We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Villa Caletas

Save
Share
2 km after Punta Leona Hotel, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61102 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$288
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$245
View deal
eDreams
$288
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
StayForLong
Travelocity$288
FindHotel$288
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1995)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (658)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Villa Caletas
Updated 01/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 45 hotels in Jaco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1640Reviews78Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,152
  • 268
  • 115
  • 72
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AndyMoscow wrote a review Jan 14
Moscow, Russia13 contributions14 helpful votes
The hotel is located in a very beatiful spot high above the main road to/from San Jose and the views are to die for. But this is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel. I had a feeling that it could be the great hotel in the past but something has clearly changed. 1. The rooms are extremely dirty. I had several dead flies on the walls and a huge layer of dust at the ventilator and AC, hence I was even afraid to turn them on. The bed is very uncomfortuble either. 2. Service is very poor. Everything you need you have to ask twice and/or argue. At breakfast they first told me it's free, but then brought me a check for USD 35. At the private beach (nice one, but you can only swim at high tide), the last shuttle from it leaves at 3.30pm and there is nobody from the staff stays there after! Really? Why not stay at least before 5?? What if something happenned with the guest? Oh yes, and the shuttles are only once an hour. 3. The food at the restaurant is average at best. Moreover, when we came for a sunset drink they didn't want to sit us at the table because we were not ordering food (we just had lunch there 2hours ago)! My advice - come there for a sunset drink or dinner but not stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from frederic nepveu, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that enjoyed the property and the view, We sorry to know that you did not received the service you were looking for and are going to share your constructive comments with all our staff. Regarding the breakfast it is true that your reservation made through a third party (in that case booking) does not included it, we are sorry that you did not realized it. Our beach close for all our guests at 3.30 due to the fact that it is quite a ride to go down and up. As soon as sun set, we do not want to take any risks for our guests. Once again thank you for your review, we hope that you will give us another opportunity. Best regards.
Read more
MoSosh24 wrote a review Jan 4
4 contributions
The location is a beautiful get away. We stayed in El Barco. Our own secluded side with family. Only down is depending on season delivery to your room can take some time. You are away from amenities but the hotel is great at picking you up. Concerge was VERY helpful. Especially Miss Karol. She was amazing. Provided quality customer service. Helped with all our trip including shuttle service from and to the airport. Karol was our life line when anything changed in our plans very prompt and helpful. The spa also was a plus there staff also super. Ashley helped with scheduling and they have a lot of great masseuses. Framcine I believe was her name. She was great. Overall a very beautiful and magical trip. Will def come back to Costa Rica. PURA VIDA!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from frederic nepveu, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your wonderful review, We are glad to know that you has such a pleasant time with us and that our staff gave you the service you deserved. We are looking forward to your next visit , )) Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Read more
Lizzie wrote a review Jan 2
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
This was not our first time to Costa Rica but was our first time at Villa Caletas and we highly recommend a visit to this magical place. We stayed in room 19 with the private infinity pool and an absolutely incredible view of the rain forest and ocean. Although the pool was very cold, we still enjoyed a few swims and really enjoyed the mornings with coffee by our private pool and we had a private candlelit dinner poolside as well. We had a family of white faced monkeys in the trees by our pool one morning, definitely a highlight! The hotel infinity pool is gorgeous as well with an amazing view and full service. The private oceanfront is a quick shuttle (the hotel runs the shuttle every hour) away and the oceanfront is complete with cabanas, towels and full service as well. We took our trip over the New Year of 2021/22 so Covid was still an issue. Due to this the hotel was down 30% of its staff, making service somewhat slow at times but this was a very minor part of our experience. The staff at the hotel are absolutely top notch, attentive and friendly. We did a private boat tour to Tortuga Island and saw dolphins along the way… they caught a fresh fish and cooked it for us for lunch on the island. I highly recommend this experience as a compliment to your stay at Villa Caletas! We would 100% return to this hotel and will recommend to our dearest friends as well. We highly recommend a trip to Villa Caletas!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from frederic nepveu, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your very nice review. All our staff is thrilled to know that you had such a great time with us and received the service you deserved. We are looking forward to your next visit to paradise. )) Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Read more
Sarah S wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
This hotel was the first of three our family of four (my husband, our 16-year-old twins, and myself) stayed at during a 10-day trip to Costa Rica. We were delighted with the service and the location! Watching sunsets from the tranquil infinity pool was a daily highlight. The pool's setting--with lush-yet-manicured vegetation ringing it--was enchanting. Our junior suite was in a separate building on the property. It has a large balcony that faced west. We all loved watching the scarlet macaws and toucans flying past, then enjoying a morning meal in the nearby almond tree! Our kids also loved the hot tub on the balcony. Our second morning at the hotel, we were greeted by a large posse of monkeys in the trees lining the hotel's 2km-long driveway. We had SUCH fun watching them! The staff were very helpful in booking excursions for us. Stanley, the assistant concierge, helped us book a FABULOUS pontoon boat ride/crocodile tour, then suggested a GREAT restaurant (Vista Mar) to eat at in town. The hotel sent its shuttle to get us when we called at the end of dinner. Sure, the decor is a trifle offbeat, but the hotel is well appointed. The next two hotels we stayed in where swankier...but our family's favorite was Villa Caletas. Oh, and the villa's restaurant offers SO MANY options for breakfast--all very tasty and filling. And for dinner, they serve the BEST fish tacos and my husband had what he deems the tastiest tuna "steak," prepared perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from frederic nepveu, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We all are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We are looking forward to your next visit to Costa Rica and hopefully at the hotel. Meanwhile Pura Vida !!! manager@villacaletas.com
Read more
johannclatogab wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights and changed from a junior suite to a villa once. First we payed almost 400$ per night and at the beginning we didn't get a breakfast for the baby and later we had to discuss with the waiters, that a full breakfast for a 1 year old is not included but just a little bit. Additionally there were dirty dishes on the table. Additionally the service at the breakfast is (most of the time) very bad, with waitors forgetting the order or with unclean or half broken cups on the table. The capuccino at extra cost is just the tip of the iceberg and doesn't meet the standard of a 5-star hotel. I also have to say, that the devices in the gym - with 2 out of 5 machines out of service - are in urgent need of a renewal. What really shocked me the most, is that tablets from the room service orders are just put outside from the personal, leaving the possible food remnants to the animals - an offer they take. Just in front of our room the dishes were broken and all the broken fragments lay on the ground, which is not just an ugly view but also very dangerous. This happened to us 3 times (not just in front of our rom but partly on the way to our room) and even though I told the reception TWICE, it has not been cleaned and was left outside our room for 2 days. This is inappropriate and again does not meet at all the standard of a 5-star hotel!!!!! Again, I have to summarize, that the stay at Villa Caletas was in total a disappointment and apart from the beautiful view, there is unfortunately no reason to leave a good comment or to return. Come here for a dinner and enjoy the view, but don't stay over night. I wrote all of this to the manager of the hotel, but unfortunately did not get a reply.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from frederic nepveu, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to know that our staff was able yo give you the service you deserved. We are going to share your constructive comments with the different department involved and work harder. We still hope you will give us another chance in the future. Meanwhile have a great day and Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa caletas hotel jaco, caletas hotel herradura, villa caletas costa rica
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityJaco DistrictJaco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Villa Caletas
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Villa Caletas?
Nearby attractions include Jimmy T's Provisions (2.3 miles), Carara National Park (3.4 miles), and Neo Fauna CR (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Villa Caletas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Villa Caletas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Villa Caletas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Villa Caletas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Villa Caletas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jerah Authentic Thai Cuisine, Zona K Atelier by Kenia Salas, and El Pelicano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Villa Caletas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Villa Caletas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Villa Caletas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Hotel Villa Caletas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Hotel Villa Caletas accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.