Terrazas del Caribe

Terrazas del Caribe

Calle Azania Hotel Azania Entrance 450 Meters Straight Keeping Right, Cahuita 70403 Costa Rica
Traveler (70)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
$166
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$166
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 special hotel in Cahuita
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
Terrazas del Caribe is an aparthotel located just 450 meters from the beautiful beach of Cocles, situated in the tropical forest and surrounded by exuberant nature where you can enjoy a warm climate, wonderful sunsets and a comfortable, private and safe environment. The property has 24 apartments (all completely independent from each other) in a private complex with a swimming pool. We offer 2 types of apartments: 1. Standard Apartment: Located on the ground floor and can accommodate up to 6 people. With proximity to our beautiful gardens and pool to enjoy all comfort making your stay a unique experience. Is composed of a large terrace with a dining table and hammock, a modern fully equipped kitchen (with breakfast bar and a double folding bed inside), a room with a desk (with a queen bed and a cabin) and two bathrooms. 2. Superior Apartment: Located on the second floor and can accommodate up to 8 people. With incredible natural views from its comfortable terraces, making them the perfect space to share. Is composed of a large terrace with a dining table and a sofa, a modern fully equipped kitchen (with a breakfast bar and a folding double bed inside) and a full bathroom. The main room has a double bed, a bunk bed, a desk and a spacious bathroom. There's also a mezzanine with two single beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
24-hour security
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Calle Azania Hotel Azania Entrance 450 Meters Straight Keeping Right, Cahuita 70403 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Changuinola Airport
24.1 mi
See all flights
Limon Airport
28.6 mi
See all flights
64Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 12
  • 6
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
thomas p wrote a review Mar 2020
Windsor, Vermont27 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay at the Terrazas del Caribe. The rooms were clean and spacious, althought they lacked "personality." (no art work anywhere, or local personal touches) The pool as well as all the facilities were kept spotless. The breakfast selection was great, and the one dinner we ate there when we arrived was delicious. Special thanks to Laila and Ramy for their smiles and service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rink64 wrote a review Jan 2020
Thunder Bay, Canada326 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night stay with virtually no complaints. Wifi was spotty; worked in the kitchen but not the bedroom. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff? Amongst the best I've experienced in Costa Rica. One chubby front desk guy wasn't very helpful and seemed a bit entitled, but the security guys were extra helpful, and the maids did a great job too. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David L wrote a review May 2023
Dix Hills, New York, United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic experience from start to finish. Excellent customer service by the folks at the front desk who were always responsive and very accommodating. The rooms were extremely clean, the AC was strong, and the water pressure in the bathroom was strong. The pool was beautiful and well-maintained, and the water temperature is perfect. It's located a bit off of the main road but is still walkable to the main road and a number of restaurants, bars, and cafes, and is very quiet at night as a result of its location. For a nicer hotel it was reasonably priced as well for the area based on my search. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely book another stay here if I'm back in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy v wrote a review Oct 2023
Minneapolis17 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please don't be fooled by the pictures.
The bad:
*We were told we would have a forest view. It was two palm trees next to the
reception area and we could see and hear everyone. This is plain false
advertising.
* Wiring in the bathroom was dangerous.
*They did not have drinkable water
*Nowhere on their website was this stated.
* We had to pay for the water with the exception of two small complimentary
bottles.
* This was because they had no filtrations system.
*We went to many restaurants in the area with drinkable water because they invested in a filtration system.
*The room key was rusted.
* Under FAQ the question about early departures... was addressed by
stating to refer to "terms & conditions" This is not addressed at all.
* We checked out the next morning stating our grievances.
*While they did offer us an upgrade we already knew that the major issues
(no drinkable water/poor wiring...) would still exist so we declined.
*Despite these issues they refused to refund us for the night we used or the
following nights.
This was all unacceptable and we plan on taking measures to reverse this decision and getting a full and total refund.
The good:
Absolutely nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book this hotel. Don't go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BackPacker673264 wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked hotel for 6 nights 7 months in advance . Once there realized nothing advertised was true, hotel agreed they did not provide what was promised and would refund money for last 3 days . We left early to go to hotel had ammentities we needed. After left hotel and manager wouldnt a swer phones or emails for days then would say needed bank info then credit card # then wanted me to open a national bank so they could do refund. After 2 weeks of run around same manager suddenly pretended none of a above happened, and made up story that he fixed all problems and i still wanted to leave so he wouldnt do refund . Complete lie manager is lacking moral backbone or any integrety. Would advise anyone to steer clear of this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from davidetO6699EH, Director General at Terrazas del Caribe
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Hello Mr i dont think we had the pleasure to meet since i was traveling the last 2 weeks but my name is Davide Al Taher General Manager of Terrazas del Caribe and Villas Lomas Del Caribe Can you please be more accurate about days you spent at my Hotel and which was the problem in order to me to run a deeply investigation and back to you and all reader here with details and eventualy a solution that can make you happy ? Please provide also full name of reservation and country of origin As you can see here and / or in Expedia or Booking we have plenty of very good reviews but sometime can happen that an employee or the person left to rapresent me while i m traveling is not able to take full decision till i come back , obviously you can as it is your right ignore my comments but i would like to have the opportunity to show that like per our reviews , provide to travelers the best experience, for us is the most important obbligation Hope i can have more details about it from your side in case you don ' t like to share your personal data public you can write me directly at Davide.gestioncaribesur@gmail.com or post here or in the OTA you used while booking your vacation and adress it as strectly reserved to the General Manager Mr Al Taher Please let me try to show you our professionality and avoid that an error of one leave a bad expericne and remember to you about us Thanking you in advance for any help you will give us in order to repair any incovinient you might soffered Best Regards Davide Al Taher
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Local traveler wrote a review Nov 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands467 contributions209 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First, this property is set back from the little village of puerto viejo. If you don’t mind trash and broken bear bottles littering the street and beach come. For some reason the Caribbean side in certain places is not what I was expecting. Really a disaster.

But back to the property. Beautiful space and plenty of room, but we seemed to have mishaps all the time. Lights don’t work, safe had to be unlocked and most importantly is the entrance door to the room which is a glass sliding door with some sort of electromagnetic door lock. Unfortunately it was not working so we had to have someone stay with the room at all times even though the repair person came back 3 times. Seriously thought that glueing screw plugs back in the wall board would hold the magnet in it place. Too bad that this could not be fixed otherwise I would have rated higher. They must have know it was an issue as the room door was completely open when we checked in.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Desk, Atención al cliente/recepción at Terrazas del Caribe
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Dear 1protraveler, Greetings from the staff in Terrazas del Caribe and thank you so much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the Caribbean side from Costa Rica that much. Here in Costa Rice, the Caribbean coast offers the richness of its culture, music, food, and its nature everywhere you go. Our property offers access with electromagnetic door locks, and as every other electronic device, it could fail at some point. Unfortunately, we had this unexpected situation and you were the ones affected, and we sincerely extend our apologies for this inconvenience. At the same time, I would like to clarify, we were not aware of this situation ahead of your arrival, otherwise, we would have looked for a solution instead of letting you check in into this apartment. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would appreciate if you could consider coming back in the future and check all the improvements that we've been working on since your last visit. Sincerely, Nancy van de Wall Front Desk Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dustymar wrote a review Sep 2022
Grecia, Costa Rica63 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcoming staff, very safe environment, well-appointed, comfortable room, and clean, pristine pool. After a long-awaited “girls getaway,” we drove from our homes in the Central Valley to a cabina we had booked online. We got there, and for many reasons the place was unacceptable, so over mojitos at a nearby bar, we scrambled to find other accommodations.
Terrazas de Caribe popped up at a substantial discount, and it turned out they were just up the hill from our favorite beach, Playa Cocles. We loved everything about it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Fully equipped kitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerencia Terrazas, Propietario at Terrazas del Caribe
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear Dusymar, Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very glad to know that you were able to find us after the unfortunate experience in the place you had originally reserved. We are glad to know that we were able to change your experience in the Caribbean and that we were able to surprise you with our service and attention. Thanks for your recent visit and we invite you to visit us again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David L wrote a review Mar 2023
Orlando, Florida21 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
$400 per night for this place that is too far from anything meaningful is way too much.
They advertise “free drink” on their website but that’s only 1 drink if you are staying 1 day or one week.
We tried to use the “free drink” at the bar but were told it’s only for orange juice with a shot of vodka.
The shower is awful with very little water pressure.
The bar and restaurant close at 9PM.
Save your money and stay closer to the beach because the super-long driveway is inconvenient to anything outside.
On a positive note, the staff was superior.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay closer to the beach where the activity and restaurants are located.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Escape10039348116 wrote a review May 4
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a day pass. Originally we were told $20.00 US per person including everything. Then we were quoted $35.00 US. That should of been our first clue. We ordered a hamburger and a bento box. The bento box was approximately 45.00 US and was mostly rice with some avacado hardly any tuna in the tuna roll and no prawns from what we could tell in the prawn roll. The hamburger was
$30.00 US tasted OK with the exception of the burnt bun. On top of that the food came out at all different times. In my opinion they are dishonest about what they offer and there pricing is inconsistent. Mgmt could care less about our poor experience. I would never stay at this hotel or chain based on our experience with the dinner and day pass.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SaprissAmericano wrote a review Jan 2022
Tamarindo, Costa Rica130 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our unit was very clean and modern. AC worked really well. Outdoor terrace overlooking the pool area was a wonderful place to enjoy our morning coffee and start our day. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Service was outstanding. The pool is great as is the pool bar staff. Fantastic, reasonably priced drinks and food. You will need a car to get to the beach, which is fine because you're going to want to visit other area beaches besides Cocles, such as Manzanillo, Cahuita, Playa Negra, etc. Everything you could hope for in a beach vacation. Loved every minute of our stay. The owners of the hotel also own an Italian restaurant called Cafe Viejo in Puerto Viejo and it is outstanding, not to be missed. Will absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: second floor rooms have a better view of the pool area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Desk, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Terrazas del Caribe
Responded Jan 22, 2022
Hola, muchas gracias por su estupendo comentario, agradecemos su reciente visita y nos alegra saber que disfrutó de nuestras instalaciones y servicios. Nos esforzamos por mantener un equipo motivado y que esto se refleje en la experiencia de nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos poder volver a recibirle en alguna otra ocasión. Saludos de parte de todo el equipo de Terrazas del Caribe,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Wendy v wrote a tip Oct 2023
Minneapolis17 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book this hotel. Don't go!"
Read full review
David L wrote a tip Mar 2023
Orlando, Florida21 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay closer to the beach where the activity and restaurants are located."
Read full review
dustymar wrote a tip Sep 2022
Grecia, Costa Rica63 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fully equipped kitchen"
Read full review
Harry H wrote a tip Aug 2022
United Kingdom26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find and eat at El Sol del Caribo, Chile Rojo and Tamara. Probably our three favourite restaurants in Costa Rica and all in Puerto Viejo"
Read full review
SaprissAmericano wrote a tip Jan 2022
Tamarindo, Costa Rica130 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"second floor rooms have a better view of the pool area"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cahuita area.
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonCahuita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TERRAZAS DEL CARIBE $143 ($̶2̶0̶1̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Terrazas del Caribe
Which popular attractions are close to Terrazas del Caribe?
Nearby attractions include Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate (0.4 miles) and Playa Cocles (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Terrazas del Caribe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Terrazas del Caribe?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Terrazas del Caribe?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Terrazas del Caribe?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Terrazas del Caribe?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Beach, Todo es Posible, and Restaurante El Sol Del Caribe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Terrazas del Caribe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Terrazas del Caribe?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Terrazas del Caribe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Terrazas del Caribe accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cahuita HotelsCahuita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CahuitaHotels near Terrazas del Caribe
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars