We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Airport Road, Puerto Jimenez 60702 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (433)
Pool & Beach (57)
Room & Suite (47)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
All-inclusive packages for World-class Billfishing offshore or Roosterfish, Snapper, & Dorado inshore. Kids love our 24 exclusive Ecotours - Corcovado Rainforest, Zipline, Mangrove Kayaking, & Moms love our luxurious state-of-the-art Spa with a full complement of 30+ Spa massages, facials and full body treatments. Set on 44 lush tropical acres in the bio-diverse Osa Peninsula.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
278Reviews11Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 240
  • 22
  • 5
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Craig R wrote a review May 2022
Key West, Florida9 contributions4 helpful votes
Spent 8 days at the new Hilton resort, including 3 days of fishing and 3 Eco—Tours! Every part of our experience was outstanding! Really enjoyed the new dining facility and rooms! In addition the eco-tours were great experiences where we were able to view and photograph several species of monkeys, parrots, sloths and even an ant eater in their natural environment! Fishing crew worked hard to put us on fish and we were able to finish our last outing with a nice, ~75# Yellowfin tuna. Staff was always friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend the experience,
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be patient on the flights between San Jose and Puerto Jimenez! It is a more relaxed airline then...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Booker wrote a review May 2022
Sacramento, California4 contributions3 helpful votes
Had a wonderful time at Crocodile Bay! Well worth the trip for great adventure on water and land w/fishing and eco tours. Beautiful location, welcoming staff and tasty food. Will visit again soon and absolutely recommend to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris G wrote a review Apr 2022
26 contributions9 helpful votes
My second trip to Crocodile Bay. Easy and convenient to book through Lynch Travel who set up transfers, the stay overnight in San Jose and the flight to Puerto Jiminez. The return was a bit trickier due to the Covid test requirement leaving Costa Rica for the USA but it worked out just great thanks to Lynch. Upon arriving checked in, had lunch then on to the Jungle eco tour. It was great seeing the countryside with a wide variety of birds, monkeys etc. Our main goal was fishing. We fished every other day for 3 days, all offshore. Fished on a big boat with Fernando every day. Great fishing, great mates and a great captain. Diego is doing a great job managing the fishing schedule and fleet. Lunch was supplied with beer and soft drinks. We caught sailfish, one blue marlin, many mahi (2 around 40lbs), wahoo and tuna. One concern were the long lines under 20 miles offshore. Costa Rica needs to deal with this. The lodge service was excellent and the staff second to none. The accommodations were just right and basically a very comfortable and casual setting. Olympia was still there and is a true gem of Crocodile Bay. Menu for breakfast and dinner was excellent with many selections. Not around for lunch but one day and it was great. We were lucky enough to catch a few yellowfin to share sushimi with all the restaurant guests. I would recommend this to anyone serious about "comfortable" fishing. I did bring my wife, thinking she would be ambivalent but she loved it, caught a sail, and now will bring her on all my future fishing trips:)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TAG_the_Traveller wrote a review Mar 2022
Ringwood, United Kingdom57 contributions52 helpful votes
Stayed at the resort with 4 friends (all of us from the UK) early February 2022. We had been guided to the dates by a specialist angling holiday company, who chose the date and moon phase so we could enjoy the very best fishing. Let's start off with the positives. The resort is clean, the staff friendly and attentive, and all speak very good English - certainly a lot better than my Spanish! Food is excellent, and the portions generous. The food and drink (including beer) provided for the boats is generous also, and you can order specifically what you want for lunch each day the night before. Now unfortunately here's the downside... we travelled specifically to fish for Sailfish, as the returns from this venue historically have been incredible. During our visit, we landed (between us) 7 Sailfish in 7 boat days fishing. Researching online when there, we read in The Tico Times that commercial fishing has increased +136%, and illegal fishing is believed to have increased dramatically also. The same article stated rod & line captures are down 70%, with the problem being particularly acute in the South. Certainly, we saw plenty of long lines when we were offshore. So the resort is fine, but my recommendation would be to not travel there from the UK for the fishing... it very sadly seems that for Costa Rica fishing, the party is very, very sadly over ....at least until someone to help the fish stocks recover.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
david e wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom29 contributions73 helpful votes
I visited Crocodile Bay in February 2022 with a friend. This was my sixth time at CB, the first being in 2016. CB is an olde world fishing lodge, developed I think about 30 years ago. There is a large reception/dining/bar/office/shop complex in the centre surrounded by 8 detached houses, each house comprising 4 suites. The upstairs suites are infinitely better because downstairs the rooms have tile floors and polystyrene ceiling tiles, upstairs hardwwood floors and proper ceilings. Bathrooms are tired. Rooms and bathrooms are always spotlessly clean. Staff is the strongest point, friendly and helpful to a fault, they really are outstanding. Fishing is a mixed bag. There are two types of boats, the Boston Whalers and the larger strikes. The strikes are an almost essential choice for offshore for two reasons. First they have an overhead helm position so the skipper has an outstanding view, which you need for spotting bait balls and other action, second the strikes also have a second crew member, which you need if there is marlin or sailfish action round the teasers or if you have a tricky fish to land. There used to be a second crew member on the whalers but that went as a cost saving measure in 2018. Fishing itself is variable, never quite as good as the fishing reports! In 2019 we did not catch a single fish in four days. This year it was great for a day and a half, we had a marlin and a sail plus 4 mahi mahi but then went two and a half days with nothing. Some other clients complained like hell and got extra fishing days, being true Brits we suffered in silence. We had the same skipper all four days, personally I think its a lot better to mix it up, they are all quite different. The big news for CB is that all the accommodation is set to be demolished as the new Hilton Botanika whatever they call it opens on site in April. We don't understand the development. It is massive, three huge four storey blocks, modern, well equipped and utterly soulless. What is the point of coming to the Osa Peninsula to stay in a Hilton with no view of the rainforest or the sea? I think all the charm of CB will be lost but I respect that the Hilton may suit some visitors. There are also plans to build a massive marina and a hotel on the sea with floating restaurant etc etc. This will be the first and only development on the coast of The Golfo Dulce, in my opinion and absolute tragedy and a desecration of this stunning pristine coastline. I guess its all about money but if they allow this development how will they stop others? And why would anyone want to take this extraordinary bit of unspoiled coast and desecrate it? Very very sad. Finally a word of warning, building work and construction on site will continue until at least March 2023, a lot of dust, work starts at first light, 6.00am, worth bearing in mind. I hope my worst fears are not borne out. I have enjoyed some great times at CB and cannot believe it has really all come to an end. I just hope for the sake of the staff that the new resort continues to be a happy environment for them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Beau Williams, Owner at Crocodile Bay Resort
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you David E. for taking the time to leave your comments. Since we completed construction of Crocodile Bay and opened this family run business in 1999, our staff has taken great pride in keeping our rooms and facilities spotlessly clean and we greatly appreciate you acknowledging that. We also agree that even though we have been blessed with such astounding nature and wildlife in our area, our staff has always been our greatest strength. After your six fishing trips we appreciate that you have seen the full spectrum of good and bad fishing in our area. While we know fishing does not always mean catching and so we cannot always promise free fishing during the slow times, we appreciate you being witness to the fact that we do put customer satisfaction as a priority over profit when we give complimentary fishing days. While we traditionally do try and leave clients fishing with the same crew on each trip as many prefer that, we are more than happy to cycle clients onto other boats if the clients request it. In regard to our new Botanika hotel offering, our family has found such happiness while living in this outdoorsman’s and nature lover’s paradise over the last two decades that we feel very proud to share this blessing with others. When compared with the Crocodile Bay buildings I understand how one might focus on the disparity of size, but I can assure you that as a family we have sincerely done our best to balance the towns need for increased economic stimulation with having a small environmental footprint. When we purchased this 44-acre piece of land in 1997 from a local landowner, it had been a clear cut cow pasture, and we have been continually reforesting it since then by creating biological corridors with native trees and plants that are food sources for the many forms of tropical wildlife. The decision to build four stories vertically was done specifically so we could have a smaller footprint than if we were to build horizontally so we can leave more green space for viewing of the animals that choose to visit us daily. While the topic of creating another legal marina might seem unnecessary to those living in developed countries, the reality here is that there are simply no facilities or services available to the many boat owners currently living on the Osa Peninsula nor the transient yachts who visit us regularly. This means these vessels must fill their boats with fuel via the local car gas station using informal homemade systems they run out to the public pier regularly spilling fuel into the water on accident. Local boats perform oil changes while their boats are in the water spilling oil into the water and have no access for black water pump-out, so human waste is constantly being dumped into the gulf. Our marina will provide a legal fuel dock, formal boat ramp to remove boats from the water for service and have a black water pump-out station that will offer free pump service to all local boats. The existing buildings of the old Crocodile Bay Lodge will not be demolished but will be refurbished and repurposed to offer stores and services that will benefit clients as well as locals living in town. Among these services we will offer traditional as well as E-bike rentals for those who wish to explore town to shop and the surrounding area without renting a car, side by side rentals for those who wish to take their families to the beach that include children not old enough or physically able to pedal their own bikes, and a new Italian deli selling specialty items not found in town markets like select cheese and wine to make sunset get togethers more special at the end of the day. We will be donating a large portion of the existing lodge and dedicating it to house the largest insect museum in the country that is local patrimony and administered by young local experts who love to share their knowledge with tourists as well as visiting local schools. We will be keeping certain rooms as dormitories so we can offer free lodging to scientists and researchers who wish to come to our area to study both land and sea based wildlife, as well as starting a “citizen scientist” program where we will educate regular tourists and clients on how they may help in the research of certain species by tagging different science groups on social media with pictures of those species which will be encrypted with time/date/location information which will help provide data in long term studies to further the world’s scientific understanding of our non-human neighbors. We will also be creating a satellite office for Clinica Biblica which is one of the oldest and most respected private hospitals in the country, so that in addition to caring for our clients, local townsfolk can also come for medical appointments and have access to certain technology and tests that are currently not available to them in our area and all at a reduced rate lower than what they have access to when they used to have to travel to the country’s capital for care which can be prohibitively expensive. We apologize for not doing a better job of explaining our plans to you while you were here, but after being a part of this community for decades, we are determined to have our project’s evolution be as beneficial to our community as it is for tourists who wish to come to visit the most biologically intense place on earth. Each developing nation must choose in what direction they wish their nation to grow in order to provide sufficient economic stimulation for their people. Costa Rica chose nature-based tourism many years ago and have been extremely successful to date. The vast majority of locals here are either directly or indirectly dependent on tourism for their income, just as the local governments environmental protection branches are dependent on tourism businesses taxes to fund them. Tourism projects like ours will greatly improve Costa Rica’s ability to keep its natural riches as pristine as possible and we are proud to do our part, as we are eternally grateful to be able to live in such a natural paradise. Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns with us in a way that allowed us to do a better job of explaining our future plans than we were able to do when you were here visiting!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donald G wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Crocodile Bay Resort has the friendliest staff that will and does go above and beyond when it comes to making sure your experience is the best one has ever had. With clean comfortable rooms, great food, and a nice bar. They have so many options for people to do. We go for the fishing and it is the greatest fishing experience of a lifetime. The location is in a natural rainforest environment where it feels like one has gotten away from it all yet, can still be connected.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nickitchens wrote a review Feb 2022
1 helpful vote
The absolute best trip we've ever had! They made the entire process seamless with total 5 star Service every step of our trip. We will be going back next year and recommend Crocodile Bay to anyone that might be interested. The entire staff was phenomenal from the moment we got off the plane to the minute we left for home. I can't say enough what a magnificent time we had! Thank you everyone at Crocodile bay for memories we will have for a lifetime!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rshap22022 wrote a review Feb 2022
Hauppauge, New York
+1
Absolutely amazing! Five star from the minute we landed in San Jose. Every transfer and flights were smooth and easy. The staff was so helpful and nice. The captains went above and beyond to get you those fish. We are already planning our return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
L P wrote a review Feb 2022
Dover, Delaware58 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
This trip was scheduled for April 2020 and postponed 3 times. Let’s start with all good things! Food-excellent Service= excellent Eco tour= very good Resort= very dated rooms and bathrooms dated Pool needs new furniture Fishing= don’t charter a 24’ boat= rough rides spend the $$ on a larger boat. Off shore fishing was very spotty when we were here, if we had come in 2020 it might have been different. Diego who is in charge of fishing did all he could to accommodate us, but he can’t produce the fish for off shore. We had a good day fishing inshore and manage to land two sailfish off shore considering the conditions they were good fishing days.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If fishing book larger boat.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jay M wrote a review Feb 2022
Sandy, Utah, United States5 contributions
This was a wonderful place to stay and visit. We booked the trip through Lisa at Lynch Creek Travel. It was an all-inclusive package which included all travel to and from San Jose, and everything went like clockwork. The staff at the resort could not have been more friendly and helpful. The fishing was great, and we took 3 of the Eco Tours, all of which were wonderful, and the guides were very knowledgeable. The resort is beautiful, set in the rain forest and we saw monkeys, toucans, and macaws right outside our door. Great fishing as well. It was our first time in Costa Rica, but it will not be our last. I highly recommend the Crocodile bay resort and Lisa at Lynch Creek Travel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,129 - $1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crocodile bay hotel puerto jimenez
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOsa PeninsulaPuerto Jimenez
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crocodile Bay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Crocodile Bay Resort?
Nearby attractions include Artes de Osa (0.5 miles), Los Higuerones (0.6 miles), and Corcovado2,5 (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crocodile Bay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Crocodile Bay Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Crocodile Bay Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Crocodile Bay Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crocodile Bay Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soda Jimenez, Pizzamail.it, and Marisqueria Corcovado.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crocodile Bay Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Crocodile Bay Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Crocodile Bay Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Crocodile Bay Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Crocodile Bay Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crocodile Bay Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crocodile Bay Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.