We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveler (105)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Overview
Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez Costa Rica See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
2.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
116
7
1
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
116
7
1
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showershared kitchenmark's placecorcovado national parksmall courtyardwifi worked wellstayed nightscentral americacabo matapalothe air conditioningfishrufusbirdsdesiresmangrovesenergy
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 130 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Spent a few days here. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the kitchen area spacious and there are free bikes the use. Friendly owner too. It's quiet and calm but within the minutes walking distance of the main street and the beach.

Thank cocotraveller2018
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Nice and clean room with a large bathroom, and a nice "normal" shower (hot water and cold water knobs) instead of the "suicide showers" usually found in Central America. The shared kitchen is well equipped and comfortable to use. The air conditioning worked well and...More

Thank Sebastien T
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Please read all poor reviews and the owner’s responses and you will see his lack of maturity. Wouldn’t recommend staying here. There are much nicer places with owners who aren’t looking for a quick buck. The owner is the only person in the area who...More

Thank sj220507
Response from osacaptain, Owner at Cabinas TropicalesResponded March 7, 2018

Hi in response to your review. You and your friend booked 2 nights and you were visiting the park. Of coarse i watched your extrs luggage while you visiting the park. The reason for your bad comments is because when you were leaving for the...More

Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

Mark is kind and accomodating. I managed to mess up our booking by one day. Mark made no fuss about it and modified the booking for us. Our room had cold AC and the WiFi worked well. The bathroom was just outside of our room,...More

Thank Tommy C
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Just not a good deal for the dollar. Place is simple, as advertised. Shared common area is nice to have. Owner/operator is the primary drawback. We had a few simple questions during our stay, often related to services HE suggested (tours, etc) and we were...More

Thank Banks714
Response from osacaptain, Owner at Cabinas TropicalesResponded November 22, 2017

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by us during your visit with us. Of course I do remember your visit. You were greeted with a warm welcome just as all the other guests. I remember you asking about the tours available. I told you...More

View more reviews
About
Description
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure ...More parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
$44 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez
Location
Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Photos
Traveler (105)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
85 reviews
.15 miles away
Oro Verde Hostel
28 reviews
.22 miles away
Corcovado Beach Lodge
26 reviews
.27 miles away
Crocodile Bay Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort
189 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 39 restaurants in Puerto Jimenez
Soda Jimenez
99 reviews
.32 miles away
Pizzamail.it
357 reviews
.28 miles away
Marisqueria Corcovado
602 reviews
.20 miles away
Soda Pura Vida
73 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 48 attractions in Puerto Jimenez
Osa Birders Tours
9 reviews
.60 miles away
Surcos Tours
591 reviews
.11 miles away
Corcovado Hiking Tours
119 reviews
.26 miles away
Jaguar Corcovado Tours
107 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sj220507
March 8, 2018|
Answer
Response from osacaptain | Property representative |
Well if you remember when my help gave you your luggage with the envelope which had your refund and you sent it back. I guess of course you dont remember. Its funny how this all started with you stealing my towels to take... More
0
Votes
rob c
June 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from Brian M | Reviewed this property |
I didn't do any fishing but I'm sure that the owner of Cabinas Tropicales or the staff at Marisquería Corcovado Seafood restaurant could help you out once you get there. The restaurant staff kindly arranged for me to meet... More
1
Vote
Eion143
February 2, 2015|
Answer
Response from Mayra N |
We did it with another guide. We liked the tour a lot, we get a plane to the forest and we spend two days. But for accomodation in Puerto Jimenez I recomend to you not to go to Cabinas Tropicales, the owner is the worst... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"ask for outdoor shower :)"
Read review
"We loved the room with the outdoor shower, and small patio."
Read review
"ask for the outdoor shower :)"
Read review
"The room in the corner with private outdoor bathroom and sitting area was great."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing