We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Villas Gaia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Villas Gaia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villas Gaia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed June 21, 2016

First point is that the location of Villas Gaia from the main hub of Manuel Antonio is over 70km (44 miles) away and is not easy to reach without a rental car. We didn't have one and realised fairly early that this would be impossible as there is very little to do/see in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Highly...

Thank Magda W
VillasGaia, Propietario at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

Thank you Magda for your opinion on Villas Gaia. Unfortunately we can not agree on our location as being difficult to reach. We have several alternatives published on our web site how to get to Gaia and they are fairly easy. As we are located outside a touristic town or area we always recommend a car as numerous beaches and...

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed after reading some great reviews. Our room was at the top of the hill above the pool where we struggled to drag our own cases. We were the only clients staying here so we could have been closer to the restaurant and yes the heavy trucks did keep you awake at night. The room could have been a...

2Thank Sparky775
VillasGaia, Gerente at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

Dear Sparky, Thank you for your opinion on Villas Gaia. Normally our guests prefer to stay in a hilltop room and we thought we would have pleased you with a villa in this location. It would have been no problem to relocate you to a villa closer to he restaurant if we would have been notified. We always recommend our...

Reviewed May 16, 2016

We had a wonderful suite facing the pacific side, clean, spacious living and bedroom areas, plenty of closet space, nice bathroom (the spa tub/ shower was a bit awkward to enter, a stool is provided). New towels are in order, some of ours were very shabby.. A delicious breakfast is included. There is hotel transportation to the beach during the...

Thank jfranji
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Our chalet room was excellent and we had a really comfortable bed. It was a National holiday, and the hotel was full, but I did feel some help with the suitcases might have been offered as our cabin was the furthest from reception and the path a bit steep. if there had been a cleanliness rating it could have been...

Thank brillandhen
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed April 26, 2016

Get your own cabina in the jungle. A lighted walking path leads you to restaurant, cabina's & up a small hill to beautiful pool area! Super nice pool, beautiful view of ocean (from pool area) & an amazing grounds keeper.

Thank Nicole G
Wiltshire, England
Reviewed April 10, 2016

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our Casita (no 17) was comfortable and private, located up the hill behind the restaurant. The traffic noise from the Pan American highway didn't worry us and as I wore earplugs at night, slept peacefully. We had dinner at the restaurant twice. The food was delicious and imaginatively cooked....

Thank aldman64
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

We booked this on the recommendation from a friend. We were not aware of the tours they offered which are plenty. We only stayed one night so we did not take one. We stayed in one of the hilltop rooms, #10, and would recommend these rooms as they are next to the pool and breakfast. All the room as are...

Thank Anthony F
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Reviewed March 29, 2016

We booked far in advance 3 nights for February 2016 including 3 tours and 2 nights as package. Our room (no.12) did had a perfect veranda looking on the top of the threes with daily toucans and monkeys in it! It was a large room with a good AC above the bed. We had a lot of bug inside, partly...

1Thank Jan T
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Our three-generation family of 6 rented the "casita" for 8 nights. The room was perfect for us, although the arrival of a large group of American students that had to be booked into the same hotel caused us to be transferred into the neighbour Villas de Oros for 2 nights. While the owner was very gracious about the whole situation,...

Thank brazwhazz
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed March 25, 2016

This could be a great place with some updates. I little paint and caulk would go a long way. The kitchen area is a great idea, but there is NOTHING available. Not a knife to cut fruit, no plates, no utensils. We had to borrow everything from the kitchen to have a simple snack. The pool area is gorgeous. When...

Thank ontheteeindy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (143)
Room/Suite (31)
View from Room (6)
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Dining (7)
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (39)
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Dining (6)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
1.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
186 reviews
12.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#6 of 12 in Uvita
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Price Range: $84 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Gaia Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Villas Gaia staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Villas Gaia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for one of the rooms closer to the pool if you must stay here”
 of 5 bubbles JillS3, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ours was OK but very noisy, major road outside.”
 of 5 bubbles susien2015, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“12 furthest away and very private”
 of 5 bubbles brillandhen, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
“No.12 is away from the road, past the pool, and have a great veranda with view into the tree tops.”
  • Verande room 12
  • Bathroom
  • Toucan from the veranda
 of 5 bubbles 341JanT, Mar 29, 2016 | Read review
“bungalow 12 is the only one with seaview.”
 of 5 bubbles schliek, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question