We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Traveler (753)
Panoramas (10)
Traveler (753)
Panoramas (10)
Pool & Beach (178)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Certificate of Excellence
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Free Parking
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Good to know
Harbor View
Full view
Getting there
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport63 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 724
  • 92
  • 40
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Very beautiful beach and grounds. Rooms are spaced throughout the property with walkways down to the beach. My room was in the nine unit building at the end of the walkway and it was not great. The decor was dated, the room was cramped and dimly-lit, and there was a pervasive mil
Read more
Response from YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beach and grounds are a very special part of Ylang Ylang. From your review, it sounds like you stayed in our Standard Beach Room, which is our most basic unit. They are small, but have two queen beds and a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. They also have a private outdoor patio area overlooking the beach. Since you visited during the rainy season, it's likely that the room was damp, which happens because our property is so lush and full of jungle gardens. We do appreciate your input and suggestions and will take them into consideration. Sincerely, Emma and Moraya Iacono
Read more
This was a return trip to Ylang Ylang Resort. After visiting the resort last year - -for our 30th anniversary - my wife and I wanted to have our kids join us this year (each of the kids is in their 20's). I wasn't sure that this would be the type of vacation that they would like/
Read more
Response from YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Nick, Thank you for much for your wonderful review of Ylang Ylang! It was a pleasure to have you and your family here. It sounds like you kept active and busy with many of the great activities that Montezuma has to offer. It was such fun to get to know you and your family and we certainly hope to welcome you all back again someday! Sincerely, Emma and Moraya Iacono
Read more
This was our second at Ylang Ylang. The first time was just myself and husband last Nov. and as the title suggests, I did not think it could get any better.


The service is impeccable, spa is world class, food is very good. I absolutely recommend Ylang Ylang to anyone lo
Read more
Response from YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us (again!) and that you took advantage of our open air jungle spa and our beach front restaurant. Our location is secluded (which is part of the magic and charm) and you are correct that the cost to get the types of high quality ingredients we use and organic produce here is higher than other places you may see in Costa Rica. Offering these products is important to us and maintaining our high standard of food in our restaurant. We look forward to having you back again! Sincerely, Emma and Moraya Iacono
Read more
We stayed there in September 2018 and had to leave due to numerous reasons. We found many insects (cockroaches, spiders, crabs) in the rooms and in the beds. The room was dirty and musty and overall a bad experience, enough that had us pack our bags and leave early. The managemen
Read more
Response from YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
As you mention twice that you stayed with us in September 2018, we are certain that you are either referring to a different hotel or did not actually stay with us because our entire resort was closed for the months of September and October 2018. We have asked Trip Advisor to remove this review.
Read more
Very clean nice rooms. Top of the line staff! The resort has tons of wildlife including monkeys! Food portion was a little small and a hair over priced. Drinks were great but also over priced. We loved the staff and will return again soon we hope!
Read more
Response from YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of Ylang Ylang! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do have incredible wildlife to be seen from just outside your room because we are on the edge of a nature preserve and biological corridor. We also do not have a road, which means that animals love to hang out around Ylang Ylang. Also because of our location and lack of road access, it is more expensive for us to bring in all of our own products. Our restaurant prices are not much higher than what you'll find elsewhere, but we guarantee high quality products and organic produce. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and drinks and included meals in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime! Sincerely, Moraya and Emma Iacono
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorYlang Ylang Beach Resort
The Tent Cabin at the Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorYlang Ylang Beach Resort
The Beach Front Bungalow at the Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorYlang Ylang Beach Resort
The Beach Front Bungalow at the Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Beach Bungalow
Photo provided by managementYlang Ylang Beach Resort
Beach Front Bungalow
I am traveling with an elderly parent who cannot walk 10 to 15 mins each way into town. What are my options? Can we rent an atv to drive on the beach. Or does the staff drive partons each day to the town? Please let us know what our options are. Thank you in advance!!
Hi Christy, Renting an ATV would certainly be an option. If you'd like help in arranging that, please send us an e-mail and we can let you know the options. Our driver is available sometimes throughout the day, but mainly for check ins and check outs, so you could join on one of the drives if there is space available. If you would like to send us an e-mail with the dates, we can can discuss options to help plan your trip and make it as easy as possible for your parent. We hope to see you soon!
0 votes
I keep seeing gorgeous photos of the beach at the resort, yet so many reviews state that it is not a swimming beach. Can you explain more specifically why it would not be good for a family with children who really want to swim at our resort? Thank you in advancee.
The beach right in front of the resort has some rocks and can have large waves. Occasionally it can be great for swimming, however, there are great beaches to swim at, just a 5 minute walk along the beach. We also have some tide pools along the way that are great for the kids or a river with a swimming pool close by (about 5 minutes in the other direction)! Lots of choices for ocean and fresh water swimming for kids!
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a place to wash clothes?
Hi Erin, We do have laundry service, but do not have a place to wash your own clothing. There is also a laundry service in town near Hotel Lys.
0 votes
We are coming in April and staying in the tree top canopy. What all toiletries do I need? Are shampoo/conditioner/soap included? I know seems silly but wasn’t sure if the tree top canopy was considered a “tent”? And is there any specific clothing item that I should not forget to bring? What is you best advice for a first time traveler to Costa Rica?
Hi Erin, We look forward to having you stay here! The Tree Top Canopy does have liquid body soap, shampoo and conditioner. The Tree Top Canopy bedroom is in a "Tent." It is a large safari style tent that is closed off with A/C. April will be a hot time of year, so you actually won't need much clothing. A bathing suit will be the main item! Best advice would be to come to Costa Rica with a curiosity for nature, wildlife and adventure. You won't be disappointed. Please let us know if you have any other questions! See you soon!
1 vote
Show all answers
I would love to know more information about hosting a wedding here in Feb 2019. Could someone please get in touch? Thank you,
Hi, for any wedding information please contact us via our website directly and we will be happy to offer you all our wedding details and put you in contact with our wedding planner.
0 votes
"Rooms with lofts, beachfront views, family suites, and even a tree house....Ylang Ylang Resort has accommodations for every occasion/need"
"I personally do not trust iguanas, of which there are many roaming the property. Exotic!"
"Coco Joe's Bungalow is amazing!!!"
"In case you are in a tent cabin: bring insect repellent!!!"
"All files are great - more monkeys and animal action in jungle rooms - esp I think dome 6&7 as they are deepest back but 5 (Colibri) is very private. Ocean domes (we stayed in 1) very private and loved the ocean sounds and sitting on the patio has a better view and bats swooping at sunset. Tent cabins no ac so not for me but way more howler monkey action there it seems."
$211 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ylang ylang beach hotel montezumaylang beach hotelylang beach resort
El Sano Banano Beach Hotel
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMontezuma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing