We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (182)
Room & Suite (67)
Pool & Beach (30)

About

#2 of 40 Specialty lodging in Montezuma
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.9
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
209Reviews3Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 191
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tabitha H wrote a review Oct 2016
Swansea, United Kingdom46 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I had a wonderful stay here in August. We stayed in Casa Morfo and it was just lovely. We had our own private plunge pool which we were able to watch monkeys, butterflies, coatis and the sunrise from. There was plenty of comfortable seating outdoors to enjoy the gorgeous weather. The bedroom is cosy and comfortable - and we got to watch an impressive lightening storm from it during the night. There is an adequate supply of utensils etc. for cooking with, and a small supermarket only a 5 min drive away. The drive from the road to the lodge is quite long, slow and bumpy - but you end up enjoying privacy in the middle of the rainforest so it's worth it. The main pool is lush and warm. You can walk from the lodge to a waterfall apparently, but you have to cross a river and the water was too high as it was rainy season for us to cross so we didn't see the waterfall. The owners are lovely and have great advice for places to eat and directions. In fact, Alex saved us a very long and difficult journey by pointing us in a much better direction - thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simon P wrote a review Jun 2016
Hanalei, Hawaii20 contributions26 helpful votes
Arrived at the hotel, put valuables in the safe, went to dinner, came back and everything had been stolen. The safe was forced open with perhaps a crowbar, clearly an inside job, perhaps a disgruntled employee familiar with the place. Completely ruined our trip, the resort has zero security and at the end of a mile long driveway, on first view charming a remote, on second view remote and vulnerable. The hotel owner has no insurance and accepts no liability even within the safe provided. Avoid until this high crime area gets security guard.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista
Responded Aug 22, 2016
We find it astonishing that six months after your visit you are writing this review. As we told you repeatedly during your stay -- while you cursed Costa Rica, made accusations to us, bribed the local police, complained about Montezuma, and used our personal mobile devices (and email!) so that you could make business arrangements -- we are horrified and sorry that this happened to you. We would NEVER want anything like this to happen to any of our guests. We were as stunned as you were by the audacity of the thief and have since taken much greater measures to prevent this from ever happening again, including stronger window locks, installing security cameras, new safes, and more. Our two person staff has been with us for years and we are deeply offended that you would suspect them (or us!) of doing anything to jeopardize their livelihood. We were saddened that you did not have any travel insurance that might have covered your loss. Costa Rica (which is not the United States) does not have available any type of rental home insurance that would have covered this - otherwise, we would have it! The insurance companies say this is because there is no way to prove what items people are traveling with, particularly cash. We refunded to you the entire amount of the rental fee the following day when you said you didn't want to stay. And then you stayed, which we understand; Agua Vista is a beautiful place, as you told us yourself on your third day with us. This area of Costa Rica is remote and very much off the beaten path, as is Agua Vista. Usually, this attracts a kind of tourist who is adventurous, open minded, and aware, interested in the richness of flora and fauna which abounds, the alternative and multicultural nature of town, and in leaving a light footprint.
Read more
judith h wrote a review May 2016
Denver, Colorado26 contributions8 helpful votes
In a beautiful, remote hilltop jungle location, our sweet little bungalow welcomed us to Montezuma. Agua Vista is a nice retreat from the town of Montezuma. Our bungalow had it's own dipping pool, hammock and outdoor (fully private) shower. The grounds have a koi pond and trails down to the river. Wildlife entertained us as we relaxed in the hammock.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jonathan G wrote a review Apr 2016
Derbyshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
Marvellous views of the ocean and jungle too, yet all the amenities are to hand. You can walk for miles in the national parks and not see the animals that wander into the garden, but none of them are intrusive. We had a wonderful time trying to photograph the humming birds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
elizabeth b wrote a review Mar 2016
Destin, Florida3 contributions
Hands down one of the best places stayed in our two month tour of Costa Rica. Y'all were so sweet to our wife (girlfriend at the time) and I when we showed up off the water taxi (with Ruby from London) and didn't have a place to stay because we were "winging it" and trusting her research. The views are to die for and the accommodations leave nothing to be desired. They have furnished all the necessities and plenty of creature comforts. The air conditioning is powered by Mother Nature which was just fine with us. Water falls to jump off of are a short hike away and the town is very quaint. We loved our time there. We hope y'all choose this place as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sharon L wrote a review Mar 2016
Austin, Texas20 contributions16 helpful votes
A stay at Aguavista is the perfect antidote for city living! Khalida and Alex are ideal guides for the area, because Alex's family has been here for generations but they have both lived in the US. The grounds are lush and the accommodations private and beautiful. Wake to a gorgeous sunrise over the ocean and the sounds of birds and howler monkeys echoing through the jungle. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen complete, and the private decks perfect for relaxation. We'll be back as soon as we can!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bren B wrote a review Feb 2016
Kirkland, Washington22 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited Montezuma in Feb. 2016 and choose to stay at Casa Cariblanco at the Agua Vista residence. The view from the house is spectacular and there's a hammock on the porch to lounge in and take in your surroundings. It's was probably less then a 10 minute drive down to the central part of Montezuma. You'll find good restaurants and a grocery store there. You can also hike to the waterfalls from the house. The communal pool on the property was great if you just wanted to take a dip and relax. The rooms have AC which made sleeping much more comfortable. The wi-fi worked very well. We would highly recommend a stay here, plus you'll probably run into some white face monkeys visiting the house.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Afroil wrote a review Jan 2016
Whitehorse, Canada4 contributions5 helpful votes
Agua Vista is the BEST place to stay for a private jungle get away! We stayed in Casa Morfo and had our own private plunge pool surrounded by gardens and wildlife! We say Coati Mundis and Agoutis daily! The bungalow was very clean and comfortable. And the hosts, Alex and Khalida were great! We would stay here again in a heart beat! Can't wait for our next trip to Costa Rica and Casa Morfo! Thank you Alex and Khalida, your place is beautiful!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Reena M wrote a review Jan 2016
Oxford, England, United Kingdom36 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Just such a beautiful place. Quiet, lovely cabins, views are spectacular. The only thing is the access road which is difficult and you DO need a car. Alex was great and so helpful with ordering us taxis. Would thoroughly recommend this place and only wish we didn't live so far away as we'd love to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Katelyn B wrote a review Jan 2016
Chicago, Illinois36 contributions18 helpful votes
I stayed at one of the Agua Vista cabins for three days this January and really enjoyed it. The cabins are set in a beautiful and quiet location with good views of the ocean. The cabin itself was very clean and included fresh linens, a kitchen with new appliances, hot water in the shower, and a comfortable bed in a bedroom with AC, which is nice given how humid Montezuma was. The cabin I stayed in would be a perfect location for a family or a group of friends, but also for a writer or artist looking for a quiet retreat. The wifi worked very well. My only suggestion for the owners would be better (bigger) signage coming onto the property, as the entry road is quite long and was difficult to navigate at night. Some more sensor lights on the property might also help. Otherwise, a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
agua vista hotel montezuma
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMontezuma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Agua Vista
Which popular attractions are close to Agua Vista?
Nearby attractions include Montezuma Falls (0.4 miles) and Iglesia Católica Montezuma (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Agua Vista?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Agua Vista?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Agua Vista?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Agua Vista?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soda típica las palmeras, Puggo's, and Cocolores.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Agua Vista?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Agua Vista have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Agua Vista offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Agua Vista located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Montezuma.