We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel & Casino Amapola

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel & Casino Amapola
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Amapola Hotel was a comfortable hotel away from the main strip of Playa Jaco. Great restaurants, casino, swimming pool, workout room and indoor tennis. The breakfast was great to start off with. I loved the comfort area near the front desk to relax. The staff was bi-lingual and very friendly. Their pizza oven was amazing. A short work to... More 

Helpful?
Thank beauhodge
columbia, sc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

We had not really planned to stay at Jaco, but it seemed a good stopping point on our trip. A quick search on my cell phone resulted a couple of hotels priced above $200 per night and the Amapola at $100. There are other hotels in the $100 price range or less, so we were somewhat disappointed in the Hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank alhoy
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Thank you for take your time and write about the Hotel Amapola. All your considerations are positive and we appreciate that. We are located in a very safe an easy zone of Jaco, without all the noise of the downtown. We hope to see you again to offer you the best service. More 

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

The real good thing I can tell about this hotel is the food from their restaurant, no complains about it, actually very good food. But the hotel is away from the ocean, the facilities are not what I was expecting from a Barcelo hotel. Our room had issues with the air conditioned, the door didn't close, the curtains were in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deby A
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review. We are making the best we can to provide to the guests all they needs. It was very hard to have a well working wi fi, but finally we did it. We have a very large and confortable swimming pool, the most of the people prefer that instead of the dangerous... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

Not sure why they get 4 stars. The fact that you have to wear a bracelet (like the kind you get at bars or parties so that you can get back in) from the moment you check in should've been a sign, as should the fact that you get two towels when you check in and you can't leave until... More 

Helpful?
Thank lblancq
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review

Dear Iblancq, thank you very much for your good review. The bracelet means that you are a regular guest of the hotel, and that is for your security, your and for the other guests too. Sometimes there are problems, it can happen anywhere, the good thing is solve problems quickly. We hope to see you soon to give you the... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

After arriving to Jaco without a reservation at 10pm we were feeling a little weary about our surroundings and where we would rest our heads. The staff at Hotel Amapola was very friendly and welcoming. Our first room had a kinda urine-esq smell and the air conditioning wasn't working so after complaining they promptly gave us a new room. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lgabs
antonella d, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, thank you very much for your review. We are making all we can for your happiness. Hoping to see you soon Best Regards More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

This was a last-minute booking so we didn't have a lot of expectations. The hotel is really close to the beach and the main strip, but far enough away so you can enjoy some peace and quiet. The amenities are humble and the service is OK.

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
antonella d, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Paul, thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon again. Best Regards. More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

This is an all inclusive small hotel about half a mile from the ocean. Its facilities are well maintained but that is about it. Their restaurant is average and their service is just plain bad. Especially during check in and check out. There are better options. Keep looking.

Helpful?
2 Thank Juan J
antonella d, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Señor Juan, Muchas gracias para escribir su comentario, tendremos en cuenta su sugerencias para mejorar el servicio de check... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stay here every other year, in a villa at the back of the property, most recently in Feb 15. Although the bathrooms are basic, the water pressure is good, and we found the level of cleanliness acceptable. It really isn't fair to criticize them for bugs in the room- unless they vacuum sealed every accommodation it is impossible to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn5312
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Went to hotel Amapola with my parents during Christmas. Check in-time was said to 14 but when we arrived the towels were missing in our room and we had to wait for a while, which we accepted without any problems and went to the pool. After a couple of hours we agreed to take the room without towels and that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sanlon
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sanlon, thank you very much for spend time to write about the Hotel Amapola. We know that in the high season sometime not all is done well, we ask apology for the inconveniences. The wi-fi sistem is working well in the recepcion area and less well inside the rooms. We are changing all the sistem, because the property... More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was a little bit disappointing for the price. The rooms were not bad, but the bathrooms show incredible lack of maintainance, the shower doors didnt close properly and inside the shower it wasn´t very clean. On the other side, bed and air conditioning were comfortable. The pool and the gardens are nice. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mario R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#19 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Hotel is perfect por families and also for business. We have conference center, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis under roof. The wi-fi sistem is free for all the guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Address: | 200 East Municipality of Garabito, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Price Range: $98 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay