We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Palm Beach Estates Cabo Velas, Playa Grande 50308 Costa Rica
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/17/21
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline$79
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (236)
360
Panoramas (3)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Playa Grande
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Our small Boutique Hotel is situated in the Northwest of Guanacaste on a peninsula bordering directly on Marino Las Baulas National Park. We are 100m from the almost deserted endless beach of Playa Grande. In our beautiful double rooms & tropical garden you will find tranquility & relaxation in soothing seclusion. Our atmospheric Bistro invites you to tasty culinary excursions for your eyes and taste. Our experienced team looks after you with great care, doing their very best to make your holiday a pleasantly unforgettable one. Our extremely accommodating staff will always be more than happy to help you with anything you need from tour booking to make Cantarana a home away from home. Surfing is only one minute away from our front door and perfect for all level of surfers. We offer surf lessons and board rentals. Thank you for choosing us Cantarana Team
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Car hire
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
347Reviews9Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 282
  • 45
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kathy K wrote a review May 2021
loomis ca941 contributions398 helpful votes
About 1:15 min drive from Liberia airport. We really enjoyed the relaxed vibe of this small beach town. With only 5 rooms, it had a wonderful relaxed vibe and very friendly and accommodating staff. We arrived very early, hours before check in. We stored our bags in the office, were given towels to enjoy the beach(3 minute walk away), relaxed by the pool and cabana with a swim and a cold beverage while our rooms were being prepared. Two couples traveling. We were upstairs, nice balcony overlooking the pool with chairs, table, and hammock. Guest rooms were very clean and well appointed for a beach hotel. Frig, coffee maker, safe. Everything you need. Nice happy hour at the restaurant $5 drinks. Dinner was good and reasonably priced. We would definitely recommend if you are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We loved the upstairs rooms for more privacy, but if you are downstairs, your room is right by...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Wayne M wrote a review Feb 2020
Hilltown, Pennsylvania31 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is the 7th year in a row my wife and I have traveled to Costa Rica and more specifically Playa Grande and the Hotel Cantarana. Each year we enjoy our visit more and more. There are only 5 rooms and the hotel along with their restaurant and bar are generally quiet and peaceful. We look forward to seeing old familiar faces along with new friends each time we go. Located just a few minutes from the beautiful Playa Grande beach this hotel treats you like you are family. New this year are hammocks on the patio of each room, new refrigerators and a/c units, bedding and sheets and a few toiletries in the bath. There is a lovely quiet pool in the middle of the grounds and the meals provided at breakfast, lunch and dinner are delicious. They feature a happy hour and the staff go out of their way to take care of you. In addition to Mario who we met last year, Mike, Thomas, Sara and Operations Mgr. Liz are amazing. Courteous, knowledgeable and attentive, you could not ask for a nicer staff to oversee your stay. They will set up tours and reservations for you if needed and offer yoga 3x a week at their sister hotel just a few hundred feet away. We have already made our reservations for next year, its that great a place! Just 7 years ago I vowed I would never vacation in the same place twice, that was until we found Hotel Cantarana. So glad we did!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico d, Propietario at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Hola Wayne and Donna, Is always so nice to host you every year! We see you part of the family! We are excite for your next visit! We hope every time you visit us you can see the improvements!! In behalf of our entire team, we appreciate your good comments for our costumer service staff! Pura Vida Fede
Read more
Michal wrote a review Feb 2021
Prague, Czech Republic2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel Cantarana is an amazing place, very quiet far from loud Tamarindo. The room was very clean, with the daily cleaning. Water is ok to drink from the tap. One of the best things is the restaurant that is amazing for breakfast and dinner, the food is just delicious and service is very friendly. Its very close to the beach, where i recommend to watch the sunset. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Greeting from Czech Republic and Chile.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Amberzo wrote a review Dec 2020
Tallahassee, Florida225 contributions88 helpful votes
Well, when we first arrived there was no one there to check us in. We had received an email stating that if we arrived late (after 9pm) they would leave instructions for us but since we got there at 5pm we thought we would not have to worry about that. There was no one there. Office was locked up tight and there was literally no one around. I tried calling three times. No answer. I emailed. No response. So after wandering around in the rain for about 30 minutes a random guy pulls up on an atv. We finally asked him if he knew where the staff was an he's like, 'oh, you're here to check in? I think you're staying back here' and leads my husband back to a room somewhere with a key just stuck in the door. Ok. Well I guess through osmosis we were just supposed to know that. We get all of stuff lugged back there and there are no light bulbs in most of the light fixtures and ants everywhere. Whatever. We moved some lightbulbs around and just deal with the ants. It's around this time that I finally get an email back from someone at the property saying, 'oh yeah, sorry, we're at our other hotel up the road'. Apparently we were also supposed to know this by osmosis. By this point I am livid but also exhausted so we just deal with it, take a swim and turn on the tv to relax before going to bed. Of course the tv doesn't work. We go to bed, get up in the morning ready for a new day and to leave the awfulness behind us from the previous night. Go to get our free breakfast before we hit the road for a 5 hour drive and guess what? Restaurant is not open. Chained off at the stairs. Unreal. I will absolutely go back to Costa Rica and Playa Grande but even if this hotel was offered to us for free I would not stay there again. Zero customer service. Literally. We didn't see one staff member the entire time we were there. There don't exist.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: avoid at all costs
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico de Mezerville, Director General at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Dec 7, 2020
Hola Amber, Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel ! We normally are very good costumer service and we truly believe our guest have a great time with us! Is been a very hard year for us, because of the pandemic lots of issues, let go a lot of staff and try to survive this hard times. We are doing our best to be ready for our guests, so we apologize for the inconvenience! You do get indications how to proceed in your only night with us! Restaurant was close but open for our guest to provide your breakfast at 8am. So we think you had all the info you need to have a good time, also we provide a costumer service number so you can reach us anytime! So thank you for let us know your position! We truly wish you the best and happy holidays! Pura Vida
Read more
RFussell2015 wrote a review Jun 2020
Cebu Island, Philippines6 contributions6 helpful votes
Easy to get to, refreshing unheated pool, nice views from our second floor room, delicious breakfast, quiet surroundings, 3 min walk to beach, 5 min walk, nice comfy room w balcony and hammock, comfy bed, great tv, nice owner who wa very accommodating, excellent breakfast to restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico de Mezerville, Director General at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Hola!! Thank you, so much for your time sharing your experience! Thank you for comment in our service and restaurant! Hope to see you in the future! Please stay safe! Pura Vida
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cantarana hotel playa grande
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Grande
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Cantarana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Cantarana?
Nearby attractions include Lydia Beech Art Boutique (1.5 miles), Spa Maya (1.9 miles), and Papaya Con Leche (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Cantarana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Cantarana?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Cantarana?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Cantarana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Cantarana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, Antichi Sapori Sicilian Cuisine, and Waffle Monkey.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Cantarana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Cantarana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is Hotel Cantarana accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.