We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,153: English reviews
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I was a little nervous after reading the reviews about this place. After staying here a week I can definitely say that the negative comments were completely unfounded. This is a nice place to relax and have fun. The rooms - first, location. Yes, many people said you should get a room close to the main pool. That is more... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Trufflesrgood
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear Trufflesrgood, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed a great vacation with us, that our culinary offer was satisfactory and that you appreciate the friendly service of our people, as well, it's great to hear that you took a little time to explore more of... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Playa Conchal – The Westin review Visiting Playa Conchal in Costa Rica was the perfect experience melding nature, wildlife & decadence! We recently stayed at the Westin Playa Conchal in November. It was a wonderful experience and we would love to go back. This was our first visit to Costa Rica, I hope this review provides some good information for... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank M D
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear M D, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear that you had a renewal vacation in our Royal Beach Club and took advantage of the exclusive services of this area, as well, we appreciate your kind comments about our culinary offer, we're glad you enjoyed it! The next time you visit Costa Rica, we... More 

Oswego, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Resort had best of both worlds. The pool area is phenomenal. Very large area so it seems like there are not many people around. Walk a few hundred steps and you are on a beautiful beach where you can get fresh Cerviche, Grilled fish or chicken kabobs. All fresh and delishes. Place was truly fantastic and will be back for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear Joe B, Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We're glad to hear that you had a renewal getaway and enjoyed the beautiful nature of our resort. We will be waiting for your next visit. Warm regards from Costa Rica, Zasha Pérez Gallardo PR Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Personally, I wouldn't return. Compared to other beaches this beach was not great. You are totally cut off from local culture. It may as well have been in Florida or anywhere in the U.S. If you want Americanized food, syrupy frozen drinks and no local culture then you will be fine there If you don't drink alcohol it is way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel10006
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear Travel10006, Thanks for sharing your comments with us. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Conchal is recognized as one of the best beaches in Costa Rica, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy it, but we appreciate your comments about some opportunity areas that we can improve and offer a better... More 

Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We very much enjoyed our experience at the Westin. The setting on a white-sand beach is spectacular. And the service by the staff was amazing. Food was very good as well. We really liked everything, and you can't have too many fruit smoothies while you're relaxing in the pool! The one thing we didn't like was the layout of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PHS1001
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear PHS1001, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you had a great time in our resort and enjoyed our culinary offer, warm service and the beautiful beach Conchal. As well, we appreciate your constructive comments to improve in our opportunity areas and offer a better experience to our guests. Hope to welcome you back... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We were looking for an interesting getaway towards the end of February, and were intrigued by the idea of Costa Rica. Our travel agent suggested this hotel and we were not disappointed. To start, the resort grounds are lovely (although difficult to walk around on the cobblestones in heels). The shuttles run pretty regularly if you dont want to walk,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunaAndDarrell
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear ShaunaAndDarrell, Thank you very much for sharing your amazing feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you had a beautiful vacation and enjoyed the culinary offer, the gorgeous wildlife and our golf course with great views and nature. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we can’t wait to welcome you back again. Warm regards and pura vida!... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Leaving tomorrow after a 7 day stay. Excellent services, great food. Definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great get away. I did not utilize the spa facilities but I am sure they were nice. I did however, visit the vendors on the beach and got a terrific massage from a local girl. Her name was Grace. Please... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy C
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear Peggy C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We're happy to hear that you had a renewal getaway in our resort and enjoyed our attentive service and culinary offer. Hope to welcome you back again soon for another memorable visit. Warm regards from Costa Rica, Zasha Pérez Gallardo PR Manager More 

canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We just returned from a week's vacation for my son's & daughter in law's wedding. We had almost 40 in our group and I'm so glad they chose this resort for their wedding. The resort itself is spectacular. The food was beyond wonderful. Hard to believe it was all inclusive. Restaurant reservations were never a problem as some posts I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kmonopoli
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear kmonopoli, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments with us. We're honored to have been part of this celebration, and we're really happy to hear that everything was perfect for this special date. As well, we truly appreciate your kind words about Heidy, she's an amazing professional and we're glad to have her... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

This is the second time I have been to this resort in the last year. The resort is amazing, the food and drink are very good for an all inclusive resort. But what has set it apart in my mind is the staff here. They are extremely gracious and always work hard to take good care of you. A case... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank roxie1985
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear roxie1985, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so sorry to hear about this misunderstanding during your husband birthday. While we take great pride in ensuring that our guests receive only the best from The Westin Golf Resort & Spa Playa Conchal, we also understand that mistakes happen in the day to day operation... More 

Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We arrived "before" our luggage and the staff could not have been more helpful. Sparkling wine and chocolate dipped strawberries in our beautiful room. We stayed in the Royal Beach Club. What a place! Wonderful staff at the pool, bar and front desk area. Nice nightly happy hour with small plates to tied us over until our 8:00 dinner reservation.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CWFSantaCruz_CA
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review

Dear CWFSantaCruz_CA, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're glad to hear that you had a beautiful time in our Royal Beach Club and yuo felt pampered by our staff. We truly appreciate your words and hope to have you back soon in our resort for another memorable experience. Warm regards, Zasha Pérez Gallardo PR Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3,479 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2989)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (729)
Viewed
Room/Suite (282)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (780)
Viewed
Dining (173)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (28)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (903)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (416)
Viewed
Amenities (99)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Family Junior Suite (40)
Viewed
Main Pool (36)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Royal Beach Club Room (40)
Viewed
Royal Pool (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
7.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
17.6 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Price Range: $337 - $1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Media 8, Inc., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay