We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca

Kaya's Place

Save
Traveler (144)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (35)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“craft beer”(16 reviews)
“playa negra”(22 reviews)
“pale ale”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (239)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Kaya's Place
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
92
55
24
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
92
55
24
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscraft beerplaya negrapale alethe ownergreat beerthe black sand beachin towncosta ricaprivate bathroompura vidaa couple timesstayed two nightscool placebri brilaid backblack beanscentral america
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 210 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2015

My buddies and I adored this place, with all it's gnarly wood, friendly staff, and the black-sand beach across the road. I just read a past negative review, but had none of the complaints mentioned. We stayed in room 3, and while the light is...More

Thank Katie C
Reviewed September 15, 2015

I have visited Kayas Place 4 or 5 times now. I stumbled across it many years ago, and am extremely happy that I did! It is a funky, eclectic vibe that is great for most people. If you are looking for a 5 star experience...More

Thank Randy R
Reviewed August 28, 2015 via mobile

First we only wanted to stay for one night, but the city and the hostel was so nice that we decided to stay longer. The manager Beka is a sweet and little crazy (in a good way) American. When it comes to cleanness and the...More

Thank Nina M
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

I had an exceptionally bad night at kayas place. Whilst the filthy, dingy rooms where you could hear all other guests, and the cold showers were a problem the main issue was the presence of bed bugs. During one night there my friend and I...More

Thank Jessica S
Response from Kayasplace, Manager at Kaya's PlaceResponded August 28, 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are committed to offering our customers the best service and accommodations, and any feedback is always welcome and appreciated. At the time of your leave, we were told the primary reason for you...More

Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

The above says it all. I would recommend staying clear at least for now until the bed bugs are sorted. We stayed in room 3, so definitely avoid there. We woke in the morning to around 200 bites each, we are both medics so fortunately...More

Thank Lucy S
Response from Kayasplace, Manager at Kaya's PlaceResponded August 28, 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are committed to offering our customers the best service and accommodations, and any feedback is always welcome and appreciated. At the time of your leave, we were told the primary reason for you...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1111213141542
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$59 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$59 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (144)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (35)
Pool & Beach (10)
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Bathroom (7)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
l0ve22
November 7, 2016|
Answer
Response from kayasplace27500690 | Property representative |
Hi, Good morning, thank you for choosing kaya's Place,you can make your reservation calling us direct to our phone number 27500690,we will need to know for witch day you want to make your reservation. At the moment or less... More
0
Votes
l0ve22
November 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from l0ve22 |
How do I book? I don't see them on airbnb
0
Votes
Mizz_Kay2013
April 7, 2016|
Answer
Response from Kayasplace | Property representative |
sorry for our delay. We provide you everything here. Linen, towels... and we change them everyday! Thank you for your interest and sorry again! Pura vida, Kaya's Place!
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"If you want strong A/C, get Apt #3. For an ocean breeze, choose one of the upstairs rooms."
Read review
"Beds are Firm"
Read review
"Get one with private bathroom!"
Read review
"The ones upstairs by the hammocks were nice, there was good wifi too."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite