We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Wow is all I can say. A jungle bungalow compound located three minutes walking to the Playa Uva and the Caribbean sea. Highly recommended for quiet, peaceful, natural. Puerto Viejo is about 15min away ($10 or 5mil colones.)

Helpful?
Thank ChristophersREGlobal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Just beautiful!!! Cheap, clean, jungle, beach pristine water ocean, nice staff very kind and informative!!! Totally recmmended! Bikes for free to shop at supermarket, laptop with the best movies and a very big tv to watch them, wi-fi, equipped huge kitchen and BBQ area, board games, trade books, and more!

Helpful?
Thank Sjef M
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is a very nice place to go,very clean,close to the beach and a very nice place to stay! I enjoy a lot my stay. Is in the most nicer beach I have seen and a exotic close rainforest. Everything is so close, you have very close delicious restaurants. I recomend the place!!!

Helpful?
Thank Fiorella R
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

I was really excited to come here because I love open air hostels and don't care much for luxury stays. My stay began with me leaving my wallet and passport on the bus...so a really nice older man (can't remember his name) who kinda works there/maybe co-owns it(?) drove me to chase down the bus in his car so I... More 

Helpful?
Thank lastinger2129
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Walaba is a great place away from the city. As soon as I saw the place, my energy changed. I felt relaxed and comfortable, eventhough is in the middle of the jungle. I could hear all kind of birds in the morning, the monkeys at dawn. The beach is only 2 minutes away from the hostel. If you love nature... More 

Helpful?
Thank 333natalia
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Our stay here was a nightmare. We booked a beach house after looking at the website, and seeing all of the amenities listed. It sounded like an amazing place to stay... we were wrong. There was no electricity or running water. The landlord or whatever you call her was super rude and acted like a child. We left the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank 417ml392
WalabaHostel, Manager at Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses, responded to this review

You know Danielle (look at my eyes) that you all screw it up!!! 1st: Tons of messages asking for better pricing and never the downpayment of the 50% eventhough we where very patient and we fixed a better pricing. 2nd: You get here with two more so hipocrite thanking and thanking for being so kind! 3rd. We had so many... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

My buddy and me stayed here for two nights on the 3rd and 4th of January. I've been sick with a nasty stomach bug ever since staying there which is ruining the rest of my trip in Central America. We were told that the water is safe to shower in, but it didn't smell clean. Judging by other people's comments... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Pittsfield, Maine
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a budget backpacker in one of the dorms that was small but enough space for the six of us and our belongings. Lovely common areas with hammocks and shower overlooking the landscape. Just far enough out of town but across the street from the beach. Loved the laid back vibe and helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank tattooedtravelOT
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights with 3 friends in Walaba hostel, hoping to enjoy an amazing New years eve in the area, instead of that it was a nightmare. Just after 24 hours being there we ALL got really sick, and not only us, but little by little everybody arriving to the hostel got sick. We ended up spending the 31... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ines_Real
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

I loved staying at the Walaba beach house and hostel, even though it was out of town it was in its own little neighborhood along with a restaurant and some expensive resort lodges. I was staying by myself and my bed was clean an comfortable. I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes wood houses and falling asleep to crickets.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elias G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#3 of 3 in Punta Uva
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Butterfly Hotel
Blue Butterfly Hotel
#32 of 49 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 94 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 94 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Casitas De Playa Negra
Las Casitas De Playa Negra
#27 of 94 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Verde Guest House
Vista Verde Guest House
#9 of 49 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Walaba is a charming property located between the jungle and the beach in the South Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Our houses Caribbean style, are perfect for people who enjoy the tranquility of nature and love life. Our regular visitors in the area include monkeys, sloths, hummingbirds, toucans and many other species of birds, frogs, lizards along with other critters and creatures that mother nature has offered Costa Rica. We are located 5km from down town Puerto Viejo on your way to Manzanillo. There are buses during the day that will drop you off directly outside the hostel or you can get a taxi from Puerto Viejo. Punta Uva is quite and relaxed with restaurants, markets and bars with a local touch. Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses is a short 2 minute walk from Punta Uva beach; one of the most beautiful and well known beaches in Costa Rica and the world. Playa Punta Uva is surrounded by exotic vegetation and wildlife with pristine crystal blue waters. Protected by a rock cave it’s a perfect beach to swim, snorkel/dive, kayak or just relax and enjoy a book or the company of old and new friends. For those travellers who may want to veer from the typical budget hostel or party environment and feel the real magic of the Caribbean Coast, our multi lingual staff can guide you in any direction you want to travel. We offer: Free Wifi, kitchen, beds with mosquito nets, hot water showers, dining room & hammocks, open air terrace and BBQ, parking, bicycle and snorkel rental, tour desk and shuttle service all set in a Tropical Rainforest Garden. "Walaba Hostel – Your Caribbean Vibe Mixed With The Costa Rican Pura Vida." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Address: Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1451-2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $26 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses Costa Rica/Limon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay