We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Pumilio

Save
Share
Del Cruce de Herradura 2 Km. Al Sur, 1 Km A La Izquierda, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$116
Priceline$175
Tripadvisor$116
Booking.com
Travelocity$116
CheapTickets$116
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (471)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (200)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 45 hotels in Jaco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Spanish
853Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 678
  • 114
  • 35
  • 12
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
FitTraveler702 wrote a review Aug 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada3 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights near the end of August 2021 and was a solo male traveler. I highly enjoyed my stay at this small hotel. The location of this hotel was excellent. It is about a 5-10 minute taxi ride to downtown and the beach. It is quiet at night so you can get plenty of rest but are also close enough to downtown to go back and forth. I did not have an issue with thin walls that some other guests commented on. The hotel includes breakfast every morning which consisted of fresh juice, coffee, tamale, omelets, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit and bread. You can eat as much as you want. The breakfast was excellent and was consistently good throughout my stay. The restaurant only serves breakfast so you will need to go elsewhere for other meals or will need to cook for yourself. I booked all of my tours through the hotel. I went on the ATV tour, Rio Celeste and kayak tour. The hotel made sure that everything was confirmed and arranged the pickups from and back to the hotel. I enjoyed all of the tours. My only complaint was that the Rio Celeste "tour" was not really a tour because the guy who took me had only been one time before and did not know anything about Rio Celeste and was more of a driver/companion than a tour guide. He was extremely nice though. For that reason, I think it would be cheaper to just book transportation to Rio Celeste yourself and go yourself as everything is clearly marked at Rio Celeste. Rio Celeste is a must see if you have the time. The hotel also arranged my transportation from and to the airport in San Jose. The customer service was excellent at the hotel. I communicated via WhatsApp and was able to order food and arrange for taxis. You get one free round trip downtown for each tour you book with the hotel. The hotel was very clean. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet retreat, romantic getaway or time alone with family. I would look elsewhere if you are wanting to be within short walking distance of the beach, be in the middle of the action downtown, party at your hotel or have a lot of interaction with other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would recommend the second floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear FitTraveler702, thank you SO MUCH for your AMAZING and detailed review! We are glad to know our staff was helpful and treated you like you truly deserve! So happy to know you enjoyed our boutique hotel so much and all the small details we prepared for you, excellent service is part of our signature!! We agree, location at Pumilio is quite magical and ideal for a good rest and also close enough to downtown anytime. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday and we value every minute that our guests are sharing with us. Thank you for describing our included breakfast each morning, we're very glad you loved it and were able to enjoy all of our different options, and as much as you wanted each day :). We're very glad you enjoyed your tours and activities, and that your experience with our recommendations was so good. We will definitely look into Rio Celeste's tour operator to improve that experience for upcoming guests!! Also really happy to know the front desk was always friendly and helpful and that you got your free trips downtown. We are very focused on the hotel being a clean and safe place, really glad you noticed it and that your overall experience was so AMAZING!!! Again, thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to write this. We look forward to have you leaping into happiness at Hotel Pumilio sometime soon :)
Read more
Nataschalea wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I visited Costa Rica and really just wanted a quiet place to stay, but also close enough that I could go to the beach. This place is the perfect mix between. Everyone was incredibly kind, the food was as delicious, and I was just as happy spending a day at the hotel in peace as I was going into jaco. The pool is gorgeous and refreshing after spending some time sunbathing. I highly recommend this hotel, and I will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear Nataschalea, thank you so much for your amazing review and for recommending it to others! It was definitely a pleasure to host you. We are glad to know your enjoyed our boutique hotel so much and appreciated all the small details we prepared for you, excellent service is part of our signature! We’re so happy to know that you loved our strategic location, as much as we do... In the middle of the forest, in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere, just 5min away from the beach, our boutique hotel is our hidden gem and we feel an enormous joy to know you appreciated it so very much. It’s also great to know that you also liked the included full breakfast buffet and Gastronomic Adventures so much. This services are loved by our guests because of the flexibility to eat from the best restaurants in the area, in the comfort of their suite, terrace or balcony, dining room or at the pool deck. We are very happy to know you will be coming back, see you soon!!! :)
Read more
Nimrod L wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions5 helpful votes
The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was great, but not all options were available early in the morning during breakfast time. On the negative side, the receptionist didn't give us any information about the area when we arrived in the evening, not even the WIFI password (which couldn't be found in the room). Furthermore, the room seemed clean overall, but when taking a new towel from the shelf, we found a used shaving knife that was left on it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear Nimron, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time in our hotel, and that you really enjoy breakfast. All options are available from 7am to 11am, usually when guests leave earlier for tours, we prepare a special breakfast on demand for them because it is out of the breakfast schedule. We're sorry the receptionist didn't give you information about the area or room, this shouldn't have happened and we will make sure this doesn't happen again. We have wifi password cards at the front desk and the concierge should've definitely give one to you, while explaining all the included amenities, etc. We're glad the room was clean but the inconvenience with the towel is definitely unacceptable, we have taken VERY SERIOUS matters regarding this situation. Thanks again for staying with us, we hope to be able to host you again in the near future.
Read more
Mike d wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The place looks great on paper, but in real life it doesn't look nice. Pool is dingy, and the rooms are cheap and have extremely thin walls (you can hear your neighbors breathing). I would have been fine with it, except the hotel staff was quite rude. I would stay away if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded Aug 8, 2021
Dear Mike, you have been trying to harm us for a while, for absolutely no reason. We won't even bother on answering to you anymore. Good luck with that energy! :)
Read more
Pura T wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
The people at the reception were not so friendly. Seemed more preocupied with the personal cell phones instead of on site customers. The placce was clean yes. But the service .... no way. We spent 2 days in the place then decided to go somewhere else. Sorry
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pumilio Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded Jun 29, 2021
Dear guest, thank you for your review. Your comments are valuable to us, we will seriously look into everything you've mention in order to improve. We're very sorry you didn't feel as special as we tried to make you feel, our staff really goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable and it seems like they didn't accomplish it this time. We're glad you liked our facilities and found a nice clean hotel throughout your stay. Thanks again for choosing our hotel, we hope you give us another chance to prove why thousands of guests give us amazing reviews regarding service! :)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el paso de las lapas hotel jaco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
El Paso de las Lapas
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityJaco DistrictJaco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Pumilio
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Pumilio?
Nearby attractions include Tico Pod Art House & Gifts (2.6 miles), Jimmy T's Provisions (3.0 miles), and Carara National Park (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Pumilio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Pumilio?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Pumilio?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Pumilio?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Pumilio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Mahi Tacos de Cholo, Ohana Sushi Tapas Bar, and The Beer House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Pumilio?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Pumilio have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Pumilio offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Pumilio?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Pumilio have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hotel Pumilio accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.