We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida 2 Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (49)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)

About

#3 of 122 Specialty lodging in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Turkish
240Reviews4Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 71
  • 32
  • 21
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
fumanchu1968 wrote a review Nov 2019
Playa Camaronal, Costa Rica9 contributions1 helpful vote
I’ve been living in Costa Rica on the coast for 18 years now and for the past five years when I go to San Jose I stay at Hostel Aldea. I find that it is extremely comfortable and the staff is super friendly. It’s like staying at home. The restaurant is also excellent. I recommend this place for backpackers and for people who are looking for a nice quiet and comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Jane M wrote a review Aug 2019
Oxford, United Kingdom189 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
We took a group of 15 to Aldea Hostel at the end of a three week trip. It was the best hostel we visited in Costa Rica. Comfortable beds, warm showers and a great atmosphere. Lots of hang out areas, well equipped kitchen area and coffee on tap! The situation is very central, easy walk to shops and restaurants. Really great service, could not recommend enough. Curfew is 11pm. A really beautifully decorated, interesting building. Clean everywhere, rooms and communal areas. Outside space too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from hars_12, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose
Responded Sep 4, 2019
Thank you for the review, Jane! It was a pleasure having your group stay at Aldea! We are proud to be called the best hostel in Costa Rica, and we take great pride in providing clean and comfortable lodgings, efficient amenities and the quintessential ¨Pura Vida¨ atmosphere! Aldea Hostel is our pride and joy, and the spirit of the house is enlivened by the adventurers passing through! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you soon! Ser you soon!
Read more
akebonolove wrote a review Jan 2019
Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo, Japan20 contributions8 helpful votes
The place is dirty and very noisy (window cannot be fully closed) in a terrible location (think homeless and drug addicts) with a manager who clearly has given up. I got an expensive private room where the shower a) didnt work properly and b) had wires exposed. As I didnt want to electrocute myself I asked staff to fix it. Their Turkish manager never bothered to even talk to me until his staff had given up trying to fix the problem. There was coffee in the morning but no cups no cream and no sugar which echos exactly how uninviting the whole place is - stay away!! 場所は明らかにあきらめているマネージャーと一緒にひどい場所(ホームレスと麻薬中毒者と思う)で汚れていて非常に騒々しい(ウィンドウを完全に閉じることができない)。 私はシャワーがa)正しく機能せず、b)ワイヤーが露出している高価な個室を手に入れました。 私は自分自身を感電消毒したくなかったので、私はそれを修正するようにスタッフに依頼しました。 彼のスタッフが問題を解決しようとすることをあきらめるまで彼らのトルコ人のマネージャーは私に話すことさえ煩わさなかった。 午前中はコーヒーがありましたが、カップもクリームも砂糖もありませんでした。
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Dont ever come here!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from hars_12, Public Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose
Responded Feb 6, 2019
Hello, we're sorry you were not satisfied with your stay at Aldea. First of all, please kindly understand that San Jose is the capital city of Costa Rica so naturally it will be be sometimes noisy at night, that is beyond our control. Secondly, we are sorry you did not like the location. Many of our guests find Aldea to be in a very safe neighborhood and are quite comfortable not just in our hostel but in the surrounding area and very seldom do they report issues with the locals. As for our manager, we recall that he was quite willing to help address the situation you brought to our attention, but stepped away as soon as you quite aggressively informed him that any further attempts to help would escalate the situation. Naturally, he stepped aside lest your threats manifest themselves Lastly, if we recall correctly, the issues you brought to the attention of our staff were eventually resolved in your favor yet you still continued to berate our staff. While we understand it can be frustrating when service at a hotel, restaraunt, etc. does not meet expectations, it seems quite futile to us to continue creating problems once the issues at hand have been resolved. Regardless, you are always welcome back at Aldea, we would just please ask that next time you come in the true spirit of pura vida and have a more cooperative attitude when dealing with our staff here and wherever else your travels may take you. Safe travels and pura vida!
Read more
Lisa wrote a review Jan 2019
47 contributions11 helpful votes
We chose Aldea as it was close to where we were picking up our rental car. It is great value for money especially with a yummy breakfast of pancakes and fresh fruit included. Being able to watch a Netflix movie in the lounge was an added bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from hars_12, Propietario at Aldea San Jose
Responded Jan 29, 2019
We are glad you enjoyed yourself here! Here at Aldea we pride ourselves on offering our guests a good, central location in the city of San Jose along with a nice place to eat both breakfast and dinner (we are glad you enjoyed The Corner Pizzeria!) and a spot to watch a movie or two all for a reasonable price. We hope if your travels ever bring you back to San Jose you will consider stopping by again, as our doors are always open to you! Safe travels and pura vida!
Read more
Jody G wrote a review Jan 2019
Toronto, Canada229 contributions33 helpful votes
My room did have a large private bathroom, but with missing windows it was so loud sleep was impossible 4 nights out of 7. The house is very old so voices carry throughout the place. The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor, with lumpy empty pillows. No housekeeping during the 7 nights. Moldy counter in the bathroom. The area in town has only crappy fast food outlets from North America. I don't eat any of it, so had long treks for something decent to eat. Bad breakfasts not good coffee. Will stay in another part of town next time I go to San Jose
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: choose a different place all together, unless you are a 20 something backpacker.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from hars_12, Manager at Aldea San Jose
Responded Jan 10, 2019
Hi Jody, it was a pleasure to have your visit. Firstly, we regret the lack of cleanliness, it was our fault to not have shown you how the service works; according to our hostel policies, we can not enter the room without your authorization that is why each room has a paper sign which you must place on the door each time you require cleaning, we accept responsibility and apologize. On the other hand, Aldea hostel is an old house, it is part of its attraction being a one hundred year old mansion. We believe that your comments are personal point of view and we respect them, but they are not the reality. We apologize for the interior noise, sometimes we have late check ins who take some time to settle in and the house is made of wood and those are things that are out of our hands. For future reference, kindly inform the front desk reception of any noise disturbances. And also your comments about the windows very helpful to us as we continue to renovate and make improvements to the old building. Regarding the outside noise, we are actually in a quiet part of the city considering our location and enforce quiet hours every night. When staying in the center of the city however you will always have a certain amount of noise from the traffic. The coffee we serve in Aldea is not a mere gourmet coffee, it is the kind of coffee you would like to try in any Costa Rican house, we are proud of it, and we regret that it has not been to your liking. In the same way we appreciate your feedback, and your confidence in choosing us. If you need help in any other occasion Aldea has the doors open for you. Safe travels
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$19 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Petit Victoria
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aldea San Jose
Which popular attractions are close to Aldea San Jose?
Nearby attractions include Correos de Costa Rica (0.2 miles), Templo de la Musica (0.2 miles), and Cementerio General de San José (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aldea San Jose?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Aldea San Jose?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Aldea San Jose?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Grano de Oro, Aqui Es, and Lubnan.
Is Aldea San Jose located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of San Jose.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aldea San Jose?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to Aldea San Jose?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (1.0 miles), Ruinas de Ujarras (1.9 miles), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (1.0 miles).