We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (100)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Welcome to our unique style beachfront hostel and bar in Costa Rica. Located on Playa Cocles, 2 km from the town Puerto Viejo. Come to experience the wild nature and local culture. You can enjoy a drink in a hammock,, listen music at the beach and meet new people. Our 3 mix dorm rooms consists of 4 bunkbeds. Each dorm is equipped with personal lockers, private night light and electrical plug for each bed. The outdoor style bathrooms are shared and have hot water. Also we have more lockers outside for big luggage. Locks are available at the reception ($3) We also offer 3 privates rooms for 2 people each with a shared bathroom.Towel are included. - Room F: queen bed mezanine style reachebale with ladder, samall living room downstairs - AC included - Room C: 2 twin beds with fan. - Room B: queen bed with fan. - Room G: bunkbed, private bathrom, small closet, fan For a 'under stars' experience camping is available in our property ( $20 for each tent max 2 people).
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
164Reviews
128Photos
5Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 102
  • 48
  • 5
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Thieves. They did not have any functioning water for drinking, showering, bathroom, etc. and never mentioned this at all. Who would choose to stay here if they knew they wouldn't be able to shower outside of a few evening hours, no restroom use, etc. Worst of all, they kept my
Read more
Response from PLAYA506, recepcion at Playa 506
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Ujwal, We are really sorry about your bad experience. I will clarify the situation to not have more misunderstanding. 1- The Caribbean area is passing throw an emergency because of the dry season, there is not constant rain in the area, the Aqueduct and Sewage institute of Costa Rica sent an alert about the low quantity of water. That’s the reason why you couldn’t find water all day long, in the hostel we have water tanks to PROVIDE water to the customer at certain times at the day and night, also we put sing around the hostel bathrooms, kitchen, reception and the property, otherwise the staff from the reception always provide the same information at the time of the check in. 2- The staff also provide the information about when the reception is open and at what time they close, at the time you booked the shuttle, the staff explained you where you need to leave the keys and that you need to take your deposit a day before. 3- We didn’t receive any call or email by you. 4- Please pay more attention the next time that make a check in other hostels. Pura Vida! Genesis
Read more
Everything was beyond perfect. The staff are kind and welcoming, food and drinks good, but what really makes this place special is the location. One of the most beautiful spots on the coast at your doorstep.
Read more
Response from PLAYA506, recepcion at Playa 506
Responded 3 days ago
Hello, Thank you so much for the review, we are more than glad to know that you had a good time with us. Hope to see you again here. Pura vida! Genesis
Read more
Absolutely loved this place, we were actually staying in the middle of town in Puerto Viejo however the beach down this way at Playa Coccles is much better for lazing around on. We found Playa 506 by chance whilst out cycling when we stopped here for a drink. That day we ended
Read more
Response from PLAYA506, recepcion at Playa 506
Responded 3 days ago
Hi, Thanks for the review,we were really glad to have you here. We are pleased to know that we meet your expectations. Pura vida! Genesis
Read more
Playa 506 is a great place to stay, the staff is super friendly, the location at the beach could not be better, everything is clean. Very nice food and relaxing vibe :-) Lot of activities to choose from. Definitely recommended!
Read more
Response from PLAYA506, recepcion at Playa 506
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Dita, thank you very much for your comment, we appreciate it and we hope to have you back very soon. Sol Nova Pura Vida!!!!
Read more
I wouldn't consider this a backpacker hostel. It has forms, but the vibe is very chilled. If you're keen on a relaxed stay this place is perfect. Private beach access, hammocks and tables in the sand. If you want more night life action then the selina hostel down the road is
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Bunk beds w/outlet, lockers, & stairs.
PreviousNext
1234
Hi, you don't need it, you can bring repellent. Sol Nova PURA VIDA!
0 votes
Hello, I offer surf lessons with a girl the price is $ 55 x 2 hours x person includes transportation, snacks and water. Depending on how the weather is, I can offer you snorkeling and hiking tours in the Cahuita National Park.the price is $65 If you can not do snorkeling you can do just the walk in the park with a guide, the price is $50. The indigena tour is one full day. in this tour visit the iguana farm and medicinal plant garden of KEKOLDY indigenous reserve, over there they are going to show the process ho to make the chocolate, the last place that we will is a waterfall where you can take a bath amd enjoy a fruit snack, the tour will finish in a restaurant of the zone where we take a caribbean lunch The cost is $70 por person. Those are some that I can offer you Sol Nova !! Pura Vida..
0 votes
Nous n’avons pas de coffre-fort dans la chambre si nous acceptons une carte de crédit à l’établissement.
0 votes
Show all answers
Tiene habitaciones para 2 personas?
Hola Warner Si contamos con habitaciones privadas para 2 personas, una de ellas tiene baño privado.
0 votes
"Get the private room with A/C. Otherwise get a dorm, and bring multiple locks because the lockers are really small."
"I don't know, I just went the the bar for snacks and drinks"
PRICE RANGE
$25 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonPuerto Viejo de Talamanca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing