We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mango Moon Villa

200 meters east of Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio, Quepos 60601 Costa Rica
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (908)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (254)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#19 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Perched on a bluff overlooking the shimmering Pacific, nestled in a lush tropical rainforest with unparalleled ocean and sunset views, a mango kissed boutique hotel beckons your stay. Mango Moon Villa is located in a pristine area of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica where monkeys and birds awaken you and the gecko's and sounds of waves lull you to sleep. Eleven rooms and suites, each with private bath to accommodate couples, single travelers or families up to 5. Most rooms have an ocean view. Onsite fine dining Seafood-Latin Fusion restaurant, bar and breakfast area overlooking magnificent Pacific sunsets. Contact us directly for the best rates.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Snorkeling
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

200 meters east of Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio, Quepos 60601 Costa Rica
Mango Moon Villa
762Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 531
  • 132
  • 42
  • 36
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Softball_nut wrote a review Feb 22
Summerland, Canada261 contributions127 helpful votes
+1
We spent 18 nights here mid January to early February. I research a lot before our vacations and this place was exactly as I expected. Older buildings that could use a little updating but it was clean and everything worked. We actually stayed in 3 different rooms so I have a pretty good idea of what you can ex. First of all, every room is different and they Al have their own charm. All the rooms we were in had great views of the ocean and surrounding jungle. Our first room was a little disappointing honestly as it was a bit small and didn’t have a balcony. Large windows with great views and a sliding door that could be opened for a better experience. Unfortunately then you would have to turn off the air conditioning and possibly have bugs. Our first morning we met the owner, Fran who was lovely. We told her we were staying for 18 days and we’re impressed with the place. We said we a little disappointed that we didn’t have a balcony, as we like to sit and read outside before bed but we would just go sit down by the pool. No biggie. When we came back from our walk up the hill the girl at the front desk asked if we wanted to switch rooms, giving us the choice between two different spots. Well we looked at the first one which I think is the best room in the place, larger room, king sized bed, large balcony and the most privacy as it is away from the main building. We were very happy there for 14 nights. Towards the end, Jake, Frans son, asked if we would do them a huge favour and switch rooms again. Apparently they had a couple who had expressly requested our room and were prepared to leave if they could not have it. We were happy to help out as they had been so good to us and moved back into the smaller, no balcony room. Next day we were given the option to move to another room, top floor with a balcony which we did. It was a bit bigger and had a great view from higher up and a hammock. So we experienced room 10, 11, 10 again and room 6. Each had their own pros but all were clean and comfortable. The hotel is a little ways down the hill from the main drag but everything was walkable. A ton of restaurants and shops within a 20 minute radius. The included buffet breakfast was a great way to start our mornings. Made to order omelettes, plenty of fruit, juices tea and coffee. The breakfast ladies were very nice, they were also the housekeepers and did a fabulous job of cleaning our room(s). The pool is quite small but clean and refreshing. I don’t think anyplace heats their pools, it was +35 C every day so why would you? Great view from the edge of the pool. The furniture is fairly well worn, could use some work, no real loungers and a few well placed umbrellas would help as shade was at a premium. Was nice to have the restaurant and bar on site, we ate there 5 times and it was terrific. The staff really made the experience even better, everyone was so friendly. We felt like family after awhile, don’t think anyone has ever stayed that long before. Got to know Fran and Jake fairly well, lots of interaction with them, we were even invited to go along on an outing to see a turtle release with Fran and some friends of hers. It was amazing. We saw a lot of wildlife right there, Monkeys, toucans, macaws, iguanas, geckos and even a sloth right across the street. All in all it was a great experience and so much more intimate than the bigger sterile resorts in the area. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All the rooms are different, I wouldn’t get hung up on getting a specific room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
craftywriter wrote a review Jan 2024
San Diego, California1418 contributions304 helpful votes
We arrived late 10:30pm on Wed night - we notified them ahead of time that we would arrive late. They told me the security guard would have our room key when we arrived. I had booked and prepaid for 2 bedroom (1 king, 1 queen) unit, 1 bathroom, with ocean view. When my daughter and I arrived we were shown to a room with 1 double bed. When I told the security guard this was the wrong room he brought Jake down to the room. Jake explained that someone had messed up the booking and that another guest was in the room I had booked. All they could offer was to bring a twin mattress to put on the floor for that night and that once the other guest checked out the next day they would move us to the correct room. The next morning I asked Sara at the front desk if we needed to bring our bags up. She said no. There was something lost in translation because I thought we would move our own bags to the new room when we returned from our tour. We didn’t have everything packed up in the room. When we returned from our tour at 12:45pm our bags had been moved to the new room. At no point did they offer us anything for their screw up. I asked if we could have late check out on Friday so we could enjoy the room we paid for… nope. 2 night stay was less than stellar and quite frustrating. Worse the twin mattress they brought for my daughter to sleep on the first night, was sitting outside near the pool area for the rest of our stay. I assume this is where it always is. Not my idea of a clean mattress. Overall Room - no safe in the room. There was a mini-frig. AC worked well in both rooms. Our new room (room 3), was directly underneath the Korean BBQ restaurant and breakfast room so starting at 4:30pm we could hear them chopping things and banging around in general upstairs. Not the quiet environment I had hoped for. Don’t even get me started on the breakfast noise that started before 6am. Bathroom: Horrible water pressure took forever to get shampoo out of my hair. No hand towels, just bath towel and washcloth. Threadbare towels need to be thrown out and replaced. King bedroom - could really use a luggage rack. There’s nowhere to put your bags except the floor. Queen bedroom - small patio that’s just below where cars are parked. With the location facing the street might be noisy at night. View from the patio - ocean and the pool. 4 chairs, 1 small side table. The view was breathtaking. Continental Breakfast: Lots of food options both hot and cold, plus an omelette making station. This was far more than what I would expect for continental breakfast and it was excellent. Outdoor pool: Pool is not heated, it’s a bit cold when you first get in but you get used to it. It’s a small pool only 4 ft deep with a nice waterfall feature and rock edges. This property is a bit rustic. Plenty of loungers and table/chairs. There’s a bar next to the pool but it wasn’t open any of the time we were there. Honestly the trees around the pool provide lots of shade throughout the day so there’s no need for an umbrella for shade. Korean BBQ Restaurant: Open late afternoon/evening. My daughter ordered the pork belly and I ordered the rib eye. The meats were super fatty cuts, not what I was expecting for the prices charged. We did have pork dumplings which were good and 2 sodas. Cost was $82 yikes 😬 Sara at the front desk was especially kind and helpful. She arranged for taxis to take us to/from Manuel Antonio and gave us suggestions of other things to do. The location is beautiful and close to Manuel Antonio but I wouldn’t stay here again. Very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rachael B wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
My husband and I went for dinner and had the best food and drinks! The atmosphere is romantic and the service is wonderful. You definitely have to give Mango Moon a visit while you’re in Manuel Antonio.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jean-Pierre U wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Charming place and good location. Great staff was attentive. Owner and son were delightful and helpful. We were in the mood for some Asian/Korean food so dropped by. Would recommend and come back. Keep up the good work and good luck for the new year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Relax675958 wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
+1
The most beautiful place! So impressed by the staff, in particular Geiner and owners Fran and her son Jake. All were very warm and welcoming and helped us arrange local trips with personal recommendations and ease last minute. Gainer cooked two very special Korean BBQ’s which were superb. Jake greeted us on arrival and went out of his way to ensure our Manuel Antonio park experience was the best with a local guide. The property was so serene and peaceful with spectacular views. Jake also gave us great advice about a local bus which went directly down to the beach. 385 colones per person - so cheap. Easy to get bus back up. Fran who owned the property was full of advice and about living in Costs Rica. It was great to hear about her experiences. The rooms were beautiful and we loved the ample buffet breakfast. We would highly recommended this place and wish we could return soon. Thank you xx
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeffrey D wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The hotel is such a cute boutique hotel! Pool is amazing! The owner is such a sweetheart! And the Korean restaurant that's a part of the hotel is DELICIOUS! I highly recommend staying here! Perfect location and stunning views!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cheerfulshininglight wrote a review Nov 2023
Knoxville, Tennessee3 contributions4 helpful votes
I travel frequently and this was one of the worst experiences - my room had a leaky air conditioner, lots of bugs and loud music at night. When I asked the manager to turn it down, she was rude and barely did so. It is far from the beach and no shuttle service is provided. I was promised an airport pick up and didn’t get one. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fran Oh, Owner at Mango Moon Villa
Responded Dec 17, 2023
Hi Cheerfulshininglight, I am very confused about your review on our property as non of your discription align with what we are and offer. We do not play music at night not to mention loudly. I am the only female manager/owner live on the property and i do not recall anyone asking me about music. Our quiet time starts at 10pm and by9pm, the restaurant is closed and by 10pm, all lights are out. We are 15min walk or 5 min drive to 2 major beaches and that has not changed. we do not own a car to provide anyone any transfers. I kindly ask you to delete this review since it is not applicable to Mango Moon Villa. Thank you for your prompt respond.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megan J wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
This hotel is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! We stayed up here for one night as I was on a layover with my flying job. The staff everything about this place was insane. Special shout out to the hotel owner and her son for making our stay so special by taking us out on a trip to release baby turtles in the sea. This has always been a dream of mine! You will feel so welcome here if you stay! It’s also a fab location! Make sure you get up early to hear the monkeys when the sun rises!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carrie M wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We enjoyed a free upgrade with a fantastic view of the ocean and sunset. Lots of great birding and wildlife viewing without having to leave our room - scarlet macaws, toucans, lots of other birds, three kinds of monkeys, and whales. Listened to the howler monkeys throughout the day. Traffic was a little loud at times, but overall great, relaxing to pace to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Trail08935012255 wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
+1
The staff were marvelous. The were friendly, patient and attentive. The owner is often on site and is a pleasure to chat with along with his faithful companion “Lucky” a local rescue dog that is as sweet as the local fresh fruit laid out for breakfast every morning. (Jake, what is that breakfast seed/nut muesli that was available for breakfast? I can’t find it anywhere but I loved it accompanied with yogurt.) Our time there truly felt like a second home to us with the small number of villas and the open air spaces, amazing views and foliage coupled with the friendliness of the staff. It was all very personal if you want it to be, just be friendly with the staff and they will reciprocate. If you’re there for privacy, that is available to as the staff are attuned to your needs. It really feels like a genuine immersion in “Pura Vida”. You can be sitting on the lanai enjoying your perfectly brewed Costa Rican coffee and listen to howler monkeys nearby as a troupe of macaws depart their nearby nest for their morning rounds. It is all quite serene, stimulating and idyllic if it is possible to be all those things. I haven’t even mentioned the restaurant there called, “Carambola” because that deserves its own entry; but i will say this, some of the best dinners I’ve ever had in a hotel restaurant hands-down. We will definitely be back. Thanks Jake, Lucky and the wonderful people at Mango Moon Villas!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: •Take the time to speak with the staff, they are part of the 5 stars. Bring a small power strip...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manuel Antonio area.
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mango moon hotel
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasQueposManuel Antonio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANGO MOON VILLA $111 ($̶1̶2̶3̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Frequently Asked Questions about Mango Moon Villa
What are some of the property amenities at Mango Moon Villa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mango Moon Villa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mango Moon Villa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mango Moon Villa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mango Moon Villa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Indian Restaurant, Manuel Antonio Falafel Bar, and Hola India Restaurant Manuel Antonio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mango Moon Villa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mango Moon Villa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Manuel Antonio.
Are pets allowed at Mango Moon Villa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mango Moon Villa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Mango Moon Villa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Mango Moon Villa accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.