We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tortuguero Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$175
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/22
Priceline
$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/22
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Hotels.com$175
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1782)
Room & Suite (230)
Pool & Beach (181)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 50 Specialty lodging in Tortuguero
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
The lodge is strategically located only 5 minutes away from the extraordinary Tortuguero National Park, and right across the main "canal" facing the town of Tortuguero. Surrounded by a network of very scenic canals, this is considered one of the most exotic regions of the world, characterized by its rich in flora and fauna. Strategically located. 88 comfortable guest rooms. 14 hectares (34 acres). 5 minutes from Tortuguero National Park main entrance. Stay at one of our comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water and ceiling fans. Enjoy all our buffet-style meals that are included. Let's cheers with our wine when for dinner. Be our guest at our bar and enjoy our excelent service. Let us show you this paradise with our bilingual tour guides, during the entire trip. Take advantage of our daily departures from San José, with no minimum of passengers required. Travel safety as we get you around comfortably.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Poolside bar
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1821Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 656
  • 801
  • 258
  • 71
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gerrardscrossmum wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom94 contributions61 helpful votes
Had a couple of nights here. The food was lovely, all communal sitting. The pool area great. Rooms- 4 in a cabin. Walls paper thin, curtains not cover windows and the walkways around the cabins meant you felt a bit vulnerable getting changed! Bathroom needs an upgrade. Hot in the room- fan only. Military operation of getting you there, doing the tours and back to pick up point. Different order to our sent itinerary, but fine once we’d hit our heads round it, we thought we had an afternoon off once we’d arrived. Did the turtle nesting- again very well organised The smell of boat fumes got a bit much on the tour, I think I’d kayak if I did it again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cricri1709 wrote a review Jul 2022
Laval, Canada23 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is very special in the jungle. We were very lucky to see a lot of different birds and animals early in the morning. The personal is very helpful and always there to answer our questions or help us. If possible do not miss the activity to see the turtles at night. Thanks to all the personnel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ellie U wrote a review Jul 2022
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom49 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed at this lodge as part of a tour to Tortuguero. The communal areas (pool and bar) were really nice and relaxing to hang out after a warm day exploring. The rooms were basic but comfortable - the bathroom could have been cleaner the toilet was dirty and no housekeeping during stay. It was also very warm in the rooms due to there just being a ceiling fan. The food served was basic and pretty bland but fine for a few days. The staff we nice and guides very knowledgeable. One big problem was the lack of communication. On checking out we were told that breakfast was at 7am and we had to be out of the room by 9am fine. However they failed to then tell us until after we all had left our rooms that we couldn’t leave until 11:15am - meaning we were all sat around outside in 30° heat. This process was also made worse by the main road being closed so we didn’t get into San Jose until after 7pm. I appreciate the road closure is out of their control but they knew this weeks in advance and should have arranged to leave earlier.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kim C wrote a review May 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark650 contributions172 helpful votes
+1
Pachira Lodge is a nice lodge with 88 rooms and most of them are together in separate houses of four rooms together. This is really nice as it provides a more unique experience in the middle of the forest. The tours could have been a little more adventurous but I did like the guides knowledge and high level of service. The rooms are simple, yet functionable. The heat is a little unbearable when there's only a fan and not ventilation or aircondition. It takes a bit to get used to as a Nordic person. I was missing a few things in the room, e.g. a place to hang wet towels. And some sort of table to sit at during the evening when there is nothing else to do in the public areas. There is not much life around the hotel after dinner. It would have been nice with a minibar, a vending machine or a kiosk to buy snacks to enjoy in the room. It is a little annoying to have to go to the bar every single time I needed anyting. Food is....well, let's just say food is being served as an inclusion at the hotel. But I really miss a little more spice and creativity. Three nights at the hotel with the exact same tastes every night. It gets kind of boring pretty quickly. And the staff could be a little more engaged in their job.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Resort04316097492 wrote a review Apr 2022
Sheffield Green, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Arriving at the hotel by boat is really special and the location, in the jungle of Tortugero is what makes this a special place to stay. The rooms are fairly basic, but very clean and we saw no sign at all of biting insects in our room, which was something I'd been concerned about. The food choice was limited but I enjoyed it, more typical Costa Rican food and beer and wine were available - they were double what we paid in Tortugero town while still not being too expenisve. The trips run from the lodge and the guides are very good. The jungle trail which is maintained by the hotel is a great way of walking independently and spotting wildlife.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sillyboyz wrote a review Apr 2022
england251 contributions60 helpful votes
Loved the journey in and out on the boat. Stayed here for 2 nights last month and could have stayed an extra night. Rooms basic but no complaints loved the location of our room which was a long way from reception and quiet. Really well maintained grounds. Even though only a fan we didn't feel too hot and was relaxing to listen to. We had no complaints about the food and found there was enough . At times it did feel like run with military like schedules and some confusion over tables but they packed quite a bit in and we enjoyed the activities. Think our guide was called Marco and he was very efficient and informative. Saw plenty of wildlife near the pool -Sloth, monkeys ,birds and really enjoyed the walking trail at the side of the pool and the option of having a walk around later in the day on our own.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastián Castillo, Marketing at Pachira Lodge
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Thank you for ana amazing review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you during your stay. We wish you many adventures in the future and we hope to see you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
This is a nature lodge in a rainforest and does it very well. The rooms are clean and serviceable and the public areas well maintained. The staff were all super. Roberto in particular - when I fell ill he sorted everything and even came with us to the clinic to make sure it ran smoothly. It isn't a metropolitan 5 star hotel, and doesn't claim to be. It is in the jungle and the rain is heavy and noisy. You will hear this, monkeys and birds. You will likely get wet, you may get soaked (the clue's in the rain bit of rainforest).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastián Castillo, Marketing at Pachira Lodge
Responded Apr 3, 2022
Thank you for ana amazing review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you during your stay. We wish you many adventures in the future and we hope to see you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sisse wrote a review Mar 2022
Vejen, Denmark26 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights and it was a pleasure. The rooms were quite big and there were two kingsize beds even though we were only two people. The food was good and varied. Is was located close to Nature and wildlife, and the tours out there were just amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastián Castillo, Marketing at Pachira Lodge
Responded Apr 3, 2022
We appreciate you gave us a good review, we’re glad you got to experience Tortuguero’s nature. All your comments will be taken in consideration in order to improve the service we offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janet s wrote a review Feb 2022
flitwick98 contributions35 helpful votes
Fantastic setting in the rainforest, lovely pool, dated rooms but spacious and clean ( they are updating rooms slowly so request one! ) We saw some interesting animals close to the pool eg iguana, monkeys a a big lizard. I hoped to see more wildlife on the river and canals but it was very busy so I think they went into hiding!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastián Castillo, Marketing at Pachira Lodge
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Hello, thank you for giving us a review and for telling us about your experience with us. We will consider them in order to improve our service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel F wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful location. Large but spartan rooms. Bed creaked every time we moved and there was a revolting smell from the drains in our room. Food was terrible. Bland and no condiments available. When I asked for butter I was shown margarine and told "they are the same"!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalina Castillo, General Manager at Pachira Lodge
Responded Feb 1, 2022
Thank you for telling us about your experience with us. We will take all your comments and opinions into account in order to improve our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pachira hotel tortuguero
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonTortuguero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pachira Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Pachira Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Sea Turtle Conservancy (0.4 miles) and Panthera Onca Tours (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pachira Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Pachira Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Pachira Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Mi Niño, Budda Cafe, and Soda Doña Maria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pachira Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pachira Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Pachira Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Pachira Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.