landers you can go but remember we will keep $100 for your deposit to complete the monthly payment. And you was agree. Our system was blocked for 3 months, so we were loosing reservations. - Also, you asked for an extra night, because your month finish on September 07th, and your flight was for September 08th, the regular rate is $50 per night and you was agree, and then you also asked for a private transportation to the airport, the cost was $30, and you said take it from the deposit. That’s why at your check out on September 08th, we returned to you only $20. People like you think that you can travel and take advantage of people, you also, was angry because we don’t allow you to bring a prostitute to our hotel and you told to our night shift you will make a bad review on trip advisor... But my conscience is clear, and also, you know why some bad reviews are against directly to me, because they were also people like you trying to take advantage of a business woman and when realized they can’t, they got mad as you and the revenge is always “make a bad review on trip advisor”. Remember how Karma works Mr..... Can’t wait to read Part 2 of your feedback... maybe is coming with the reason of why you sill owe me a laundry service? Pura vida!
Read more
This was my second time staying at Kaps place. I came back because of the nice experience I had last year. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff is always there to help you and they have a great restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast is huge, great choice of
Read more
Response from Karolinabv, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place
Responded Nov 26, 2017
Dear Iris M, Thank you very much for this amazing review and for your loyalty, it was a really pleasure to have you again with us! Thank you very much once again for sharing it with us and TripAdvisor users. We are looking forward to seeing you soon! Muchas gracias :) Pura Vida!!!
Read more
Kaps place gave us an amazing service, we were 19 people coming from Colombia, Las Vegas and Miami for my brother’s wedding ... since the first moment Karolina was very helpful and took the moment to understand our needs as guests. The place is full of color and details. All
Read more
Response from Karolinabv, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place
Responded Nov 26, 2017
Dear Angela M: Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderfull review on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of meeting your needs in an efficient and warmth way. We will continue working hard. We hope you come back to Costa Rica and Kaps Place in the very near future. Pura Vida!!! Muchas gracias!
Read more
Just completed my fourth visit at Hotel Kaps Place and it just keeps improving. Karolina and her staff continue to exceed expectations. The freshly made breakfast has lots of options. The new chef, Wendy, is fantastic with her homemade creations. In addition to breakfast, we
Read more
Response from Karolinabv, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place
Responded Nov 26, 2017
Dear Angie550: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kaps Place Hotel. We do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We will keep working for improving our services for making your next visit and future customers a memorable experience. Thank you so much for this great comment of us and we can't wait to have you and your amazing group with us again next January 2018. From all of us thank you very much. See you soon :) Muchas gracias! Pura Vida!!!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerDining Room & SuiteFamily and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHotel Kaps Place
CHALET # 3 - SUITE
Good shower
Clean bathroom, hot water :)
Our room
Annex 6 bathroom
PreviousNext
1234569
They have a variety of rooms available, many with private bathrooms (we stayed in a suit with 2 bedrooms and on bathroom) but some are hostel-style with shared bathrooms. It's is not near any beach it is in San Jose.
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Steve! I hope you are doing great. Of course, we’ll arrange the pick up transportation from the airport, the cost is $30 and we just need your flight information and you will see our driver with our sign at the main exit door. We look forward to meeting you on the 04th! Best regards!
0 votes
Show all answers
Free Breakfast??
Hello Steve, Yes, we offer FREE BREAKFAST BUFFET. We hope to meeting you soon.
1 vote
do you have Air conditioner?
Hello! I hope you are doing great. No, we don't have air conditioner, just fan. In San Jose the weather is cool, chill and windy the most of the time so the AC is not necessary. The highest temperature is 23-24 and during the night around 18. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Pura Vida. Muchas gracias. Best regards, Karolina Bermudez
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Quietest rooms are probably in the annex"
"Ask to see all rooms available as soom have windows olny to the interior of the main building or by the restaurant."
"the annex is great if you like quiet"
"Less expensive rooms are in the Annex but the main building is probably better."
"There is no elevator; so ask for a room downstairs if you don't want to climb withyour luggage."
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kap`s place hotel san josekaps place san josekaps place hotel san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing