We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Show Prices
#17 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 384: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed due to a cancelled BA flight, so whether I'd recommend this to others would depend very much on the price and where I was going to next. This is towards San Jose city from the airport, and despite being close by distance it took around 40 minutes to get here because the traffic is terrible (the hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank senaUk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just left the hotel this morning. The public facilities such as restaurants, lobby area and swimming pool seems to look okay. But rooms...it was big, a lot of space, couple of tables and even coffee station and an iron (for what?!). But where is the hot water in a shower?! This is very important thing for me. And even if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoriabR6368IO
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear victoriabR6368lO, thanks for sharing your review about your stay with us. It is very important for us that our guests are always comfortable and satisfied during all the time they stay with us so we are very sorry about the inconvenience you experienced with the hote water; please accept our most sincere apologies for it. We assure you that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went here with my gf, the attention was good, the room had a TV, a bathtub, a little coffee maker and the bed was comfortable. The hotel has a swimming pool and a lot of restaurants nearby. Even that the experience was good, for a couple it's not really a great place, there are another ones a lot better,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luis Alfredo M
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Luis Alfredo M, thanks for sharing your review about your stay with us. We are glad that you and your girlfriend had a pleasant and comfortable stay because there is nothing we want more than to see our guests completely satisfied. We are a little disappointed we were not able to be up to your expectatiations so we would...

Salt Lake City
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delta put up our family here due to a canceled flight back to the States. The hotel had a very pretty pool area, clean and updated rooms, and two restaurants. There is a Denny's restaurant and a bar called Sangria for food options. I would stay here again if I had to . . .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stroller_Snob
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Stroller_Snob, thank you so much for sharing your nice comments. We are truly sorry that your flight was cancelled, but on the other hand, we are glad that you got to stay with us, if only for a night so you could experience our hotel and the services we offer and provide. We are delighted that you found the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very nice. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent. The rooms are a bit small and smell old like dust and will give you an instant headache. The wifi is absolutely horrible if your room is on the far end of the hotel. I definitely recommend the hotel but if you plan to use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dylan H
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Dylan H, thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Our utmost desire is to provide our guests with very comfortable accommodations and excellent services so that they can be totally satisfied during their time here with us. We are very sorry about the inconveniences you experienced and we ask you to please accept our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel. Nice pool and outdoor hot tub. Decent gym. Don't eat at Denny's (overpriced and not worth it) but the sangria restaurant and the casino both have good food. The rooms are ok, not a fan of the carpet or the fact that there's no fridge in the room but overall room is clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Staciechiquita
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Staciechiquita, thank you for posting your comments. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel because we really strive to provide our guests with all the comforts and with all the services they deserve and expect. We are sorry for not having a mini fridge in the room but if you had informed our...

Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have heard of folks getting great prices here and ours was pretty darn good too. Loved having coffee in room; great bed, pillows, sheets and towels; large soap and shampoo dispensers with hair dryer is a must. Location was our biggest thing and we were close too all things big and small. Breakfast and cocktail tickets were a bonus as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debitthompson
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Debitthompson, thank you so much for sharing your nice and detailed review. It makes us very happy that your stay was such a success because there is nothing more important to us than our guests' complete satisfaction. We are truly committed to our guests, providing them with very comfortable accommodations, excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast options, the welcome...

Reviewed October 24, 2016

If this facility is close to your area of action in San Jose, don't hesitate. Location is particularly relevant in San Jose, as traffic there is one of the worst in Latin America. I guess this is due to the very old street system they have there. Trust me on this one. Best Western Irazu is an old facility, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louie G
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Louie G, thank you for posting your comments about your stay with us. We are happy that you had a very pleasant stay because our guests' comfort and satisfaction a really important to us. We strive to provide our guests with very comfortable accommodations and excellent and practical services so that they can see our hotel as their home...

Pinole, United States
Reviewed October 16, 2016

This hotel is in a great location. Was very clean and comfortable. Casino on lower level was great also. The only complaint I had was being awaken at 6am by a marching band playing loudly in the courtyard for 30 minutes. Hotel should have alerted guests so to not be startled at that early hour. Otherwise the hotel is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Denise T, thanks for sharing your superb review. It makes very happy knowing how much you liked staying in our hotel, finding it clean and comfortable because nothing is more important to us than our guests' complete satisfaction. We are truly sorry about the inconvenient you experienced with the marching band, please accept our most sincere apologies for it....

Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

Very nice property , the staff is very friendly , Jesus Mendoza and Audrey at the front desk made us feel at home and they resolved any issues with a smile . Overall this hotel is in a good location , secure there is always a staff member walking around the premises which gives you a sense of security ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Cinthia S, thank you for posting your marvelous comments. We are totally thrilled that your stay was so comfortable and pleasant because there is nothing we want more than making our guests feel comfortable and right at home. We want our guests to know we are completely committed to their satisfaction so we make sure that they are always...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

455 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Accessible Premier Room (26)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Premier Plus Room (25)
Viewed
Premier Room (23)
Viewed
Premier Room (New) (23)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
727 reviews
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
2,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 84 in San Jose
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
853 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $84 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Call and ask for monthly specials they have now and again.”
 of 5 bubbles Debitthompson, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a room in the upper floors. Bugs and other insects have an easy way to the lower floors rooms and San Jose is in mid rainforest area.”
 of 5 bubbles louieg320, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Room with Pool view”
 of 5 bubbles giovanaaviles, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the centre open air space to avoid traffic sites and sounds.”
 of 5 bubbles Wewilling7, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a 4th floor room, which faces either the pool or the city/mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles Alonso64, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay