We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hospedaje Dodero

Certificate of Excellence
100 mts Norte y 25 mts oeste de la estacion de buses de Liberia | 100 meters north & 25 meters west of the Liberia bus station, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hospedaje Dodero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't know what to expect from this hostel in Liberia. There was a group of 7 of us and we all had an enjoyable stay. The good things: Clean rooms and open areas. Comfortable beds and pillows. Good AC for those hot nights. Nice back patio, hammocks in the front and back to relax in. Hosts Shawn & Jesus... More 

Helpful?
Thank NixMason
Bogota, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much from a budget option hostel in Costa Rica but definitely not worth revisiting. I booked for me and a friend on hostelworld and had emailed them 3 weeks in advance letting them know he wouldn't make it. Tried to charge me for both beds and flat out didn't believe that I had been an email contact with... More 

Helpful?
Thank craig s
HospedajeDodero, Owner at Hospedaje Dodero, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. There seems to be some confusion about cancelling your companions reservation and the transport you scheduled from the airport. Your companion's reservation was cancelled but you had still arranged transport from the airport which is $20 for up to 2 persons. For some reason you thought it was going to be half since he... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Location is close to the bus depot. It's a small hostel but currently renovating to add more rooms. One of the managers, Hesus, is unbelievably knowledgable, well-organized, and detail-oriented. The map he gives out has all the details you'll need to know, not just in navigating the city, but also the different options outside the city - ex. navigating the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19izzy82
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

First the good things: dorm and kitchen are clean, hosts are nice an the bus station is only 2 minutes away. But it is not a place if you want to sleep long: the dorm is right next to a busy street, so sleeping after 6 am is almost impossible. Beside that also the cars of the owners are right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The hostel was very nice. The owners are very nice and friendly. The rooms are clean. The courtyard in the backyard is super chill. The tours are great and worth the price. The hostel is within walking distance of pretty much the whole city.

Helpful?
Thank Chester W
North Smithfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

This place was great. Clean and had a cute backyard. The outdoor kitchen is functional and bathrooms kept really clean. The workers were kind and attentive. The only annoying thing is they don't give you keys so you have to ring a bell when you go in or out. Besides that, I would recommend this place if going to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany D
trondheim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

My girlfriend had come down with some tropical disease, and we came to Dodero after a quite exhausting border crossing. It's literally 3 minutes from the bus station and very easy to find, and Jesus, the owner was very welcoming. He even made a garlic spaghetti for my girlfriend to make her feel better, and the room was clean with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thegypsyviking
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Met owner and was really friendly and helpful and ensured transportation out of Liberia as well as transportation to the airport was all set up. In fact I got a ride from Jesus (pronounced "Hay-zus") straight to the airport on my departure day since having a very early flight. Located steps within the bus stop which you can find a... More 

Helpful?
Thank J M
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016 via mobile

4 gringos who don't speak spainish came to Liberia without a plan and found this awesome little hostel. The owners were so helpful with everything from finding local restaurants to helping us get a rental car. We would have been lost without their help.

Helpful?
Thank grandbizarre
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

We spent one night here in between our vacation in Nicaragua and our flight out of Liberia. Accommodations are basic and clean... we had a private double room with shower and air conditioning (although we didn't need to use the AC), and thought it was very nice for a hostel. We met all kinds of interesting and fun fellow travelers... More 

Helpful?
Thank ethelred30
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.6 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#5 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer clean, comfortable and safe accommodations just 100 meters from Liberia's main bus station and city market. Each room comes with a TV, full cable (including HBO, Cinemax and Cinecanal), WiFi, community kitchen. Our rooms are a combination of twin and full size beds with shared bath and either air conditioning or fan. We have DORM beds! Our prices range from $10-20 per person so we have something to meet everyone's budget. Come relax in one of our hammocks on our front porch or in the garden while you plan your next adventure in Costa Rica! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hospedaje Dodero

Address: 100 mts Norte y 25 mts oeste de la estacion de buses de Liberia | 100 meters north & 25 meters west of the Liberia bus station, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Dodero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Dodero Costa Rica/Liberia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay