We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samasati Yoga & Wellness Retreat

Traveler (377)
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (233)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Perched on a magical mountain ridge overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Samasati offers guest house bungalow and casita accommodations just minutes away from the beaches of Puerto Viejo. For over 20 years we have hosted world class retreats, workshops, guest artists and travelers like you! Your stay includes delicious vegetarian buffet served in our open air restaurant with breathtaking views. Also available on site are healing massage treatments, hot tub, nature trails, daily yoga classes and a meditation hall. A daily shuttle carries guest to the nearby beach town of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
402Reviews
11Q+A
87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 274
  • 67
  • 27
  • 20
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I visited Samasati for a week long yoga retreat. I can say our small group, each one of us, enjoyed our stay from the beauttiful grounds to the comfy Casitas with hammocks on the patios, and the yoga space, and the restaurant that served delicious vegetarian food. Most
Read more
I am an avid traveler and have done yoga retreats before. I have never felt so unwelcome in what should have been a peaceful getaway. Here is the only thing I liked: The setting itself was beautiful. They had a great jacuzzi that overlooked the rainforest and you could see the
Read more
I had an incredible experience here and would love to visit again. The staff was really helpful and the yoga was life changing for me. I did a private retreat with Stephanie and stayed in the preferred casita, and I could not recommend this highly enough. Every meal was
Read more
Samasati is not for everyone... just the trip up the hill from the base will count out anyone not comfortable with roughing it. But in our opinion, it is worth it to access such a magical place. The view of the Caribbean and the constant access to great coffee made it hard to
Read more
Response from SamasatiCostaRica, Manager at Samasati Yoga & Wellness Retreat
Responded Apr 5, 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words. A recent storm damaged the road but we have finally managed to fix it and it is smooth now. Hope you can come back to experience it! The running water issue you faced was due to a guest leaving the faucet on all night by accident and that depelted our water supply. We discovered the next day and resolved! We are glad you were able to experience the magic and hope we can host you again.
Read more
I wanted to share my experience at Samasati Resort with the travel and yoga community from my perspective. I booked a one week stay at Samasati Resort from February 16 to February 22, 2019. My intention for visiting Samasati Resort was stress reduction. I am an Indo-Canadian
Read more
Response from SamasatiCostaRica, Manager at Samasati Yoga & Wellness Retreat
Responded Mar 28, 2019
We are saddened that you have characterized us in a way that is completely opposite to what we hold dear and value. We are also in shock that you would think we value you less than anyone else for any reason whatsoever. We will try our best to address whatever caused you to feel this way, to go this route and to assume things about us that go against who we are and what we stand for. We are truly sorry for your anger. As we had explained, our trucks undergo strict inspections checks regularly and always pass. And in no way did we attempt to hide this from anyone. In fact, we had offered to have medical and other assistance for you numerous times and you refused saying all was fine. We had provided several free massages as well to soothe you. We were very happy when we saw you participate in all the retreat activities including some of the more strenuous activities and hikes. We will continue to operate in good faith with you to address your grievances and are hopeful that that you do the same with us.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
samasati nature retreat hotel puerto viejo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Samasati Nature Retreat
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonPuerto Viejo de Talamanca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing