We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tamarindo Yam

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Tamarindo Yam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tamarindo Yam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
North Salem, NY
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very nice small hotel. About 7 rooms. Rooms (Regular & bigger) are quite big. All the rooms have 2 TV's, AC, Separate bedroom, kitchen, refrig, & kept clean. Room are more than fairly priced. If you are staying 6-7 days call them directly and you can get a better rate. Big thing is it's a short walk to the main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry H
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The two bedroom was big and spacious. It is a short walk to the beach. The staff was nice. The price was very reasonable. I would stay there again. Some things that I would suggest for the Yam. The first day we were there the room had an overwhelming smell to it. They might have been spraying for insects? Not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kmtk
summit nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was a really short walk to the beach and town. A nice feature was the loft, so our "young adult" could have her own space while still where we could keep an eye on her! We all had our own rooms and a family area! The turtle tour that they suggested was awesome -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank themegrose
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is clean, has a big pool and backyard, and run by beautiful people. Tamarindo can be a party town at times, and this hotel is extremely close to it all (5 min walk), but yet tucked away to have low noise.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days and truly had a great time. The first night was a little noisy from the adjacent backpackers hostel but the rest of the nights were pleasant. It has a great little pool in the center of the facility and all the rooms come with air conditioning. All the rooms come with... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucythecat123
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is quite ok but nothing more. It's clean. You have your own fridge and a little kitchen if you are staying for a while. The place was a little deserted the night we stayed there and no staff to be seen anywhere made it somewhat eerie. No one around to check us out when we left either. Nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rune S
tamarindoyam, Owner at Tamarindo Yam, responded to this review

you came to the hotel in the late afternoon. the manager on night shift showed you to your cottage. next morning you checked out early. we are botique hotel and we have all necessary in each cottage. the staff gave you your privecy and if you need something you can call the office from your room we are keeping the... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

i higely recomend, my best vacaition ever!!!! graet rooms ,graet service, quite and monkies in the morning. the the room has two floors ,full kitchen, free wifi and the best energy. pool is next to the front door. 250 meters from the beach . again - higely recomended !!!

Helpful?
Thank nevo a
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here four nights after reading all the glowing reviews here on Tripadvisor. I don't understand. We spent two weeks here in Costa Rica and this was by far the four worst nights of sleep we got. First, the beds are foam, but not like a Temperpedic memory foam. Rather this type of bed creates a crater which is still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
tamarindoyam, Owner at Tamarindo Yam, responded to this review

very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your trip in tamarindo. we did took under immidiate action about things that were un comfortable for you at your stay in the hotel. we changed all our mattresses. we changed all the bed sets - sheets,pillows also we reviewed all the rest of the hotel and as for now all... More 

gansoreq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we were exited to go to costa rica and we heard alot of tamarindo. we decided to pass few days in that area.we stayed in tamarindo yam and the experience was wonderfull. the room(big cottage) was very clean and had it all...t.v,a/c,free internet....and more. the service was great and very helpfull. very nice pool and relaxing place. i wish we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amit g
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our driver had a little hard time finding the hotel as it is down a dirt road, a little further past the center of town. Once he found it though and we were shown our apartment, it was a nice experience. It seemed more like we were staying in a little town and not just some resort. Not long after... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank altermood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.1 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tamarindo-Yam is a bran new hotel, constructed in 2007. Located 250 meters from the beach, are seven modern luxury cottages each with private tranquil garden, suitable for 4 or 6 persons. Located around a romantic blue tiled pool in the warm sun, each cottage is designed differently from the other, all with top of the line features and comfort such as full kitchen, a/c unit, cable TV, high speed internet and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarindo Yam

Address: Real st | 250 meters South to Kahiki, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: $64 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarindo Yam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay