We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Liberia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Liberia
Hotel Liberia
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We only stayed here for one night in a dorm, which was clean and tidy. It was in a good spot close to shops and the bus station not a far walk away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant had really delicious food at a reasonable price. The place is really lovely and has a nice courtyard.

Helpful?
Thank Innes G
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The position of the hotel can't be beaten - only a 2 minute walk from the city centre. However the rooms are very basic, especially where we were at the back of the hotel in the new area. The manager didn't want to know when we mentioned our lack of wardrobe... apparently 2 shelves are a wardrobe.

Helpful?
Thank Alex1871
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Dear client, Thanks for taking the time to write your review, as you saw we are a small family hotel and our main market is usually travellers staying one or two nights during their way to Nicaragua border or when they are using the LIR airport as we as strategically located just few minutes away of the airport and offer... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no AC unfortunately but since we just needed a place to stay one night after getting in at the airport at 11pm we thought we could handle it. I didn't sleep at all. Hottest night I've ever spent... On another note... place was clean and staff was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sierra316
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Hola! We are totally aware of the urgent need of A/C in rooms and are working hard in a project to have it fixed as soon as possible. Thanks for your comments, guest opinion will always be important for us to improve. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel after seeing the cute pictures and good reviews. However, when we arrived we found the room to be disgusting. The floor was concrete and cracked with many holes. The door to the bathroom could barely be called white there was so much dirt on it. Visible finger marks in dirt. The bathroom sink was cracked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Hola Brandon, We are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us. We don´t offer A/C in rooms in any of our advertizing or website description, although we are totally aware this is an urgent improvement we need to fix as soon as possible. I´m wondering if you ever asked to Front Desk to change your room, we definately had... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

My friend and I stayed here for several days at different portions of our trip in Central America. We stayed here one night with two of our other friends and paid for a room with two double beds. The room had very high ceilings and no window except at the very top of the room. There was a ceiling fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

I stayed at Hotel Liberia for almost two weeks while studying parrots, and the staff made us feel like I was living among family. Every morning myself and my crew looked forward to a wonderful breakfast that came with a minimal cost. The beds are wonderfully comfortable, and sometimes we ate in for another lovely meal. The showers are basic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We stayed here as we flew in late and did not want to start out driving to our next destination. Its is a great value and the staff was very friendly and helpful. When we could not get our phones to work to call the rental car company, they called them directly asked them to bring our car to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 97Lynn1963
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

This quaint hotel is in a great location in Liberia, with a pretty courtyard and genuine friendly staff. We were not looking for anything upscale, and wanted to experience true Costa Rica. We knew there was no air con when we booked, so we were not surprised with the basic but comfortable room. Very pleasant stay!

Helpful?
Thank Kate A
Barrigada, Mariana Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

I was totally happy there. It was the week before Easter so the town was very quiet so no noise.The staff was great. Place was clean. The hot water wasn't needed as it was so hot there. Ceiling fans were fine for me as that is all I have at home where it is hot also. Has secure parking.

Helpful?
1 Thank potlucksmom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Hotel Liberia was very nice, in the center of the city. The hotel staff was very friendly. Wi-Fi worked great, it was clean and and overall good place to stay. The only negative points that i have are... There is no AC, they have two fans in the room, but if you need your room cold to sleep this might... More 

Helpful?
Thank TRValentine
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Casona Two Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Tower Room (Double and Single Beds) (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#9 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#5 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Price Range: $24 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay