We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fleur de Lys

Traveler (181)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)

About

#35 of 80 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Hotel Fleur de Lys, your San Jose “home away from home.” Hotel Fleur de Lys aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. Nearby landmarks such as Iglesia de la Merced (0.1 mi) and Plaza de la Cultura (0.3 mi) make Hotel Fleur de Lys a great place to stay when visiting San Jose. Rooms at Hotel Fleur de Lys offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Hotel Fleur de Lys, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out one of San Jose's popular ribs restaurants such as Tin Jo, Tierra Gaucha Parrilla Argentina, and JR Ribs, all a short distance from Hotel Fleur de Lys. If you’re looking for something to do, Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.3 mi), Precolumbian Gold Museum (0.3 mi), and Mercado Nacional de Artesanías (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Hotel Fleur de Lys. Hotel Fleur de Lys puts the best of San Jose at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
574Reviews
13Q+A
45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 165
  • 253
  • 106
  • 28
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Having stayed at this hotel several times in the past, I was shocked by the rude and palpably homophobic attitude of front desk employees. I can overlook the train noise and lack of AC, and have always enjoyed the character of the building, but Fleur de Lys has a serious problem
Read more
Response from Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Client, Our hotel is totally open to GLTB customers and for our team every customer is important. I would like to have specific information to be able to follow up this case and be able to act in this matter. Please, feel free to send me an email to administracion@hotelfleurdelys.com
Read more
Treating guests properly should be priority no matter what kind of hotel one is staying over for a vacation especially when it's their first time visiting the city. It improves the guest’s experience and if treated fairly guests will recommend it to circle of friends and family.
Read more
Response from Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Customer, first of all I regret very much that you perceived a bad treatment of ours, since our mission of being is the please accept our sincere apologies for this. Indeed, our services are for registered guests and this includes parking, we do not offer free parking for visitors of our guests, since being a small hotel in downtown San Jose, spaces are limited to guest. The situation was close to midnight and for security and legal reasons, only register guest can enter in rooms. Since your friend wanted to enter into your room near midnight and request free parking for him as well unfortunately the manager was not on the property to check parking availability and try to make an exception with the parking. The hotel offers around six living rooms very private, besides the restaurant and cafeteria area where guest can receive visitors not register in the rooms as guest. We do not know of any hotel that allow not register visitors in rooms after midnight, we suggest verifying if this is allow in the rest of hotels you will be staying. If we can welcome you again and have previous notice of your special request, the manager in person will make sure to assist you and avoid you face this misunderstanding. Thank you for taking the time of sharing your comment.
Read more
The decoration of the hotel is very oldschool but it makes it quite charming. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. We had a problem with the water in our room, but the staff offered a room to get a shower, they were very helpful and kind, it was difficult to
Read more
Response from Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys
Responded Apr 4, 2019
Dear customer, thank you very much to write abut your experience in our hotel. Our premises have a Victorian ambience with some native artwork that keep on mind the culture of our country. Unfortunately, San José faced some water problems during some days, and this affected the pressure in our tubs. I regret you had to experience this occasional inconvenient. The hotel is located at the middle of the city, for this reason it is common to hear some night noises. We are renovating rooms and some of them are more silent. One more time, thank you for sharing your opinion.
Read more
Perfect hotel for a stay in San Jose. A Victorian mansion that is very clean and maintained. Delicious complete breakfast included and quaint outside bar. The staff is most friendly and accommodating! Daniel and Yendry we’re especially helpful in every way to insure we had a
Read more
Response from Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys
Responded Mar 18, 2019
Dear Customer, thank you very much for getting time to write about your experience in our hotel. I am glad you have enjoyed our typical breakfast which includes seasoning fruit, Costa Rican gallo pinto, scramble eggs, cereal, bread and yogurt. Our staff is always available to serve our clients. As you mention, our location is very appreciated for the customers because it is in the middle of the city. Thank you one more time and hope to have you again as guest in a near future.
Read more
I had stayed here before in 2013 so I made a reservation again for my stay in Feb 2019. The check in process was smooth and they allowed me to store my luggage until the room was available at 3 p.m. I like the hotel since it is located in a central area of San Jose, even though
Read more
Response from Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys
Responded Feb 26, 2019
Dear customer, thank you very much for your comment. I am glad you have chosen stayed with us in a second opportunity. Indeed, we allow to safe the luggage in our storage room meanwhile the room is ready if clients arrive early. The location of our hotel is privileged because it is at the middle of the city, so it is very easy to find out taxis or uber Is common hotels quickly checked the room before customers leaves to be sure there is not any belonging forgotten, last minute mini bar consumptions and everything remains in good state. I apologize if that information was not clear during the process and we will take your kind comment to improve the informative process. Looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$49 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fleur de lys hotelfleur de lys san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing