We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
100 meters south of the Banco Nacional de Costa Rica west of Hotel Arcoiris, Tamarindo 2034 BXU Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$235
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$232
View deal
Hotels.com$235
Priceline$250
Travelocity$235
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (251)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (200)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#4 of 29 hotels in Tamarindo
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.9
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Gold level
A brand new, contemporary, eco friendly design that combines elegant style with the comfortable feel of your home away from home. We offer a private and secure setting, just minutes away from the beach, dining, shopping and all local attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Seating area
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Hindi
538Reviews17Q+A90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 505
  • 27
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Fijman wrote a review Yesterday
Venice, Florida26 contributions23 helpful votes
To start off with, we owe Bathsheba, Joe and team a huge apology for posting this so late... Sorry guys! We stayed at the hotel over New Year's 2021/2022 and it was just a fantastic trip! The hotel and staff were so helpful and accommodating and friendly and responsive - I can't say enough. They responded to all of our questions quickly and directly, made recommendations when asked and helped us book different activities. They answered questions endlessly and did it all with a smile. The resort is so clean and well laid out - it felt spacious yet intimate. It's located just far enough from all of the noise and people to relaxing but close enough to walk to everything easily. The daily breakfasts were a great way to start the day and it was nice to have drinks available later if desired by the pool. Special shout out to Bathsheba! Thanks for everything! Wishing you continued success! We whole heartedly recommend this hotel and won't hesitate to return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: some of the lower rooms have lounge chairs in front and hammock easy access
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eric M wrote a review Yesterday
Puntarenas, Costa Rica1 contribution
This was our 3rd stay. Always a great experience. Close enough (short walk) to the main street of Tamarindo (shops, restaurants and bars) but far enough that you don't hear any of the hustle and bustle. Very trancile and relaxing. Great helpful and friendly staff (got us a reservation at a popular spot at very short notice). Great breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lindsay V wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We stayed for 12 nights and would have loved to stay for 12 more! The location is perfect, walking distance to the beach and loads of great restaurants. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and modern. The whole hotel is in excellent shape. Everyone was extremely helpful with any questions we had and recommendations for everything. They arranged drivers to take us out to other areas we wanted to visit. I can't stress this enough, you will not be disappointed, just book the room! I can't say enough good things about this place, it's just fantastic. We felt like family by the time we left and can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Garcia, General Manager at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
The two of you were a pleasure to get to know! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We cannot wait to host you again for your next, well deserved, break! All our very best, Marie, Mailen, Bathsheba , Joe, Lily and Turbo!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Channing M wrote a review Sep 2022
Palm Harbor, Florida136 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
We booked after reading the reviews and WOW, totally exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by Marie who was exceptional and showed us around (and her sweet perro). Since it was low season we happened to be the ONLY guests at resort so we were completely spoiled!! We definitely had the nicest room there with private upstairs lanai, huge spa bathroom and beautiful view. But all of the rooms we peeked looked beautiful. Again completely spoiled and we have stayed at some really nice places!! The spent mornings and late afternoon sitting around pool, the room had expresso machine but they also had coffee downstairs. There is a back entrance that allows for an easy walk into town. We really can’t say enough great things about this place. We want to bring all of our Florida friends for a visit next year!! We will be back Marie. And thank you for all of the suggestions.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Garcia, General Manager at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us these lovely comments, on your stay! Marie does go above and beyond and we are so pleased that you were able to experience her genuine and heartfelt desire to make every one of our guests feel completely at home. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to stay with us. Please remember to message us directly first for a great deal. We like to show our appreciation for all our guests, especially those who return! Kindest regards, Bathsheba Goveas ( Guest Services )
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalia wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions7 helpful votes
This boutique hotel is unlike any other. It is near the beach and the bustling restaurants, yet tucked into a peaceful retreat where you don't hear the hustle and hustle of the town. We were met with an incredible, friendly, and warm host Marie who was above and beyond accommodating. She showed us around the property and to our room to make us feel at home. This wonderful place has everything you need. They offer free filtered hot and cold water, tea, and coffee along with an area with games, books, and more to include sunscreen and bug repellent to guests. The outdoor lounge areas near the soft, filtered pool water were made for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. The area is secured and you get to meet the lovely staff who like Marie, go above and beyond to care for your needs and wants. Marie also takes care to help you to arrange, schedule, and organize activities. Although my husband and I generally do not spend much time at our hotels when we travel, we found ourselves doing just that at this hotel. It didn't feel like a hotel, it felt like a spa. We loved it here and will be back. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Alexandria wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the Tamarindo Bay Boutique hotel for 3 nights, but wish we'd booked for longer! The hotel is stunning, and the bedrooms are beautiful and clean. Everything is super modern & high quality with all the little touches that you could think of. We loved the enormous bed! The free coffee, tea and water was a lovely touch, which we enjoyed all day! Both Bathsheba and Marie were the loveliest people and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them both. They also helped us arrange a really fun ATV tour. The location is perfect, a short walk to all the bars and restaurants and the beach, but far enough away to be an oasis of calm. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mel wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in Tamarindo for 5 nights in March and picked the Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel because of the great reviews, proximity to the shops and restaurants and that it was an adult only hotel. I would like to say that Marie was a dream, she was extremely friendly, professional and knowledgeable. I booked the estuary boat ride and a sunset catamaran and she was able to recommend tour providers and book everything for us quick and with no effort needed on our end. I can’t say enough about her professionalism and care she puts into her interaction with us. On day 3 of our 5 days at the hotel we had a second “manager” oversee the hotel on Maries day off. Our day stated at breakfast, which up to this point was great. Marie would usually greet us ask us about our stay and look after everything for us. On this day however we were not greeted as usual, instead the “manager” on didn’t even say so much as a hello when we arrived for breakfast. I honestly wouldn’t have even given that a second thought… had we not had the experience we did leading up to this. It was like two different hotel stays. We as guests had to have masks on to go to the buffet (completely understandable) but she and the gentleman that was also “ managing” that day didn’t seem to follow the same rules. He approached the buffet several times to get breakfast talking and laughing without a mask on.. didn’t seem like the rules applied to them. That night we went out to watch the sunset have a nice dinner and at 10:07pm we came up the back beach entrance as we had the other nights. When we got to the door it was locked and our code wasn’t opening the door. So we rang the doorbell and waited. After a few minutes and ringing the doorbell a few more times the door opened with the security on duty and the manager from breakfast.she proceeded to very rudely ask us if we can read the sign… and that we can’t use this entrance after 10pm.,.. it was 10:07pm. She was extremely rude, was scolding us and confrontational. She threaten to call the police on us and told us it was a private business therefore she could kick us out for coming in the wrong door…. Needless to say the evening got heated and we retreated to our room. Terrified the police would show up and we would be without a place to stay. I spent the rest of the evening on the phone trying to get us moved (we booked though points). We ended up moving hotels for the last night as we did not feels safe or welcomed at this hotel. I work in the hotel industry and have for 20 years. I understand rules and hotel security. I followed every rule the place had. What I didn’t realize was that we couldn’t come in that door after 10pm. I also know we didn’t roll up at 3am intoxicated yelling and screaming. We are paying guests of the hotel, she made us feel like she was doing us a favour by letting us stay there and treated us very poorly…. This person should NOT be customer facing. She has no interest in the hotel guests or their comfort. Our last day in Tamarindo was ruined because of her. If you are going to book here please be aware that after 10pm they except you to walk down a dark red clay dirt road that has sharp rocks everywhere…, it’s unsafe and you can’t get the clay off your shoes or skin. Extremely disappointed in our stay here and will NEVER go back and NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Garcia, General Manager at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 23, 2022
The incident you describe plays out very differently in our memory but I see little point in a " he said she said " themed debate on this forum. Every single member of staff at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel is fully committed to providing the very best guest experience for all visitors who have chosen to stay with us. Unfortunately, we do need to operate within a few policies and parameters that make the property safe and secure for both guests as well as those of us who live and work here. It pains us that this was the source of so much discord and antagonism that our employee felt threatened and unsafe at her job. We will learn from this and move forward. Best regards, Bathsheba Goveas ( Guest Relations )
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alec S wrote a review May 2022
Parsippany, New Jersey4 contributions1 helpful vote
Perfect boutique hotel just a couple of minutes walk from restaurants and the beach! My wife and I loved it. Just far enough from downtown that all you hear are the birds every morning and night. Pool, delicious breakfast, multiple covered outdoor lounge areas, workout area all made the property just perfect. The covered areas by the pool are perfect for the early evening rain showers. Added bonus, it's adults only! The staff as a whole have been brilliant: Bathsheba welcomed us after normal check-in hours and showed us the lay of the land of the whole hotel. Marie set up surf lessons for us and gave us multiple restaurant recommendations. Both were gracious and outgoing, as we're the rest of the hotel staff. 10/10 overall! Would come back in a heartbeat!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David G wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
We stayed here for almost a week when we visited Costa Rica a few weeks ago. Really enjoyed the chilled out vibe and the owner was very accommodating when we needed to make some late changes to our booking which was greatly appreciated. Would recommend staying here to anyone passing this way.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sean.veets wrote a review Apr 2022
Vancouver, Canada61 contributions79 helpful votes
Really happy with this hotel choice in Tamarindo. Once you get in off the dusty street you step into a garden oasis with friendly staff, clean facilities and a great location. The property had a small pool for a dip and lots of lounging areas around with shading. I like that there was cornhole and hammocks around the property as well. The location is super easy to walk to restaurants and bars through the back pathway shortcut. There is also ample parking outside the hotel. It was a bit more of a tranquil atmosphere, so maybe not the right vibe if you are looking for a party hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteTamarindo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMARINDO BAY BOUTIQUE HOTEL $173 ($̶2̶8̶3̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Costa Rica

Frequently Asked Questions about Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Papaya Con Leche (0.2 miles), Beach & Pool Crawl (0.3 miles), and Lydia Beech Art Boutique (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antichi Sapori Sicilian Cuisine, Falafel Bar Tamarindo - Mediterranean Cuisine, and Ocean Restaurant & Beach Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Hindi.
Is Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.