We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Alto de Las Palomas Sobre Carretera Vieja A Santa Ana, Escazu 10901 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Booking.com
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$168
Travelocity$168
travelup.com$179
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (258)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (175)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Escazu
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Alta Las Palomas is a collection of 23 rooms with private balconies and expansive views of Costa Rica's central valley. This means you'll often find an adventure-weary traveler dining at la luz restaurant+bar, kicking back and soaking up the views after an epic expedition, or regrouping to head out again. Their roomy balconies leading you to an exotic garden scene, or if staying in the master suite, the mountains, and volcanoes beyond Valle de Santa Ana. Local organic farmers supply the ingredients for la luz restaurant+bar whose menus feature an eclectic mix of influences. Let our chef indulge your senses with an exquisite culinary experience at la luz restaurant+bar, renowned as one of the best restaurants in San Jose.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Farsi

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
564Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 361
  • 143
  • 36
  • 8
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
blong1717 wrote a review Sep 2022
55 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
What a beautiful small boutique hotel. First of all it is Mediterranean style and really beautiful. We purchased the romantic package for $260 and stayed in room 51 which has a beautiful view of the city on the fifth floor. Our bathroom was very large and had a Jacuzzi and a separate shower and the toilet also included a bidet. Large flat screen TV included Netflix and we also had a balcony with a table and two chairs. The romantic package included two free cocktails and breakfast in bed. We ate dinner in the restaurant located on the first floor and it was absolutely delicious. The decor was old world rustic and well done. They had a violinist playing music and made it even more special. My girlfriend ordered the mixed seafood plate which was very delicious and I had the lamb shank which was top notch. I also had the tuna carpaccio which was excellent and probably the best tuna I’ve had in Costa Rica. They also had a nice wine selection. The service was impeccable. We will definitely be coming back here again. I actually live here in Costa Rica and have traveled extensively.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mar S wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Hotel is not central, and would be better for our purposes to have found one in town. The reception staff are really good and helpful. Restaurant very disappointing - twice they got our order wrong. One evening, I ordered the ravioli and it came out cold, I asked for it to be heated and the waiter told me the food isn't made fresh, it's frozen and heated. You could definitely taste that as well. Breakfast was excellent and the waiter was amazing. Views were lovely. Wasn't able to use the pool because of bad weather, but is very small. Hotel fairly clean, room was okay and could be cleaner. I can see why this hotel would appeal for a quiet getaway. Taxis are easy and fairly reasonable in price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pick a suite
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juanita Miranda, Owner at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear marsU7569LS. Thank you for staying at Hotel Alta Las Palomas and for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff and our breakfast service. We must be clear on one point however. It is our policy to keep track of all the dishes in our restaurant service and any issues reported. Our food is made fresh every day, especially our pasta which is handmade in our kitchen. We grow our own vegetables in our nearby farm in Salitral and do not freeze any of our food. Our location is clearly marked on our website, and we do not claim to be in the central part of the city. We are located between Escazu and Santa Ana, about a 20 minute drive from downtown San Jose. Our pool is not Olympic size but it is fairly large for a 23 room boutique hotel and easily manages our customer demand. We take all customer reviews seriously and make any changes to our processes which are feasible. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
letterK wrote a review Jul 2022
Ireland259 contributions211 helpful votes
What a beautiful hotel. It was our overnight base before heading to the airport and we are sorry we didn't stay longer. It is architecturally elegant and the pool has the best loungers we found in Costa Rica. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and our room had a great view and of course a breeze as well as the air con. Food was superb and the service was excellent. Thank you Alex. Would love to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juanita Miranda, Owner at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Dear letter1, thank you so much for staying at Hotel Alta Las Palomas and for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased you had a memorable experience with us. Alex is a wonderful host. WE hope you come back and stay with us very soon again, and for a longer time. Safe travels! Juanita Miranda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin C wrote a review May 2022
Munich, Germany3 contributions1 helpful vote
Beware booking this hotel. They may over charge your credit card and make it painfully difficult to refund. Their staff will claim as an honest mistake yet take weeks to respond to your complaint. Book at your own risk.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from María José Ortega, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Mr. Justinc993, thank you for sharing your experience with you payment. A mistake was indeed made, we have offered you an easy and efficent way to return the extra charge but haven´t gotten a reply from you. We are truly sorry for what happened, this should have not happen but we honestly want to help you. Please, do not hesitate to contact us, we are just waiting for the information, we will help you in less than 10 days after it. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole G wrote a review May 2022
13 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel promised guests a 4star boutique hotel experience. Its website stated: "Alta is art, mystery, and elegance. But Alta is more than just a place to stay. Alta is its people because it’s them who will make your time here, one to remember. " It remains a mystery to me how this is classified as a 4star. I saw art however and the elegance was amiss. Likes: 1. The in house restaurant (La Luz) had fresh food but the menu lacked dynamism. The cocktails I ordered were not great. The mixologist did not provide the quality i expected for a 4 star boutique hotel. 2. the Manager (Maria) she was empathetic , listened and did her best to help me enjoy my stay 3. The reception/front office staff were helpful from the male who supported me with GPS and recommending Poaz volcano to Sophie who did not always understand engligh very well but attended at best as she could to helping me with taxis, room service and most enquiries. Dislikes: 1. No bedroom slippers 2. booked airport transfers and only found out when my plane landed that no airport transfer was arranged. The excuse given was that "the system" did not make them aware of the airport transfer. The manager ;"Maria" tried to fix this by providing me a couple of cocktails on the house. Most hotels provide a welcome drink on the house so did not see this as going above and beyond for the fact that I had to get an airport taxi when i arranged for an airport transfer which was offered on the hotel's website but failed to be arranged or show. 3. La Luz menu lacked variety. I stayed roughly 4 nights so found there were very few choices for fish and salads. The breakfast was slow. breakfast was included in the price but only selective choices. If you wanted eggs benedict you were charged around 9USD for this. I found this appalling because it is essential a basic poached egg with hollandaise sauce. 4. The hotel recommended tours once I asked. The tour company they recommended RUTACR506 was absolutely diabolical and unprofessional service for a city tour of San Jose. Basically they arranged a time i could not go as i had another appointment at 10am but when i tried to amend this i was told my choices was to go or no refund as there was only one fixed time. I used the company the day before to go to La Fortuna - the driver of that tour advised he will check with the office to amend the time for the city tour. In the end i joined the tour under duress and the sites were ok but not wildly exciting and the lunch arranged was definitely in poor taste. 5. No iron or ironing board in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and gardens have a lovely view of the city
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from María José Ortega, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Mrs. Nicole, thank you for sharing this experience with us. I am glad that there were aspects of your stay that you really enjoyed and thank you for expressing the other aspects related to our opportunity areas, we will take them into account to increase our service experience, for other guests and for you, we will love to host you again on an other opportunity you might give us. Regarding the tour experience, we have already taken action about that. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irene P wrote a review Apr 2022
Crewe, United Kingdom27 contributions20 helpful votes
I booked an overnight stay at The Alta whilst suffering with Covid (my excuse). Unfortunately, I'd clicked and booked on the right day but the wrong month - April instead of May! I didn't notice until the day before (in April) that the date was incorrect.Hurriedly I sent emails to all the addresses I could find explaining my mistake. I went back on their web site and left a message there too. There were no replies and to add insult to injury 3 days after the booked date I received a computer generated thank you email for staying with them! And of course I was charged. It was my mistake, but at worst I should have had responses to my (6) emails. At best they could have made a concession towards payment of a rebook for the correct date in May. All the hotels I have dealt with this year, in booking our holiday, have been exeptional with their speedy and helpful communication. All except The Alta, who incidentally we have patronised twice before. We are very disappointed and annoyed at being treated so impersonally.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from María José Ortega, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded May 6, 2022
Dear mrs. Irene, I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations and for the experience you had with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, thank you for sharing with us trought this review. Please let me know when you are coming back to San José, let us find a way to compensate you experience creatiing new memories :) mortega@thealtahotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally H wrote a review Apr 2022
51 contributions22 helpful votes
This was a superb example of Small Luxury Hotels. We are well travelled and have experienced many hotels around the world. Hotel Alta Las Palomas is exceptional - excellent service, beautifully designed and chock full of interesting artefacts, welcome swimming pool, well maintained gardens. All in all we rated our stay there as 5 * - recommended whole heartedly!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from María José Ortega, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Sallyh788, thank you so much for staying at Hotel Alta Las Palomas and for your lovely review! We are happy you had a outstanding experience with us and that you enjoyed not just room room but the swimming pool and gardens as well :) We work hard everyday to make sure all of are guests fill as home as possible! We hope you come back to see us again very soon. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcelo114 wrote a review Apr 2022
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom24 contributions5 helpful votes
I have tried to contact this hotel so many times via email and via What App at their request after speaking to them on the phone. They still refuse to reply. Very unprofessional. I hope the management sees this and gets in touch. I had been trying to cancel my booking, but they charged me.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from María José Ortega, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded May 6, 2022
Dear Marcelo114, Thank you for expressing your experience with us throught this review and for all the time taken for it. Our client´s feedback are very valuable for our constant improvement. I would love to follow up and review your reservation. Please send me an email with the details mortega@thealtahotel.com. We truly apologize for any inconvenience that this situation may have caused to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thepostie2010 wrote a review Mar 2022
Barnstaple, United Kingdom872 contributions307 helpful votes
Even after a very long flight, and then the rush hour drive through San Jose, when you arrive here the charm and delight of this location is not lost on the weary traveller. The hotel has a welcoming feel and the staff to match. It is well laid out and the rooms are spacious with (if you are lucky) incredible sunset views from your large balcony. The restaurant is beautiful. Well spaced and with attentive staff. Great chef and whilst the menu is not vast its very good and caters for most tastes. Good value for money. You also get a three choices for the gratis breakfast, all with a fresh juice and fresh fruit course. This was our starting location for an extensive Costa Rica tour. Could not have picked a better location or had a better start. Well worth booking.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juanita Miranda, Owner at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Dear thepostie2010 Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Alta Las Palomas and for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you had a memorable experience with us! We will let our staff know all your comments. The good opinion of our customers encourages us to continue to work hard and to improve every day. We wish you a pleasant trip on your tour of Costa Rica, and we hope you come back and stay with us again very soon. Best regards, Juanita Miranda, Public Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ladiesmom wrote a review Mar 2022
Brooklyn, New York69 contributions50 helpful votes
We stayed at Hotel Alta for 2 nights at the start of our vacation. Tucked in one of the many hills surrounding San Jose, Hotel Alta is a little gem. The hotel and grounds feel like an oasis. Most of the choices in San Jose are large multi-national chains. This is not. The building is beautiful and charming. The views are spectacular. The rooms are not overly fancy but are well equipped (robes, plenty of towels, AC, water, a lovely porch), and there are only 26 so the hotel never felt crowded. The staff couldn’t have been more wonderful. We arrived after midnight (which we let them know in advance) and they helped check us in and take up our bags. And the sleeper sofa for my kids was already made up. The restaurant is beautiful and so yummy. You have three choices for the gratis breakfast, all with a fresh juice and fresh fruit course. We also ordered other items from the menu one day which were very affordable and delicious. We had dinner there our one night which was also excellent. And the pool is well situated, and you can get drinks or find shade easily. We highly recommend Hotel Alta!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juanita Miranda, Owner at Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Responded Mar 17, 2022
Dear Ladiesmom, thank you so much for staying at Hotel Alta Las Palomas and for giving us such high marks! We are delighted you had a memorable experience with us and that our staff made sure you were welcomed and made to feel at home. We work hard each day to enhance our customers stays and reviews like yours indicate we are on the righ track and always ready to improve! We hope you come back to see us again very soon. Best regards, Juanita Miranda, Public Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$167 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alta hotel escazu
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroEscazu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Nearby attractions include Refugio Animal de Costa Rica (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taj Mahal Restaurant - Estd. 2002, Bacchus Restaurante, and maxi's by Ricky.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Alta Las Palomas have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Alta Las Palomas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Alta Las Palomas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Alta Las Palomas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Farsi.