We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Los Campesinos Ecolodge

Save
Share
25 km east of Puerto Quepos and Manuel Antonio, Quepos 10502 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (5)

About

#11 of 58 Specialty lodging in Quepos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Los Campesinos Ecolodge is a communal cooperative dedicated to Sustainable Rural Tourism, friendly to the environment, with more than 16 years of history. It is located in the town of Quebrada Arroyo, just 25 km at the east of the Manuel Antonio beaches and Puerto Quepos. For nature lovers, tranquility, safety, adventure and quality, Los Campesinos Ecolodge is your best choice. We offer comfortable rustic lodges, equipped for couples or groups (maximum 6 people per lodge), you will feel comfortable, safe and you will be able to rest, surrounded by nature and you will be awaking by the singing of numerous birds. Each lodge has a private bathroom, hot water, a fan, a desk and some of them have a balcony with a view on the forest. We offer also a lot of other services, activities and tours like lodging, transport, tour to the mill, traditional grill, vanilla tour, horseback-riding, guided hiking trails, rappel and other who will satisfate all your desires ! It will be a pleasure to welcome you !
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint

Location

Contact
25 km east of Puerto Quepos and Manuel Antonio, Quepos 10502 Costa Rica
36Reviews4Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Annie D wrote a review Jan 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
This is am amazing place to stay...in the middle of the rainforest... Surrounded by magnificent rainforests, waterfalls, big walking bridges, butterflies as big as your head, hummingbirds and all sorts of amazing medicinal plants and trees. There is no wifi and you will be in bed as soon as it gets dark (about 7pm when I was there) as there is nothing to do apart from listen to the sounds of the night. Good, locally found and freshly made food..and they sell beer.. I had a small surprise in my washbasin - a baby scorpion...soon dealt with (kindly). Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Whity_31 wrote a review Aug 2019
16 contributions3 helpful votes
Los Campesinos was more than just a place to stay during my trip to Costa Rica, it was more of a life experience. During my stay I went to the waterfalls, hanging bridges and on a trekking tour, on a rappel tour and on a tour of the village. The nature is of course wonderful over there (went there early in the rainy season) and I would highly recommend to hire a guide - they are very knowledgeable about the local fauna and vegetation and the additional explanations just add to the experience. The tour of the village was the most special part as it gave me the opportunity to chat with a few locals and understand a bit better how life is for a local in rural Costa Rica. Food is basic and the choice relatively limited but it was all excellent and the staff was very accommodating (vegan food was no problem).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
BernadetteJanssen wrote a review Mar 2019
Almere, The Netherlands5 contributions3 helpful votes
We mades a great hiking tour with local guide David from The Tami Logde to Los Campesinos. We stayed two days at Los Campesinos and joined some local tours. The people are very friendly, the foos was very good and fresh,and the lodge very clean, with a great view. You should't miss this hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Buiten seizoen is de keuze groter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Valerie550 wrote a review Feb 2019
Albuquerque, New Mexico5 contributions
The longer you stay the more you will fall in love withe Los Campesinos. What is immediately clear is that the forest, waterfall, natural pool and hanging bridge are sublime. The cabins and restaurant are perfectly simple and pleasing. What is revealed more slowly is the miraculous way the 48 members of the an isolated rural cooperative, faced with crop failure and a dire situation elected to take a risk and turn to ecotourism. The guides, the cooks and other community members are proud of their success and someone will sit down with you at every dinner and share personal stories of their families migration to the valley, their trials and successes. Of course, knowing Spanish helps in this. You can't help but be moved if you invest more than a quick, superficial visit here. The vanilla and trapiche tours are nice too. Yes, in our opinion, you should really have four wheel drive to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ka G wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
One of my friends told me about this place, he told me that a community from Quepos started a rural tourism project, so I though of to visiting it, since I am costarican and I think is important to support local communities. On january of 2019 I called to know more information when I called they gave me the prices, next day I called to make a reservation and they told me a different price which I accepted even though this was their mistake. After you leave the main road to Quepos there is only one sign showing you the way to get to the place and since the place is not close to houses(in the last 5km at least), you can not find anyone to ask if you are in the right way, specially in the night is quite easy to get lost plus there is no cellphone signal to call the place or check the internet. The last kilometers of the road that take you to the Campesinos ecolodge are in bad condition (when usually soil surface roads are in good condition during summer). When we arrived they gave us the key for the room, but it got stuck on the door, so after trying a while we took out the key again, since it was a bit risky to break the key, they gave us the key of the room next to us, so we get in by next door room and cross the blacony to get to ours, so what we did is to leave the balcony door open so that we could get in to our room. According to the price they gave me, the package includes: one night, 3 foods and the use of the walking trails. The food is ok, there are not many options, but you serve yourself. At night only the guest stay down there, so if there is an emergency you can use the walkie talkie that is in the dinning room to contact them. In the night, lights went off twice, do not know if it is usually this way or only that day. When I went to pay, they charge me $10 extra per person for making use of the walking trails, I complain with the lady about it, I told her that no one told me I was going to be charge extra for the walk, but the lady did not seem to listen or care about it. I was really dissapointed about it since originally they also gave me a different price for the whole package. I am a national tourist and like to help national entrepreneur, but when things like this happen and I show to them my dissapointment and they do nothing about it, it just make me feel worse.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablomora123, Gerente at Los Campesinos Ecolodge
Responded Jan 25, 2019
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, in our Tripadvisor profile, in this respect I must clarify the following: 1- On your first call, as you mention it, the indicated rate had a calculation error of less than 4.3% with respect to the correct rate, it was tried to subsequently ratify without success, because it was impossible to contact you again, Although the reservation had not been confirmed. 2- Regarding the direction, after leaving the main road (route 34 interamerican south), the distance to our Ecolodge is 25 km, in this distance we have 3 information signs, the last of them indicates that the remaining distance is of 6 km, in which there is no deviation, since it is the only road in the mountain. There should be no problems with the entrance at night since our reception hours are until 5:00 pm, which is public knowledge on our website and other tripadvisor comments. 3- Our access route, being in a rural area is not asphalted and in fact it is recommended to our customers, the use of 4x4 vehicles, which is not absolutely necessary since many of them use cars and minibuses without problem, even in rainy season. 4- We regret the inconvenience with the key of the room, indeed the same was damaged and was replaced as soon as possible. 5- Our reception was indicated by telephone at the time of reservation, which services included the reservation, but once on our property, the client made a walk that was not included, so it was charged (not in its totality) because it was a shared tour. 6- Our electrical system is supplied by the public service (Instituto Costarricense de Electricidad), so there may be interruptions in the service, which are not under our control, which is why we have emergency lamps. 7- Our guests are informed about the use of the walkie talkie as a security measure in case of emergency, since the guide or staff in charge, is housed 300 meters from the cabins. Finally our response in order to safeguard, the integrity and quality praised by other clients in previous comments, we appreciate the shared comments, we improve continuously to provide a better service and we are willing in our establishment to attend any disagreement of our clients during the stay, In order to provide a timely and pleasant stay in Los Campesinos Ecolodge.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasQuepos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Los Campesinos Ecolodge
What are some of the property amenities at Los Campesinos Ecolodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Los Campesinos Ecolodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Los Campesinos Ecolodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Los Campesinos Ecolodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Los Campesinos Ecolodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Los Campesinos Ecolodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Los Campesinos Ecolodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.