We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
500 m from Puerto Viejo towards Cocles Entrada Aiyana Lodge, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (51)
Pool & Beach (13)
Room & Suite (11)


A I Y A N A Lodge offers you a pleasant way to take a break and relax.Our arartments are in a beautiful garden full of exotic fruit trees and plants.You will find a pool with waterfall and waterslide in it.Our apartments have a fully equiped living room and kitchen, 1 or 2 bedroom(s). We are near to town, and some of the world's most beautiful beaches are a walk or bicycle ride away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Horseback riding
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Show more
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
63Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 27
  • 7
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Are you looking for rest, relaxation and peacefulness, while feeling safe, but very close to town? As a solo female traveler, safety was a huge concern for me! I stayed in Costa Rica for three months and stayed in over ten different places. I have traveled the whole country, literally. The Carribean side is my favorite!! The temperatures are outstanding and the breezes are cool and appreciated! Out of all the places I stayed, I would say, I felt very safe here and this location is perfect! In fact, this is the best location and it has a pool!! Aiyana Lodge is everything listed above and more! When I arrived, I was pleased to see it was more than I had even hoped for. As soon as you walk in the gate, you are greeted with pleasantness and beautiful smiles. There is a desk at check in with all sorts of brochures and information. Check in was easy and I was asked to approve my room when I got here. It was perfect! The bed was comfortable, as well as the pillows and the sheets were soft. Everyone knows, a good bed is important and after a day of adventures, you need it! The kitchenette was the perfect size to put together meals and the refrigerator was nice and cold!They offer free WiFi and it worked great all over the property. There is so much to do and see in the area and at the lodge. The grounds of Aiyana Lodge are nothing short of picturesque. Everything is so green and the flowers are very vibrant! As I laid by the pool, there were some of the most beautiful butterflies I’ve ever seen, along with beautiful singing birds, including toucans, and the famous howler monkeys that live in the area. The pool was even bigger and better than I expected. It was the perfect temperature to cool down during he day and at night, it was perfect for night swimming! She has the grounds accented with the perfect lighting and there is a BBQ area, a large area for gatherings and four hammocks! There are just the right amount of lounge chairs and chairs to spend time by the pool. The waterfall in the pool and slide really set it off for the perfect combination for a siesta. In the pool, there is a seat with two jets. After some activities, that seat was a slice of Heaven! Everything you need is within walking distance and the beach is right across the road. If you’d like, you can rent bicycles and if you want to catch a ride, all you have to do is walk out to the road and you will be able to get a taxi or a tuk tuk or you can always ask the front desk. A tuk tuk to Puerto Viejo is only around 1300 Colones. The public bus stop is just right outside on the main road. I took the bus a lot. They are clean and safe! I would definitely suggest walking at least a couple of times though, because you never know what you’ll see walking: sloths, howler monkeys and all different types of birds, including toucans! At about a three minute walk, there is a store. It has most everything you need. If it doesn’t have it, keep going to Puerto Viejo, the main hub here, and you will be able to find what you’re looking for! The ATM is also in Puerto Viejo and you have the option of getting US dollars or the local currency, Colones. I found it easier to use the local currency. There are plenty of bars and restaurants near by. There are also vendors with home made jewelry, crafts, clothing and all sorts of other things set up along the street around the area. If you are walking into town and feel like a snack, fresh fruit is right there! Also, there is a produce truck that comes around. You can’t miss them, because they advertise through a loud speaker as they ride. One of my favorite places downtown to hangout was The Point. They have great drink specials, places where you can sit indoors and outdoors. The live music there was awesome! A nice couple from New Orleans, Louisiana moves here and opened it. The people here, locals and expats, are some of the nicest people I’ve ever met. They are patient and kind. If you don’t speak Spanish well or at all, they are happy to help. As curious as we are about there culture, they are of ours. So, don’t be afraid to ask anyone for help! Here, at the lodge, they used the current exchange rate everyday. Be careful, because some places don’t and it devalues your dollar. If you want to know the exchange rate, you can either look it up on the internet or just ask the staff. They are always more than happy to help with anything you need! They are very knowledgeable of the area. The beaches are stunning! Crystal blue waters and there is so much of the shoreline here that is untouched! This gives you plenty of options to have your own private beach for the days you are here. The ocean water here is pretty much perfect. The sand changes textures and colors every so often and you can literally feel the gradation under your feet as you walk! Black sand beaches are just right up the road and there’s one down the road too! There are perfect backdrops for photos everywhere and then black sand beaches fit that category perfectly! You really can not ask for a more perfect location! Make sure to spend some time on the beaches of Playa Chiquita, Punta Uva and Manzanillo. They are all a short distance down the road, al though I have walked the whole Carribean side, when going to Manzanillo, I took the bus most of the time. I stayed in all these places and I learned so much at every place I stayed, but here, everything was as arms reach and Playa Cocles, the beach across the street, is great!!! It is one of my favorites out of all of Costa Rica!! Be sure that if you come here, you will remember it for the rest of your life! Aiyana Lodge is one for the record book!!
Read more
We first stayed at the hotel 2 years ago when the administration, as well as all the furniture in the bungalows, were still quite new. Back then we really liked the hotel. Now, coming back after a couple of years, the place seemed extremely run down and not clean enough. Mold on the ceiling and the couch, rat droppings around the plates in the kitchen, all the furniture in poor condition. It is understandable that things break quickly in this humid climate - however, it seems that absolutely nothing had been replaced or deep cleaned since our first stay at Aiyana Lodge. The worst thing was the shower. When I used it, a tube came loose so the water went everywhere, and when I tried to attach it again, I got an electric shock. When I told the owner that, she didn't ask me if I was OK or any other kind thing, but just told me that I shouldn't have touched it. That indifferent response by Charlene the owner was not appreciated! All in all, we left pretty disappointed and will not come back again. 65$ for a bungalow now seems very overpriced considering the poor condition this hotel is in right now.
Read more
this hotel has a nice pool area which it advertises effectively. the pool is really nice, but the accommodation is apalling. matress looks 15 years old with dents, its almost impossible to sleep on. windows dont even have flyscreens, which means u cant ventilate them bc mosquitos will come in. this is just ridiculous. no net for the bed available either. everything is old and dirty, its just a disgrace. a neglected and rundown place.
Read more
We stayed at this place for only one night. The pool is quiet nice, but its the only nice thing. The rooms are very outdated and dirty. The pictures on Booking sites are not accurate. The walls are dirty, the kitchen is all rusty and we even found 3 cockroaches in the room. The bathroom is full of fungus and there are open electric wires attached shower head. Since the shower hose detaches every time, my boyfriend got 2 electric shocks. I ended up washing myself in the kitchen sink, because this is very dangerous. When we told the owner we found 62 dollars was too expensive for this place, she told us cockroaches in hotel rooms are very normal in Costa Rica. According to her, also open electric wires on the shower head are normal in Costa Rica. She did give us a small discount (she cancelled our booking on the booking site In order to do this, so we can’t review the place), but it was still way too expensive. We have only had very good experiences in other hotels in Costa Rica (that are even much cheaper), so unless you want to get electrocuted, I recommend to avoid this place. 3 last things: no WiFi in the rooms, very hard and small matrass and mosquitos everywhere.
Read more
We booked this cabins based on the reviews and and rating. We came and left, no refund policy. The refrigerator was tiny, dirty and rusted. Two burner gas stove rusted. Pots and pans dirty and cluttered in run down cabinets. No screens on windows. No ceiling fans. Strong unpleasant odor. No refund policy so money gone but still could not stay here. They called a taxi for us.
Read more
Response from Charlène D, Manager at Aiyana Lodge
Responded May 16, 2017
WHY LIE??? If you have indeed read the different reviews you should have seen that we do not offer a room with mosquito nets on the windows or a fan on the ceiling! You have mosquito nets on the beds and two fans on feet. The rooms are all clean and yours was clean, I checked the condition of each room before renting! Why lying and unleashing yourself like that. Does it relieve you? We have a very clear refund policy and if you had read it you would know !! In case of cancellation, we only refund if canceled 15 days before the date. You canceled because you were too hot, you wanted the air conditioning. So this is not a valid reason to cancel knowing you knew we did not have air conditioning. And to finish if a refrigerator like this does not suit you, what do you need? I must remind you that the room is $ 56 for two !!! You are not in a 5 stars hotel! You have been mistaken. So next time read the character of the hotel you chose before writing a review as it is so defamatory! Thank's :(
Read more
$67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Costa RicaProvince of LimonPuerto Viejo de Talamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aiyana Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Aiyana Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate (0.4 miles), La Feria Legendaria de Playa Chiquita (0.6 miles), and Playa Cocles (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aiyana Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Aiyana Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Aiyana Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Aiyana Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aiyana Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rico, Port Vell, and Todo es Posible.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aiyana Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aiyana Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aiyana Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Aiyana Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aiyana Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.